Back

Reviews Lamont's Bishop's House

9.1/10

Excellent

based on 120 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Emily G.
    Emily G.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Brilliant service, great food. Do ask for details about the dishes you order.

  2. Mark D.
    Mark D.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    We enjoyed the 6 course degustation with matched wines. Excellent, knowledgable and engaging service from Gio. Food was generally good, but a couple of misses where the main feature of the dishes (e.g. lamb shoulder) were slightly overpowered by the garnishes. It's a beautiful venue but our view of the gardens was completely obscured by a marquee erected for a future function. Made us feel that Lamonts is more for functions than diners seeking a romantic, fine dining experience. I do get it, as that's where the money is these days. I had hoped to give a 10, but no, not quite.

  3. Christurajan L.
    Christurajan L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Searched for a nice restaurant to celebrate my wife’s birthday and this place did not disappoint. Loved the service, ambience and food. We enjoyed the evening. Would recommend this restaurant to my friends.

  4. Gary L.
    Gary L.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    We have dined at all of Lamont's restaurants over the past 20 years or so and have always found the experience most agreeable. We were impressed by the quality of the food and service when we dined at Bishop's house in June 2018. That said, last night, the quality of the service was sub-standard (the wait staff were disinterested) and my wife's main course (fish), was overcooked and dry. We arrived at 8 pm and were finished by 9:15 pm: hardly what one would expect for a fine dining experience. The venue was overflowing with large parties of people at Christmas functions. Obviously, large groups and intimate dining for couples are mutually exclusive. Overall we were very disappointed and are unlikely to give this restaurant another chance.

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.75/10

    Enjoyable experience. Lovely atmosphere. Sweets were sensational.

  6. Dave M.
    Dave M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great night wine list was very good

  7. Natasha O.
    Natasha O.
    • 10 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice place, a tad overpriced for the quality but enjoyable none the less. A bit hard to locate the entrance!

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.5/10

    If you are wanting to have a drink of something other than wine/beer before a meal their cocktail list is limited but they do have some to choose. Meal was exceptional and loved the new idea of all side dishes being included with the meal. There were three of us and we had 4 sides to share between us and they all complimented our meals beautifully. Desserts to die for. Service was great but there were only three tables in the restaurant so not sure how it would be with a full restaurant. The building is gorgeous and full of old world charm. I think the outdoor balcony setting on a balmy evening would be superb.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    7.5/10

    A wonderful restaurant based on serving wonderful food

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9/10

    Why do lovely restaurants such as this insist on playing awful modern music? If any needed at all surely a subtle classical background would suffice? Saying that, the staff were quick to turn off (when i requested it be turned down) so i was very happy with the outcome. I must also add that this is a complaint i often experience in fine dining establishments all over the world so certainly not unusual. Other than that, i found Lamonts almost perfect in every way - food, wine, service, building - and will certainly be recommending it highly to others and also returning in the near future.

  11. JO B.
    JO B.
    • one review
    10/10

    From the welcome to the food and wine - just excellent. The venue itself is very classy and we will be back - thank you :)

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    10/10

    Best place to eat in town

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    10/10

    Splendid on every level. New menu is delicious and the fires are burning:) Thank you

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9/10

    Great friendly service with a smile, with good advice on menu and wine selection. The Angus steak (med/rare) was beautifully cooked and so tender - the best steak we have had for a while. The wine selection, while not extensive, highlighted some good quality West Australian wine. A nice laid-back atmosphere that allowed one to comfortably converse with their partner. We really enjoyed our evening and will be back.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    8.75/10

    Beautiful food!

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    9.5/10

    Hidden gem! Great service, view and food.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 239 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely setting

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.75/10

    A fabulous setting and wonderful food, wine, and service

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    5.75/10

    food are too salty and small quantity.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.75/10

    Excellent lunch and fantastic service

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    9/10

    We shall be back.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely dinner

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.5/10

    Degustation was yummy, just the right portion sizes and good variety of dishes with unique ingredients.. would have been nice to have some bread and butter on the side and a palate cleanser before dessert but overall a great experience!

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great food and service, good wine. Lovely setting and outdoor area although it was too cold to sit outside! We went mid week so it was pretty quiet, but it’s a lovely old building and I think would have a great atmosphere when it’s busier

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food. Staff are helpful and welcoming. Happy to give recommendations and explain dishes. Nothing is too much trouble

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    9.75/10

    Incredible service Such good knowledge of the menu by staff Most relaxing dinner I've had in awhile!

  27. Eric J.
    Eric J.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great service and great food/drinks Great venue

  28. Eric J.
    Eric J.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Hidden gem in Perth CBD

  29. Emily M.
    Emily M.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    Lamont's is consistently lovely, the food excellent and the service wonderful. I have been chosing Lamont's as my 'go to' special lunch place for years and don't see that changing any time soon.

  30. Nkandu B.
    Nkandu B.
    • one review
    10/10

    One of my favourite places to dine in Perth.

  31. Linda T.
    Linda T.
    • one review
    5.25/10

    Sadly the food let the night down, the presentation was not fine dining & the taste was less than average. We would not recommend for food. The staff were nice although not altogether professional just uni students doing part time jobs. No one asked when they saw I left all the pasta and 3 of the 5 prawns?

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9.5/10

    Beautiful restaurant- hidden gem gardens in the city. Amazing wines and food. Service was outstanding

  33. Pam N.
    Pam N.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Fabulous food and great service in a quaint historic building.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9.25/10

    Such a special spot in Perth, nice garden views and lovely service with delicious meals.

  35. Leysha O.
    Leysha O.
    • one review
    10/10

    Place was brilliant. The garden is beautiful and very peaceful. Went on a Thursday night and it was very quite and our waiters were superb

  36. Jade B.
    Jade B.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Great food and wine and prices suitable for special occasion. Atmosphere a little awkward for a date night with small rooms of a few tables and no background music. Great service although staff absent at times with distractions of functions downstairs.

  37. Deborah R.
    Deborah R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Lovely historic building.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    9.25/10

    Staff very attentive and seemed to really like their jobs-great atmosphere,delicious food, and topservice. Will defintely return.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9/10

    Great new menu. Service and food are of a high standard.

  40. Simon B.
    Simon B.
    • one review
    6/10

    Service friendly - but a little rushed at the start. Food was not at the normal high standard