9/10
Excellent
based on 310 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Danielle S.
    Danielle S.
    • 15 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great and unique Indian dishes. Nice fresh seafood starters and mains. Sauces were generous, filling and aromatic. Have been to sister restaurant which we love numerous times and this is just as good if not better with a fantastic view in a cosy setting. Will be back ????

  2. Jeremy H.
    Jeremy H.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Fantastic food in a really great location Perfect size - not too big Quality Indian with a great balance of spice and flavour Service excellent!

  3. Gregory P.
    Gregory P.
    • 12 reviews
    9.5/10

    The menu was enjoyably unique for indian cuisine, food was beautifully presented with a range of flavours. Highly recommended

  4. Katrina N.
    Katrina N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Thank you very much for a lovely dinner. The restaurant is in a great location. The food was delicious and the service was very attentive and kind.

  5. Farzana A.
    Farzana A.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The waiter was extremely polite. His suggestion of the okra for starters was superb. I never thought I would want more of okra til I dined here. Also he noted our dietary requirements so i appreciated that. The vegan vindaloo was on point. I'm so glad they had a vegan menu. We got the window seat with the view of the harbour bridge since we were celebrating exam results. Lovely relaxing atmosphere. Just wish the airconditioning was on or stronger.

  6. Bella T.
    Bella T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Very comfy but chic dining experience. Food is good (4/5) and the service is great too!

  7. German G.
    German G.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Great location and view, food tasty but very overpriced. If you’re after the 50% off on TheFork, make sure you book the 5pm sitting, I made the mistake and received bill shock, my mistake though for not checking my reservation

  8. Naohiko H.
    Naohiko H.
    • 14 reviews
    9/10

    Food was very good. Nice and relaxed place.

  9. Houzhen z.
    Houzhen z.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    a little place served excellent indian food. really recommend! but the sparkling takes 5 dollars each person, too expensive! but the restaurant is byo, so you can get a 80cent sparkling water from coles~

  10. Ann L.
    Ann L.
    • 9 reviews
    7/10

    The restaurant was quite busy so it was noisy and service was slow. The food was nice and offers a refined take on Indian cuisine.

  11. Ronal K.
    Ronal K.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    The food is really tasty and the location is fantastic! It’s a great place to have a date night. I recommend the food and also a stroll down to and along the water after your meal.

  12. Jo W.
    Jo W.
    • 4 reviews
    6.5/10

    Servings were small and food is average.

  13. Brinley M.
    Brinley M.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Incredible host who told both the story of the Indian region as well as the story of the dish he cooked. Food and atmosphere were amazing, couldn’t recommend it enough. Great gin and chamomile tonic cocktail too.

  14. Kaiser L.
    Kaiser L.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The restaurant is absolutely beautiful, with views overlooking the harbour bridge and Sydney CBD. We were warmly welcomed by the staff and shown to our table even though we were 15 minutes early. The menu was the Summer menu featuring Goa & Portuguese hybrid food. Positives: head chef came to explain his menu and the top highlights of the menu; food was sensational and unique, flavours were aromatic and fresh; reasonably priced for 2 people under the Fork 50% off (2 mains + 1 starter + 1 papadum entree + 2 naan + 1 rice = $60) Negatives: the space is a little cramped (for a small restaurant this is to be expected) Overall, would definitely return. Even my father who dislikes Indian food said the food was good!

  15. Christine C.
    Christine C.
    • 11 reviews
    9/10

    Nice food and setting. Entree slightly small but main dishes were good size. Service was really good even though they apologised for slow service but we didn’t feel that.

  16. Rachel L.
    Rachel L.
    • 23 reviews
    9.5/10

    From entree to main, from the wine to service, we couldn’t have asked for more. It’s authentic Indian with a twist, can’t wait to come back.

  17. Lynn B.
    Lynn B.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great meal, service and view of the Harbour bridge.

  18. Anish A.
    Anish A.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food. The views and the atmosphere was amazing. Slightly disappointed with the quantity of the starters which could be improved. Otherwise highly recommend!

