652 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

7.9
652 reviews
Recommended
(8.0)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.8)
Atmosphere
(7.7)

dined on Fri, 15 Sep 2017

(8)
Lovely food, but small portions. Great service though. It is a great place to before the theatre.

dined on Fri, 1 Sep 2017

(5)
Service acceptable. Food not great but acceptable.

dined on Wed, 30 Aug 2017

(8)
Well organised pre-theatre meal with a service team to match

dined on Thu, 24 Aug 2017

(8)
Having dined at Locanda on previous occasions, we return because it is ideally-placed and well-organised for pre-theatre dining. Food variety and quality is good and the apparently-recent addition of a complementary side dish with each main course ensures that even the 2-course menu will satisfy most diners. Waiters conscientiously check show start times and pace service to ensure maximum enjoyment of the available dining time. The only disappointing elements are the high prices of fairly-basic wines and the queuing to pay the bill when several groups are ready to leave around the same time.
Karen

dined on Wed, 16 Aug 2017

(9)
This is my go to venue for a pre theatre meal at this end of town. The staff made sure we had sufficient time to enjoy our meal and we left in good time thanks to the excellent service. The food was great with lots of variety and generous side dishes.

dined on Sat, 22 Jul 2017

(7)
Good for pre theatre. Food was good but service a little slow.
Merril

dined on Wed, 19 Jul 2017

(3)
A great location across from Her Majesty's Theatre. The food and the service was acceptable but not great. Menu options were limited for those with dietary requirements.

dined on Sat, 15 Jul 2017

(6)
Good food, and reasonable service. Would recommend
Louise

dined on Sun, 9 Jul 2017

(2)
Steak was over cooked. The staff did offer to do another one. This is hard when the other person on the table has their meal. They provided complimentary desert which was the best part of the meal. Pasta entree lacking in flavor. Great for drinks in the bar.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85