653 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8
653 reviews
Recommended
(8.1)
Food
(7.9)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(7.7)
Atmosphere
(7.7)

dined on Sat, 25 Mar 2017

(10)
The staff was very good and friendly in general. Though when we first got there the waitress couldn't find our name in the book and said they could squeeze us in which made us think why go through the trouble of booking a table... Towards the end of our meal, another waiter came to confirm that our name was in the book as it was getting rather busy. It just made me think if there were no table available, would they have turned us away just because the effort in understanding and finding my name in the book wasn't made!

dined on Fri, 24 Mar 2017

(2)
Very poor quality food - meat was extremely chewy and poor quality. Pork belly was dry, calamari was chewy and lasagne was supermarket quality

dined on Wed, 8 Mar 2017

(9)
The service was really good. We had steaks which were really nice. The atmosphere was very cool too.

dined on Sun, 5 Mar 2017

(8)
Drinks took a while but food was very good.
Jeanette

dined on Sat, 4 Mar 2017

(8)
A good pretheatre lunch

dined on Fri, 17 Feb 2017

(9)
Lovely food and fantastic service.

dined on Wed, 8 Feb 2017

(8)
Very good value and ideal location for theatre goers particularly to Her Majesty's and the Comedy Theatres

dined on Mon, 6 Feb 2017

(6)
I booked this for a staff member where I work and he found it to be average in general.

dined on Sun, 5 Feb 2017

(6)
Not bad, expected the food to be of a higher standard, in line with the price. Beautiful decor.
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Locanda Restaurant & Bar

Dine inn ‘Locanda’ variously translates from the Italian into English as ‘inn’, ‘pub’ or ‘diner’ depending on the context. Ah ha, we get you. Locanda Italian Steakhouse in the heart of Melbourne is a short walk to a number of theatres so is a favourite inn or pub for pre-theatre dining. Think up-market dining, private rooms, extensive wine cellars, and the best of Australian ingredients with a super chef at the helm, and you have the recipe for Locanda’s success. From the feature elements of floor to ceiling glass wine ‘cellars’, impressive pillars, a ceiling punctuated by acoustic beams, the distinctive mushroom stools and the massive marble bar, Locanda screams style, chic and elegance all at the same time. Then, of course, there is the food. The pre-theatre two or three course menu has some wonderful temptations such as malfaldine (ribbon-shaped pasta) with creamy carbonara sauce and aged Parmesan, or the pumpkin cannelloni with spiced carrot cream, feta cheese and pistachio crumble. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner seven days a week, you also may want to try the extensive a la carte menu when you have more time. Best dish: Dark chocolate and raspberry torte, vanilla custard, and raspberry mascarpone served with candied pistachio

Locanda Restaurant & Bar Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

85