Back

Reviews - Machiavelli CBD

9.3/10

Excellent

based on 399 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Markus G.
    Markus G.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Expensive, but worth the money. Very tasty

  2. Stephen L.
    Stephen L.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    But it is pricy

  3. Samuel I.
    Samuel I.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great service tonight, the waiter was at tentative and left us with enough time to enjoy a discussion over dinner, working to our pace. Food is always good, you know what to expect

  4. Brett D.
    Brett D.
    • one review
    10/10

    I went to Otto's on Tuesday and was so disappointed, cancelled my reservation at Otto's again for today and went to Machiavelli instead for lunch and was so happy, the service, waiters and the food were amazing, Its what you expect from a high end restaurant, thinking Italian, Machiavelli is the go!

  5. Joe M.
    Joe M.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food and a great lunch spot, but little loud and bit slow on bringing bill, but overall awesome. Would recommend for a decent lunch spot.

  6. Nigel W.
    Nigel W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Enjoyed a fantastic business luncheon with excellent food, great service and the best wine I've had in a while. This place is an institution - will keep coming back as I always do - as long as they keep up the service and the great food & wine.

  7. Ying Y.
    Ying Y.
    • 5 reviews
    7/10

    Took my partner there for his birthday, was excited to try this place as the reviews are great. Our table service waiter was awesome, super fast and attentive. Atmosphere was good, busy and very loud. Drinks, zucchini flower and prociutto entrées were excellent, portions are big. The real let downs were the pastas, the spinach ravioli and beef cheek fettuccine were both super thin and had the same texture, soggy and not enjoyable, but the sauces are good. We have been to many Italian restaurants and travelled to Italy, this place is definitely a one time only experience for us.

  8. Sandu M.
    Sandu M.
    • one review
    10/10

    We really enjoyed our dinner. Service was amazing. Great attention. Food and wine was fantastic? Special desert for our anniversary ! ????rheat pasta?

  9. Rick K.
    Rick K.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    The build was a bit of a let down. The welcome was flat. Our table was in the corner. Drinks waiter never came. Getting the menu on APP. was not easy. Food was excellent.

  10. Josh S.
    Josh S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was traditional beautiful The service was second to none very friendly Highly recommended must try this restaurant. And strict with COVID safety hygiene ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

  11. Christina N.
    Christina N.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Great food and service

  12. Andrew R.
    Andrew R.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Food was excellent!

  13. Jonathan F.
    Jonathan F.
    • 7 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent Venue, Service is great, very personal without being overbearing. Food is delicious as always with the benefit of Scomo looking over my shoulder whilst I ate!

  14. L.ouise O.
    L.ouise O.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    This us the second visit in a month, enjoyed the whole dining experience. Service is good , as is the food and wine selection.

  15. Adrienne L.
    Adrienne L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Lovely and efficient wait staff

  16. Jo D.
    Jo D.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a great Birthday dinner last night thank you

  17. L.ouise O.
    L.ouise O.
    • 18 reviews
    10/10

    Enjoyed having dinner here, food and service were great.

  18. Andrew C.
    Andrew C.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Good restaurant overall with good vibes

  19. Anthony P.
    Anthony P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Service and food was exceptional ! Restaurant was very loud but it did create a great atmosphere ..will be back fro sure !

  20. Vincenzo M.
    Vincenzo M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our experience was Perfect as usual. The food was great and the service was even better. Thank you for a great night we will be back again shortly.

  21. Gary D.
    Gary D.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great feed and service. Would have been good to have a delay between entree and mains. We ordered, entree turned up within 5 minutes, we finished and then mains turned up 5 minutes later. We wanted to savour the experience, but felt rushed.

  22. John C.
    John C.
    • 19 reviews
    10/10

    I will be back for sure.

  23. Soccoro S.
    Soccoro S.
    • 6 reviews
    9.5/10

    We had such an amazing night for my partner’s birthday dinner. Food and wine were incredible and the service was top notch. We will definitely be back!

  24. Brendan L.
    Brendan L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely!

  25. Ginta V.
    Ginta V.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Motivated by a sense of nostalgia (likely to have been induced by current restrictions), I selected Machiavelli for a rare dinner outing (my second dinner out since February). I was surprised, but not disappointed, to see different portraits on the walls (Where did Gough & Malcolm go??). The service was impeccable. The food was delicious. I had forgotten the generous size of Italian portions. Although the zucchini flowers were yummy and the mushroom risotto was superb, I really didn’t need two courses (but I ate them!). I’ll be back...

  26. Sue L.
    Sue L.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    The service is just amazing. Why can’t all restaurant staff be as efficient & happy ? I want to make a booking everyday. The food & the ambience are perfect

  27. Leigh R.
    Leigh R.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    always consistent, food is great. Today we had Oysters - superb, followed by Pig belly lasagne. Nothing to fault. We weren't left waiting, and we weren't left wanting.

  28. Alana N.
    Alana N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great service, lovely food, will come again. However, the decor only shows liberal supporters and conservative thinkers like Alan Jones ehhhhh

  29. Tanya M.
    Tanya M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Everything that we ordered was absolutely delicious. Great service

  30. Lisa M.
    Lisa M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved this hidden gem!! The vibe of the place was great. The food was delicious and our waiter Nicholas, was wonderful. Thank you for having us. We will definitely go back once we come back to Sydney.

  31. Greg A.
    Greg A.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    One of my favourite restaurants in Sydney. The experience was like it always is - just wonderful. The food is always fabulous, the wine list always has a gem or two listed and the service attentive and responsive. I was a little surprised at at the number of patrons permitted to be dining. It was pumping like it was 2019!

  32. Tim G.
    Tim G.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious as always

  33. Spencer M.
    Spencer M.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Amazing pasta - great wine recommendations- fantastic service. Felt a bit quiet but that must’ve been due to social distancing. Overall a cracking night.

  34. Brittany G.
    Brittany G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff were friendly and very attentive but not excessive. I couldn’t fault the food even if I wanted to. What a lovely anniversary for my husband and I. We will be back.

  35. Lianne C.
    Lianne C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing food and service just as we remembered it pre COVID. Full house so pleasing to see Sydney supporting this institution. The servers had smiles from ear to ear. Great night out!

  36. Ailsa L.
    Ailsa L.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent service and delicious food. Traditional white table top Italian restaurant done very well. The waiter went above and beyond for our group.

  37. Natascha s.
    Natascha s.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    This was one of the best Italian meals I have eaten in a long time. Calamari was lightly dusted and melts in your mouth, Gnocchi Gorgonzola was beyond delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant for the quality of the food.

  38. Cyrille b.
    Cyrille b.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious authentic italian food! amazing service, great staff, generous servings and if there is two of you, you can share a main. we will defenitely be back!

  39. Alex A.
    Alex A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great welcome, super menu with classic Italian favourites. Friendly attentive service and a really good atmosphere with that ambient chatter that mAkes you feel at home.

  40. Rebecca B.
    Rebecca B.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food! Try the zucchini flowers & John Dory. Fantastic. Service was attentive, friendly and efficient, especially since it was just after after Covid-19 lock downs.