9.3/10
Excellent
based on 196 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Tanya F.
    Tanya F.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    The food is just amazing. We love returning to this restaurant and it was the first place we booked when restaurants were allowed to re-open. There is so much flavour in the dishes The staff are very friendly and welcoming. Santitizing and physical distancing measures are in place and make you feel safe. Definitely worth a visit and great hidden gem!

  2. Belinda M.
    Belinda M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went to Makan on Wednesday for a birthday celebration everything about the evening was great, the wine, the food was fantastic . I will certainly be going back with other friends.

  3. Maddy H.
    Maddy H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing Indonesian food, lovely staff and great price. I am coming back for crab buns Hidden gem, close to flinders street. Highly recommend!!

  4. Naiyana r.
    Naiyana r.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was a great find. The food is very good and so was the ambiance. Finally there is a restaurant in Melbourne that aren’t afraid of flavours and price!

  5. Alice L.
    Alice L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing service and food. The satay chicken skewers were a standout. Would definitely go back to try the pork

  6. Danielle B.
    Danielle B.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    The food was tasty. Though the bowls were on the small side it was a good value express lunch in pleasant surroundings. A little difficult to find

  7. Tissa S.
    Tissa S.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff was superb and the food was yummy. The chicken satay and crispy skin duck was the best. The ambience is of a top end restaurant. I will keep going back.

  8. Denice F.
    Denice F.
    • one review
    10/10

    My new fave.

  9. Celine O.
    Celine O.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Staff were friendly and welcoming, however we ordered the three way eggplant dish which was really hard and not cooked, satay didn't have the flavours and was quite bland covered in over powered lemongrass sauce. Fish dish was okay but will not be back there in a hurry.

  10. Piya H.
    Piya H.
    • 24 reviews
    8.5/10

    Lunch menu was extensive and reasonably priced. Food came out quickly and most were tasty. Service was attentive and friendly. Would come back again.

  11. Elisia T.
    Elisia T.
    • one review
    10/10

    I knew the restaurant through a friend of mine who works as a chef here. The pricing might be slightly on the pricier side but the amazing dishes are really worth it. I order a stewed lamb shank, mee goreng and black glutinous rice dessert, all of which were absolutely wonderful. The lamb shank was off the bones and the curry was a burst of flavours. The new goreng was simple and lovely. The glutinous rice was an unexpected delight with its layout and taste which was unexpectedly good

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    10/10

    Great atmosphere, service is best, the staff greet with smile and welcome us. Staff explained the menu really well. Tables is quiet small for 2 of us...a little bit bigger it will be perfect. Food is great, we order soda gembira for drink, it’s best combination, feel fresh to drink that. Especially during this hot weather. Try the Stuffed calamari, salmon filling, coriander, spicy bumbu rujak, grilled cos heart...love this one and also the chicken satay. For indonesian restaurant this is different from regular indonesian restaurant, new taste, definitely must a try.

  13. Gayle M.
    Gayle M.
    • one review
    10/10

    My partner and I loooved this place, generous serves, authentic tasting Balinese/ Indonesian food and the restaurant was well spaced and relatively quiet ( hate noisy restaurants) .We have recommended this place to many friends since our dinner there. We will be back.

  14. Denise W.
    Denise W.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lovely afternoon, good food very good service!

  15. Richard P.
    Richard P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Went for my Daughter's birthday. Could not have gone to a better restaurant - the food, service, atmosphere and venue were first class. To find a place with such good food, but the whole family can enjoy and be made to feel so welcome, it's a credit to management and the staff. Chicken Ribs were a highlight, and when they say they are spicy, they are not kidding - Highly recommend!

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    8.75/10

    Lovely Indonesian spices and flavours in their dishes

  17. Ye Chia C.
    Ye Chia C.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    Love the overall experience at Makan. The food is full of flavours and love the modern twist to the traditional indonesian food. We love the Ubud duck, the skin is crispy while the meat is tender. We ordered sambal gila which was not on the menu, the sambal was absolutely amazing, right amount of spices and it is spicy enough for us! Highly recommend the cocktails too. We love Whiskey Sour and Indonesian Remedy!

  18. Josie F.
    Josie F.
    • one review
    10/10

    We went for an early dinner sitting and were not disappointed. We ordered the grilled corn, cabbage salad, grilled Jimbaran fish and kang kung veggies. Fave dish was the grilled corn. There was so much flavour packed into every cm of it! Only regret was not having enough room in our bellies to finish everything. Would definitely come back again!

  19. Glen O.
    Glen O.
    • 21 reviews
    10/10

    Second Visit, will be back! Soft shell Crab and the Beef Rendeng are my favourites

  20. Galih W.
    Galih W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Authentic Indonesian flavours elevated with fine-dining techniques. The flavours honestly brought me back to eating dinner at my great grandmother's house.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    7.5/10

    Service was great, the food wasnt as great as I remembered it.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    Great food and service, classy venue

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8.5/10

    The tasting menu is not worth the amount spent. My guests were still hungry and honestly it was presentable but, nothing “special”. I mean we have tasted better food in Bali which is fusion and other indo/Balinese food in the area. The value for the tasting menu should be around $45 or so. Most of the things are shared which is okay but it’s not a lot. Tried all the desserts, it looks fancy however, taste wise... it was thumbs down. They incorporate a lot of coconut and it can be overpowering. Service and atmosphere was great though. Value for money/person? Sorry, it is not. The price is exaggerated.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good quality Indo fusion food.

  25. Kathy G.
    Kathy G.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    The overall experience was great. Food was yummy and got a chance to meet Gracia, she is so lovely!!

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was great but service was a bit slow given we waited for ages especially for dessert.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    8/10

    A great space with good food and service well done will definitely be back

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.25/10

    Express lunch was good value and the space is a hidden gem

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food especially if you like spice. Great modern versions of classics

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    10/10

    I enjoyed the food. Beautifully presented. Good wine list

  31. Pamela M.
    Pamela M.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant is an incredible experience of great tastes and warm service. This is one of the only chances in Melbourne to have fine Indonesian dining. I will definitely be coming here again!

  32. Jan M.
    Jan M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food very authentic wonderful service and great value

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    6/10

    Sat at the corner. No phone or wifi reception so couldn't send or receive any text from lunch friend who was lost. Mee goreng a little too sweet

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9/10

    *Excellent service *Nice ambience *Crispy duck was yummy but sambal matah was lacking of spicy kick *Satay chicken presentation looked more like chicken skewer. However the meat & peanut sauce were yummy. *A bit disappointed with quail Taliwang as the sauce was not tasted the same as the one we used to have in Indonesia *Cendol pannacota was too sweet and lacking the fresh element

  35. May Z.
    May Z.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Great value quality Indonesian food with a twist. Decor was beautiful and a nice space to be in. Service was friendly and attentive.

  36. J C.
    J C.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    As always great food with great service.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8/10

    Great service, food was very tasty(slightly spicy for my taste buds), couldn’t fault the whole experience. Would totally recommend friends and family

  38. Piya H.
    Piya H.
    • 24 reviews
    7.25/10

    Tucked away in a quiet laneway. A bit hard to find. Service was acceptable. Food was tasty but some dishes were overpowering with too many strong flavours. Would give it another try one day.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9/10

    Stunning service, amazing food and on top of all the ambiance is wonderful

  40. Janidu P.
    Janidu P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    N/a no general feedback to provide.