TheFork Festival - 50% Off Food

TheFork Festival - 50% Off Food when you book at Lavendra at specially marked times. Don’t miss out, limited availability.

TheFork Festival - 50% Off Food

Dinner Sun, Tue-Sat

238 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
238 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.9)

dined on Tue, 16 Apr 2019

(7)
Was nice but for the price id prefer to go to one of their sister restaurants as these are more reasonable from a cost perspective

dined on Sat, 13 Apr 2019

(9)
Definitely recommended - a very pleasant experience! We chose the Autumn Tasting Menu, which gave a fabulous sampling of the range Lavendra's menu offers. Servings were generous (even though may appear small to some people)- in fact I had to leave some! The classics (e.g. butter chicken, Rogan Josh) were spot-on. Staff were very friendly and helpful (happily explaining Indian food to anyone not familiar with it), and they readily substituted some dishes for my partner who doesn't eat lamb. I'd requested a table with a view and got it, which topped-off a lovely evening! Restaurant could be a bit noisy at times, but that is really driven by the customers. Some English people near us were disrespectfully loud but their lack of consideration for others is obviously outside Lavendra's control. All in all, a lovely, well-run restaurant that deserves to continue to prosper!!
Thank you! Our winter menu will be focussed on a Mughlai recipe book more than 550 years old. Look forward to seeing you try it.
Inderpreet Singh, Lavendra responded on Sat, 4 May 2019

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(6)
Good flavour Small portion for the price

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(10)
Authentic, tasty and imaginative fine dining.

dined on Fri, 5 Apr 2019

(8)
My first Indian restaurant experience and I love it. We’re seated by the window which have a view to the bridge - a big tick. A little restaurant that seated about 8 tables and almost full on the day of our visit with only 2 people serving. That’s quite a long wait for the food but I thoroughly enjoy my butter chicken full of flavor and the garlic cheese bread is a perfect match. Unfortunately my glass of Shiraz is a bit let down. The Main, the bread, the wine add up to $50. A bit pricey for lunch but guess we pay for the view.

dined on Sun, 31 Mar 2019

(10)
We reserved a table in the late morning for that evening. We were given a table at the window with the best views of the Harbour. We were greeted at the door and shown to our table. Our waiter was Sandeep and very helpful and attentive.

dined on Sat, 23 Mar 2019

(9)
Lavendra was great! Having decided to give up my time to give a review, I object to TheFork requiring a comment and then with a minimum number of characters. So you have your review, and your Minimum charachters. Happy? Sorry Lavendra

dined on Sun, 10 Feb 2019

(6)
2nd time being to our “local” Indian place to try out different items in the menu. There are other Indian restaurants that I consider to be much better at this price point. Only dish I would highly recommend was the Rajasthani Laal Maas. The other dishes were not to our liking, specially the samosa chaat and chicken afgani. The chicken was over cooked and very rubbery.

dined on Sat, 9 Feb 2019

(9)
A great place to enjoy fresh, expertly cooked, quality Indian food. The venue has a pleasant aspect, and great atmosphere. The wait-staff are attentive but not intrusive. I recommend this place for small numbers - couples and small family groups. We will go again.

dined on Sat, 9 Feb 2019

(9)
Such a lovely place tucked away in Lavender bay! Service was flawless! The dishes were uniquely created and the flavour profile was spot on!! Beef Ularthiyathu was a favourite.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Winter Tasting Menu $79

Come join us and enjoy our delicious winter tasting menu for $79pp Entrees Qutub Samosa - Carom pastry, duck, cauliflower purèe, carrot tadka Badinjan - Eggplant, Middle Eastern spices, pine nuts Akhrot Kebab - Walnut, Persian herbs, roasted grapes, saffron raita Reshmi Kebab - Chicken breast, dry fruit salad, mint sauce Mains Saag - Mustard greens, chickpea flour, homemade butter Gobi Mughlai - Tadka cauliflower, grated vegetables, Panjabi raita Served with Roghani Naan & Roti Lamb Shah Jahani - Diced lamb, cashew paste, saffron ghee Murgh Makhani - Butter chicken, fenugreek, roasted macadamia Served with Zard Birinj Dessert Badshahi Kulfi - Ice cream, dry fruits, saffron
When
05 Jun 2019 - 31 Aug 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Winter Tasting Menu w/ Wine Pairing $149

Come join us and enjoy our delicious winter tasting menu with matching wine pairing for $149pp Entrees Qutub Samosa - Carom pastry, duck, cauliflower purèe, carrot tadka Badinjan - Eggplant, Middle Eastern spices, pine nuts 2018 Garagiste Le Stagiaire Pinot Gris, Mornington Peninsula, VIC Akhrot Kebab - Walnut, Persian herbs, roasted grapes, saffron raita Reshmi Kebab - Chicken breast, dry fruit salad, mint sauce 2017 Orange Mountain Viognier, Orange, NSW Mains Saag - Mustard greens, chickpea flour, homemade butter Gobi Mughlai - Tadka cauliflower, grated vegetables, Panjabi raita Served with Roghani Naan & Roti 2016 Laughing Jack Moppa Hill Shiraz, Barossa Valley, SA Lamb Shah Jahani - Diced lamb, cashew paste, saffron ghee Murgh Makhani - Butter chicken, fenugreek, roasted macadamia Served with Zard Birinj 2017 Meadowbank Pinot Noir - Derwent Valley, Tasmania Dessert Badshahi Kulfi - Ice cream, dry fruits, saffron Ricca Terra Broken Forklift Zibibbo, Vermentino & Muscat, Riverland, SA
When
05 Jun 2019 - 31 Aug 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 11:00 AM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Lavendra

Lavendra is your ideal venue for a celebratory meal or a date with your special someone. With a formal dining room that offers views over the harbour to the Bridge and Luna Park, attentive staff and a warm atmosphere it’s not hard to see why this venue is loved by locals. Start with a few vegetarian and non-vegetarian entrees before hoeing into the mains. If you're here with a large group get around their banquet menu where all the choosing is taken care of.

Features

TheFork Festival

Lavendra Address

Google Map