  19. Karen H.
    Karen H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food and service. Will be back

  20. Geetanjali B.
    Geetanjali B.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent bhaji chaat and racheado - I cannot recommend these two starters enough. The flavours were wonderful. The restaurant also has a lovely atmosphere and great service. I love that the staff tell you a little about the cuisine's history and about the dishes you order.

  21. Lea D.
    Lea D.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    This little restaurant is in an exquisite part of Sydney. The food was artfully put together and the tastes had both complexity and subtlety despite the powerful hit of flavour from chilli and traditional Indian spices. It was a lovely meal and the waitstaff were knowledgeable about the dishes. We saw some other amazing looking dishes go to other tables so we will have to go back and try more.

  22. Jenni M.
    Jenni M.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    Great food though a little pricey

  23. Seni M.
    Seni M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome food with a view

  24. Margaret L.
    Margaret L.
    • 15 reviews
    10/10

    Food was delicious with excellent flavours and dishes that we had not seen in other Indian restaurants. We had a mix of vegetarian and non-vegetarian entrees (2) and mains (2) plus rice and 3 naan bread for a party of 3 adults followed by a dessert trio which was the right amount.

  25. Zac H.
    Zac H.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Always love coming here. Amazing restaurant vibe and the best views. Food is consistently delicious.

  26. Mary H.
    Mary H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful food, great service and an awesome view. We were even given a short history of how chilies were introduced to India and how the menu changes with the seasons.

  27. Jason W.
    Jason W.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    A gem of a little restaurant with lots of charm and lovely harbour views. Delicious flavours and friendly service. Well worth a visit. We will be back.

  28. Vinod S.
    Vinod S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Food was very tasty and the view was amazing views and service was too polite and fast . I would love if it would be a little economical but would visit again for sure and recommend

  29. Olivia  X.
    Olivia X.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Food and service is amazing :) I enjoy it a lot! I will totally come back again! Highly recommended for the tasting set menu! It’s so worthy! Nice location as well

  30. Isabelle M.
    Isabelle M.
    • 10 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely setting, great views with a warm welcome and very enjoyable degustation menu. The range of dishes was broad with favourite being the snapper with tamarind.

  31. Ed J.
    Ed J.
    • 214 reviews
    10/10

    No points no review

  32. Art H.
    Art H.
    • 28 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent high quality food, fantastic service from the friendly maitre d and his assistant. They were warm, welcoming, friendly and polite. A bit slow to bring the meals but then it was packed, so I understand. We had a table at the window with great views of the harbour and the bridge. Only prob is that it's a very noisy and slightly cramped venue. There is only one unisex toilet, clearly not sufficient when it's full, but it is clean and well stocked. Easy parking in nearby Walker or Arthur Streets where there are no restrictions after 6pm. Clearly, a popular restaurant as it was full midweek, but a bit too noisy for my liking.

  33. David D.
    David D.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Their new summer menu is excellent - a 10 course menu for $79 - great value and great food.The service is good, the view is good, the food is good and well presented....what more could you want!!

  34. Nima Z.
    Nima Z.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Grwat service and awesome food

  35. Luke H.
    Luke H.
    • 17 reviews
    10/10

    Always a great meal with a great view.

  36. Shaun W.
    Shaun W.
    • 3 reviews
    7/10

    Good curry in a great location. Restaurant was busy and noisy. Service was friendly, wine list was limited. BYO a better option. Overall a good meal but expensive.

  37. Rahul S.
    Rahul S.
    • 11 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great ambience , views and service. Flavours in the food were brilliant. Goat meat in the biryani was a poor cut and quality for the price they charged. Hoping to see the chef get better quality meat to improve the dish

  38. Dhara S.
    Dhara S.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Need more menu item so people can think and select specially in vegetarian

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    10/10

    Following recommendations we booked to see for ourselves. Delighted to discover, Lavendra certainly lived up to high expectations.

    Lavendra

    Thank you! Don’t forget to try other restaurants in our group - kesargroup.com.au

  40. Brad F.
    Brad F.
    • 82 reviews
    10/10

    One of my favourite if not my favourite restarants in Sydney