INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Mike McEnearney.

Mike McEnearney

Generosity, simplicity and authenticity form the essence of Mike McEnearney’s philosophy. His impact on Australia’s culinary consciousness spans from the critically acclaimed No.1 Bent Street to the nourishing cuisine at Kitchen by Mike. A long-held belief in the medicinal qualities of food are evident in each nutritious and considered dish created by Mike. He is also Creative Director of Carriageworks Farmers Market, an internationally acclaimed food and arts precinct championing local produce.

2677 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

2677 reviews
Value for money

dined on Thu, 16 May 2019

I thought it was a bit expensive, but i'm not sure of the provenance of the raw ingredients. Maybe the menu could detail that a bit more. I'm happy to pay for quality ingredients.
Hi there, and thanks for taking your time to leave us some feedback. At Kitchen by Mike, we only source products from local producers who are of the highest quality, operate with sustainable practices are often organic. Sourcing top quality ingredients and produce is a huge part of our identity, and something we will always support. Because of this, we will never be the cheapest restaurant in the city however for the quality of the food we do offer, our prices are very fair. Happy to send you over some more in depth information about our fantastic suppliers if you like. Have a lovely weekend.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Fri, 12 Jul 2019

dined on Wed, 15 May 2019

I've been a KBM groupie from the Rosebery days. When No 1 Bent St opened, it became our regular post concert venue for a late meal. Last night was our first KBM CBD experience and it was wonderful - food was absolutely gorgeous. We continue to be fans.
Hi there, thanks for coming back in and dining with us again - we love that you have been with us throughout this culinary journey, and we are proud that we can continue to satisfy you and deliver memorable dining experiences. We look forward to seeing you again soon, and thanks for being a loyal fan!
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Thu, 16 May 2019

dined on Tue, 14 May 2019

Needs another meat main that is not seafood, and can be shared by 2 people, on the general menu. Specials were too big / expensive to be shared when only 2 people dining.
Hi there, and thanks for taking your time to give us some really insightful feedback. It is a good suggestion and we will see what we can do - as we are constantly evolving and updating our menu to reflect the seasons, we are more than happy to try out many new things. Look forward to seeing you back in soon. Have a nice evening.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike management. responded on Thu, 16 May 2019

dined on Tue, 14 May 2019

overall a very enjoyable experience. Food was excellent and arrived promptly. Service was courteous and helpful. only criticism/feedback is that the knives we were given to eat with were extremely blunt and we had difficulty even cutting up vegetables. We requested sharper knives from the waitress, which were provided, and we had no further issues. However, based on the quality of the food and service, I would definitely return.
Hi there Brian - we appreciate your feedback about the knives, will definitely take this into consideration. Aside from this, we are really pleased you had a great night and we do hope you come back in again and visit us soon, we promise it will be a 'sharper' experience than the first. Have a great day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Thu, 16 May 2019

dined on Mon, 13 May 2019

Really slow bringing out food and wait staff were quite inattentive. While the flavour combinations were really interesting on paper, they didn't translate on the plate.
Hi there, thanks for taking your time to leave a review. It's disappointing to hear that your experience wasn't as good as it should have been. Although this is no excuse, having just opened, we are still tying up loose ends and improving and evolving every day so we can provide all guests with an excellent dining experience. We have taken note of all the points you have given us, and will use your feedback to ensure this doesn't happen again. We would love to see you again in a few weeks so you can see how great we truly can be. Have a nice day.
Julia, No. 1 Bent Street Management. responded on Wed, 15 May 2019

dined on Thu, 9 May 2019

Pretentious and disappointing menu. Chicken Liver pate was amazing but comes without bread - need to buy a slice of bread for $5 per person. Twice cooked beef intercostal was tender but very fatty and gelatinous. Baked cauliflower and grilled broccoli were almost raw and couldn't be cut with the blunt knives provided. Restaurant has a nice vibe and service was pretty good but the food was very disappointing. I won't be rushing back to Mikes
Hi there Andy, thanks for taking some time out to leave us some feedback - we appreciate it. We are disappointed that you didn't have the experience you were hoping for, but we have been making some improvements throughout our first weeks in response to the feedback of yourself and others. We are now serving the pate with bread included. As for the intercostal, we marinate the beef in soy sauce for 24 hours, then rub it in coffee and anise, then proceed to slow cook it to achieve this rich, gelatinous flavour - it's a shame you didn't enjoy it, however it is intended to be served this way. As for the blunt knives, we will now be serving the vegetables with a sharper knife that allows us to cut through it better. Given we have only been open for two weeks, we are continually making changes to improve the food and service, and we do hope you will come back in in a little while to give us another go, we would like to wow you next time. If you do decide to come back in, please email me at, and we will take care of you. Have a great day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Thu, 16 May 2019

dined on Thu, 9 May 2019

I LOVED No1 Bent St by Mike. I was not told it had changed and had booked a business meeting on Thursday 9 May. I arrived to find it all different and you needing to stand in line and get served like a cafeteria. Whilst the head waitress was very good and offering table service, I was dissapointed that the food was not nearly as delicious or special with the options being chicken pie or fish. I used to take clients here at least once every two months and found this a great spot. I will NOT be taking any business clients here again which is a real shame.
Hi there Eloise, thanks for taking your time to leave some feedback. I would just like to start by saying that you are completely right - you definitely should have been notified about the change from 1 Bent St to Kitchen by Mike. The style has indeed changed, and for lunch we indeed now are offering more of a casual cafeteria style dining experience. However, I would like to mention that for dinner we are still doing table service, with many of the favourite dishes from No.1 Bent Street, with a real focus on guest experience. It is very similar to all that you loved from Bent, and the same staff. We would love you to come and try it out. If you would like to make a reservation, please send me an email directly at, and we will be sure to take care of you in the way that you know and love. Have a great day.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Thu, 16 May 2019

dined on Wed, 8 May 2019

Fun night with fabulous food and service
Good afternoon, thanks so much for visiting KBM - we are delighted to hear you had a wonderful evening. Hope to see you in again soon.
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Thu, 16 May 2019

dined on Sat, 4 May 2019

This restaurant has only been reopened for a week. We were pleasantly surprised. Excellent service, interesting and delicious sharing plates and warm ambience. Highly recommended.
Hi there Linda, thanks for taking your time to leave us some feedback. It's wonderful to hear that you really enjoyed yourselves, and we look forward to welcoming you back again - it's only going to get better. Have a nice day,
Julia, Kitchen by Mike Management. responded on Thu, 16 May 2019

dined on Fri, 3 May 2019

Great atmosphere. Fabulous menu. Staff very helpful. One of Sydney's gems, at a reasonable price.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

About Kitchen by Mike CBD

Kitchen by Mike is acclaimed chef Mike McEnearney’s canteen-style eatery, serving simple, nourishing dishes for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Famed for his knowledge and respect for ingredients, Kitchen by Mike is a delicious insight into the heart and soul of everything Mike represents. The menu changes daily depending on best-at-market, delivering both intensity of flavour and nutrition. Evenings see the canteen transform into a more refined experience with the same generous, warm approach.



Kitchen by Mike CBD Address

Google Map