Back

Reviews L'Hotel Gitan

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 601 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Anne-Marie T.
    Anne-Marie T.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    It was the last day before lockdown and service felt a bit rushed, presumably to turnover as many tables as possible before closure.

  2. Ilya T.
    Ilya T.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great service from beginning to end, accompanied by great food. We ordered a lot of the menu and couldn't flaw anything.

  3. Georgina D.
    Georgina D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service and delicious food

  4. Melissa C.
    Melissa C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome dessert and great service, really lovely lunch. Excellent attention to detail and flavour with many elements in each dish. Definitely will be back.

  5. Sharon R.
    Sharon R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic French meal with outstanding service. We go there every celebration and love their private room. I enjoy the steaks and the service.

  6. Fleur C.
    Fleur C.
    • 10 reviews
    9/10

    So happy to be back at my local. Feel like everything is not back to it's usual flow yet but still very happy to have such an accessible exceptional local.

  7. Sue D.
    Sue D.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Great atmosphere, helpful and friendly staff and lovely food. Handled the COVID restrictions really well and with great customer service too.

  8. Dale P.
    Dale P.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Maybe it was first meal out of isolation, we loved it.

  9. Isobel S.
    Isobel S.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    Great food, service and atmosphere.

  10. Oliver K.
    Oliver K.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Consistently good food & service. Prices are average for what's on offer however I don't remember ever leaving there dissatisfied for any reason.

  11. Charlotte r.
    Charlotte r.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely fabulous experience! Exceptional food & outstanding service. Highly recommend on every level!!! The waiters were extremely attentive & I cannot fault the food!

  12. Stephanie L.
    Stephanie L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and the service was impeccable. Will be back!

  13. Kate D.
    Kate D.
    • one review
    10/10

    I really loved this restaurant. The staff were all so friendly and the food was full of taste and presented well. Had a great night and will be back. Thankyou

  14. Sue G.
    Sue G.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Very good value for the delicious special of the night ....rotisserie chicken???????? Happy to go back any time

  15. Ruby D.
    Ruby D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Outstanding meal! Consumate wait staff - so knowledgeable but down to earth at the same time. A breath of fresh air. The food is fabulous time and again. Just wow...

  16. George M.
    George M.
    • one review
    10/10

    This was the best meal we have had at Hotel Gitan and look forward to going again soon?

  17. Anne F.
    Anne F.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Staff were pleasant, menu was small but interesting, had to wait a long time for our meal, the noise level was high, so hard to talk.Overall ok but not fantastic

  18. Tony W.
    Tony W.
    • 24 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent food and wine but limited choices of main course - no lamb, duck or pork. Crowded and noisy and service was stretched at times. Still worth a visit.

  19. Tom O.
    Tom O.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Always great

  20. Lindsay P.
    Lindsay P.
    • 99 reviews
    9/10

    In a sincere and constructive spirit, this is my first less than positive review for this great restaurant. There are a few problems emerging: most of the familiar and friendly staff have been transferred to Frederick and the new wine list is far too esoteric. For reds, it features two Pinot Noirs (local and French) and only local and imported blends. For those of us who enjoy a bold and rich Shiraz or Cab Sav - forget it, You won’t find it here sadly. Not that long ago, this restaurant featured amazing reds from Heathcote. Bring back the good old days in terms of staff and wine,

  21. Chris A.
    Chris A.
    • one review
    10/10

    I eat out all the time and this is one of the best. food is 11 out of 10. wine choices are great. Hard to get a booking at a time that i like though. Either 6pm or 8.30 does not float my boat.

  22. Lindsay P.
    Lindsay P.
    • 99 reviews
    10/10

    Nice as always.

  23. Curt W.
    Curt W.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Always nice to eat at home.....

  24. Charles D.
    Charles D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Booked for a group 10. Went the the extra step and booked the private room. Food and service was great a usual, this our 4th time here in past 12 months.

  25. Victor G.
    Victor G.
    • one review
    10/10

    I eat here often and always find the food very delicious. The staff are really lovely and the whole experience is fantastic. Hence I return again and again.

  26. Karen  P.
    Karen P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Fabulous French restaurant just off Punt Rd. Plenty of parking in side streets. Food was amazing and beautifully presented. I opted for the lunch special that was a choice of two dishes plus glass of wine- fabulous!

  27. Melissa R.
    Melissa R.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    We had a great dinner at L’Hotel Gitan. A little bit neglected upon arrival and when we were seated. But it’s a crazy time of year and they were super busy. When we finally got our drinks it then proceeded on to become a really good night. Our waiter was super and the food was good. The two men were a little disappointed with the scotch fillet they ordered. They are both steak conossieurs so I respected their opinions. The cheese soufflé entree and the marlin special that I had were sublime. Restaurant ambience is vibey and I love the open kitchen. I would recommend this place without hesitation. Melissa

  28. Susanna Q.
    Susanna Q.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of my favourite restaurants. The food is always amazing and I love hearing the specials. Amazing wine selection and the staff always make us feel so welcome. Thank you

  29. Patrick D.
    Patrick D.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent food and service. Very noisy so don't go if you want an intimate conversation evening.

  30. Alwyn h.
    Alwyn h.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was excellent. The room itself is very noisy and for what it is the meal and drinks are on the pricey side. If you have a option Bistro Gitan is a much nicer of the two.

  31. Stefan b.
    Stefan b.
    • 49 reviews
    6/10

    Used to be a lot better for atmosphere...

  32. Karen G.
    Karen G.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant is a hidden gem! This was our second visit and the food was amazing. The staff are so welcoming and really aim to make your night special.

  33. Duncan H.
    Duncan H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lovely French food, diverse wine list. Try and get the ‘booth’!

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    10/10

    Great food great service thank you

  35. Shane T.
    Shane T.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Seating was A little tight. Too noisy for an intimate dinner. Was our 25th anniversary and struggled to hear each other due to tight seating next to a noisy group. Food and drink along with service was wonderful

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    8/10

    Good food, service, nice wine and friendly atmosphere.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    10/10

    Always great food and service.

  38. Tara S.
    Tara S.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great vibe, friendly and helpful service and delicious food. The perfect spot for dinner with friends, a date or a fun night out. Can't go wrong!

  39. Fleur C.
    Fleur C.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Great atmosphere, I’m new to the area and will definitely be back.

  40. Elizabeth C.
    Elizabeth C.
    • one review
    8/10

    service was slow booked for 5 and asked for a fairly quiet table [see Email] on arrival was told booking was for 4 and only available table was in a busy location