INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Mike McEnearney.

Mike McEnearney

Generosity, simplicity and authenticity form the essence of Mike McEnearney’s philosophy. His impact on Australia’s culinary consciousness spans from the critically acclaimed No.1 Bent Street to the nourishing cuisine at Kitchen by Mike. A long-held belief in the medicinal qualities of food are evident in each nutritious and considered dish created by Mike. He is also Creative Director of Carriageworks Farmers Market, an internationally acclaimed food and arts precinct championing local produce.

2677 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.3
2677 reviews
Recommended
(8.5)
Food
(8.4)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(8.1)

dined on Sat, 6 Jul 2019

(6)
I really like Everything Mike does but was disappointed last night.
Hi there, thanks for coming in and sorry you didn't love your experience this time. Please get in contact if you would like elaborate on how we could improve and have a lovely week. Many thanks.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Mon, 8 Jul 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Jul 2019

(8)
Great service and food. Love the fresh produce.
Hi there, thanks for leaving us some feedback and we are delighted to hear that you are a fan. Come back in and say hi soon!
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Wed, 10 Jul 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Jul 2019

(10)
This is the most exciting venue I have been to in a long time. The food is sublime. Inexpensive with a great atmosphere. I have eaten lunch there twice this week and can’t wait to go back.
Morning Rhonda, thanks so much for your beautiful feedback. It's really exciting for us to see how much you are enjoying the venue. We'll see you soon no doubt!!
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Wed, 10 Jul 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Jul 2019

(9)
Great casual lunch, very friendly.
Great to hear you love KBM as much as we do, look forward to having you back in soon!
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Wed, 10 Jul 2019

dined on Tue, 2 Jul 2019

(8)
Some food was too salty
Hi there, thanks for letting us know - we'll look into it. Have a lovely day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Wed, 10 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 29 Jun 2019

(9)
Excellent food and will definitely come back for more!!
Good morning!! Lovely to hear that you had a great time dining with us and enjoyed the food and service. Look forward to seeing you soon.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

dined on Sat, 29 Jun 2019

(8)
Consistently good.
Hi there, thanks so much for your great feedback. Lovely to hear you are consistently enjoying and coming back for more! See you soon.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

dined on Fri, 28 Jun 2019

(10)
Superb service and delicious wholesome food
Good afternoon - such a happy review to read. Delighted that you enjoyed your experience - that's what it's all about. As it's truffle season, we're currently running a set menu that celebrates all things truffle - definitely recommend coming in to try it if you're partial to the odd truffle. Have a great day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Wed, 3 Jul 2019

dined on Wed, 26 Jun 2019

(6)
Perhaps we chose poorly, but I didn't think the individual dishes were as exceptional as they used to be. We chose six dishes and the chicken aside, we felt the dishes were a little odd or not quite finished - they weren't bad by any respect, just not stand out or delicious.
Hi there, and many thanks for leaving some feedback - we appreciate it! This kind of information is really helpful to make sure we can keep improving and stay on top of our game, so we've passed it onto the kitchen. We do have some of the No.1 Bent Street classics coming into rotation over winter, as well as some new exciting dishes, so would be great to have you back in to try them. Have a lovely day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Wed, 3 Jul 2019

dined on Wed, 26 Jun 2019

(8)
Exceptional truffle degustation menu - well done! Everyone thoroughly enjoyed the meal last night.
Hi there - we are delighted to hear you enjoyed our seasonal truffle menu. All the truffle we used is locally sourced from Canberra, and we try to let it shine its way through each dish, so it's great to hear you loved it as much as we do. Have a nice day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Wed, 3 Jul 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Kitchen by Mike CBD

Kitchen by Mike is acclaimed chef Mike McEnearney’s canteen-style eatery, serving simple, nourishing dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Famed for his knowledge and respect for ingredients, Kitchen by Mike is a delicious insight into the heart and soul of everything Mike represents. The menu changes daily depending on best-at-market, delivering both intensity of flavour and nutrition. Evenings see the canteen transform into a more refined experience with the same generous, warm approach.

Features

Insider

Kitchen by Mike CBD Address

Google Map