653 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8
653 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(7.7)
Louise

dined on Sun, 9 Jul 2017

(2)
Steak was over cooked. The staff did offer to do another one. This is hard when the other person on the table has their meal. They provided complimentary desert which was the best part of the meal. Pasta entree lacking in flavor. Great for drinks in the bar.

dined on Wed, 5 Jul 2017

(7)
Nice food before theatre

dined on Wed, 28 Jun 2017

(4)
I used to love dining in Locanda before theatre show. They had a great $42 pre-theatre menu and accepted Entertainment book which made it even better deal. On 28 June they changed menu and price. Pre-theatre is now $49, no Entertainment book accepted but also started one price $16 for all starters and $45 for all main courses. Also, even we told that we needed to make it to the show, it took 45 min for our food to arrive leaving us 15 minutes to quickly gulp it. I think this was my last visit... sad.

dined on Wed, 21 Jun 2017

(8)
Nice Meal and quick service
Julie Taylor

dined on Sun, 18 Jun 2017

(10)
The restaurant was great but very disappointed in Dimmi as on arrival ther was no record of our booking. Luckily there was several spare tables. Very poor on behalf of Dimmi but great by Locanda that they could accommodate us.

dined on Thu, 15 Jun 2017

(6)
We got there at 6.15 and advised the staff that we were catching a show at 8pm , ordered the 3 course set menu but had to wait an hour between the first course and the second and hurried through our main and desert after calling the staff a few times. While the staff were polite and apologetic, I believe pre-theatre diners should take priority above other diners because of time restrictions. We made it within seconds to spare.

dined on Fri, 9 Jun 2017

(7)
Had a great time, but perhaps more because of my company than the venue. A little on the loud side and the wait-staff seemed confused on check-in. Satisfied with food, but not spectacular, and happy with the wine - pretty good wine list.
Elieshia

dined on Sun, 28 May 2017

(9)
The restaurant looked pretty booked out and we had actually accidently booked for the wrong date but the staff still made good efforts to accommodate us.
Catherine

dined on Sat, 20 May 2017

(8)
This is our 'go to' restaurant when we have tickets to the Theatre. We have dined here close to 10 times in the last few years. The food is delicious and we leave feeling very relaxed and satisfied. A little higher on the price scale, but we feel the experience is worth it.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85