Back

Reviews Man Tong Kitchen

7.2/10

based on 212 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Emily B.
    Emily B.
    • one review
    2/10

    MY BOOKING WAS TAKEN ARRANGEMENTS WERE MADE TO CELEBRATE A BIRTHDAY, ONLY TO TURN UP & FIND RESTAURANT WASN’T EVEN OPEN ! HOW DOES THIS HAPPEN ? ? ?

  2. Anthony C.
    Anthony C.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    Great location with good food and service.

  3. Magie Y.
    Magie Y.
    • one review
    7/10

    The waitresses should really be considerate in clearing the plates as we experienced them clearing it when we still have a person eating

  4. Kunal M.
    Kunal M.
    • 9 reviews
    8/10

    Good good but nothing spectacular as per standards expected being located at a premium location like Crown. Customer service is lacking and staff are not friendly and just working and serving without a smile like in any other busy take away Asian restaurant. Staff are pushy just after serving main course on the table to push customers out of the restaurant as soon as possible. In a restaurant located in a premium location our glasses were never refilled with water, we were never asked for another round of drinks, and we always had to look for staff to order something.

  5. Dennis C.
    Dennis C.
    • 10 reviews
    7.5/10

    Waiter was very, very hard to understand, had significant wait times between meals With the main meal 2 of 3 came out and had to wait some time for 3rd meal Waiter then had the cheek to ask for a tip

  6. Bonnie L.
    Bonnie L.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    It used to be one of my favorite restaurants in Melbourne. They may change a chief, the food I had is really disappointed. Especially the chill chicken, the chicken taste so weird with huge sizes.

  7. Glenn B.
    Glenn B.
    • 10 reviews
    5/10

    I have had several meals at Man Tong. This was the first time I was disappointed. Terrible service, from one waiter and one was very good. The Prawn dish was not the standard of the other food.

  8. Sam R.
    Sam R.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    I have been to this resturant many times and I am never dissappointed. Great service, amazing food and no stress to finish and move on. always take clients and friends to this resturant for special occassions.

  9. KEVIN E.
    KEVIN E.
    • one review
    7/10

    Beautiful choice of food. Welcome person was rude and arrogant. She could not find our booking, then as i was showing her the booking on my phone, she ignored me and made a phone call spoken in chinese, then said follow me, but you must be out by 7.45pm

  10. Sneha J.
    Sneha J.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This is our favourite Chinese restaurant in Melbourne. Food is always excellent, good service and great atmosphere. We will be back again and again.

  11. Alana R.
    Alana R.
    • one review
    6/10

    The restaurant itself was nice, and had a good atmosphere however we had to wait 50 minutes for our food. At least 2 groups that came in and ordered after us got theirs before us, which was a bit frustrating and whenever we asked the server where our food was they would just say ‘it’s coming soon’. Based on how long the food took and the quality of the dish, I won’t be returning

  12. Victoria L.
    Victoria L.
    • 27 reviews
    8/10

    Good food

  13. guy b.
    guy b.
    • one review
    4/10

    The lady who greeted us couldn't find the booking when i turned up having booked for 6 ppl online. Was told to come back as 'restaurant was still not clean' at booked time 530pm. Didn't come back as didn't get a good vibe, no one called me back to see if we were still coming so guess it wasn't meant to be. Gave 3 out of 5 stars for food as it sounded this, but we didn't get to eat.

  14. Helen L.
    Helen L.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Deep fried ice cream was huge, try it! Red bean pancake also nice as dessert but not the banana fritter. Recommended chilli wontons and steamed custard buns.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always great food and service

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    8/10

    Chinese cuisine, but a little bit expensive than others. Good service and easy to find the location.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    8/10

    Accommodated our group of 8 very well

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    7.5/10

    I had some Chinese dish this time, a bit disappointing. tried few times before, was nice.

  19. Katie M.
    Katie M.
    • one review
    5.25/10

    We’ve been to this restaurant multiple times and haven’t had a bad experience until this one. Upon entering we were yelled at for changing our booking earlier in the day from 7 to 6 people. We were also told we had to be out by 7.45 sharp, very aggressively. That would have been fine except no one took our orders for 40 mins - including drinks. The drinks orders also kept getting mixed up or forgotten. One of the main meals didn’t arrive till ten mins before we had to leave - which resulted in my friend having to eat quickly whilst we were having our table cleaned up. I understand there are sittings but we need to be attended to accordingly. Out side of that our food as always was delicious - especially the dumplings.

  20. David B.
    David B.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Nice but not so amazing to justify $110 per head. Dumplings were full of flavour and a great start to the meal. Everything else on the banquet was ho-hum after that. Nothing that you couldn’t have ordered at any suburban Chinese restaurant at a quarter of the price.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    7.5/10

    Love the chilli oil dumplings and special fried rice

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    5/10

    Service was incredibly slow. We had to ask for water on 3 occasions even though coke came out in 5 minutes. I think they also forgot our fried rice and noodles as we had to ask for them and they came at the end when we pretty much finished lunch. Very disappointing. Their service isn’t usually that bad but it was terrible this occasion.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 296 reviews
    4.75/10

    Worst experience. The host is not even capable to be one. Made a booking and she told me she can’t give me a table as it was last minute, asked her how long would I have to wait? She can’t even give me an answer. The restaurant wasn’t really busy at all. Such a bad host

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    7.75/10

    Good place for big groups as they have round tables! Easier to communicate with everyone. We came with a group of 12 and ended up getting the banquet as it was much easier. There was A LOT of food and we ended up needing to take it away. Overall the food was good.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 298 reviews
    8.5/10

    Good service. Authentic Chinese cuisine. Good selection

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    10/10

    The place is clean and food was good.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    7.5/10

    Fantastic variety including dumplings!

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8/10

    Lovely food and friendly service

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    9/10

    We keep coming back to Man Tong. It’s our favourite for Chinese food- comes very close, if not better, to Hu Tong minus the challenge of getting a table!

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    5.75/10

    The food is consistently great however service is also consistently lacking. They get large groups in and if you are a table of two you get de prioritised. Always very fast with the food however if you like to have a few drinks with your meal, this may not be the place. This is the second time I’ve been and it’s been 20mins plus to get a drink. Really disappointing as it was a date night. They also book you in and tell you when you need to be out for the next booking yet their service doesn’t live up to the same timeline. We would have spent more had we been able to get drinks.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 295 reviews
    8.5/10

    A nice restaurant to meet friends and family. Service is great, plenty of choices from the menu. Great place to dine and not too expensive.

  32. Victoria L.
    Victoria L.
    • 27 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was nice and the management even called me to refund the over charges fees on the bill

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    0/10

    Cancelled our booking even after we confirmed we would be there, TERRIBLE SERVICE and ruined our day. WILL NEVER go back there

  34. Maria L.
    Maria L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great food and good service. Have returned many times and never disappoints.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 260 reviews
    9/10

    Consistently good over several years

  36. Jim C.
    Jim C.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Love the place , will be back soon

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 287 reviews
    8.5/10

    food was average, service good, place was a bit squishy

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 282 reviews
    5.5/10

    Food very average, we had satay chicken 'since when do you have pineapple in satay' mongolian lamb lacked flavour, both dishes lacked veggies, we come from the country our local Chinese is much better and cheaper,

  39. Mary D.
    Mary D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and service. A favourite of ours

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    3.75/10

    Good ambience for entertaining friends and business clients and service was not bad, however food was disappointing. We ordered six items for lunch between the two of us: - Xiao long bao : average - Pan fried pork dumplings : served luke warm, pastry soggy & thick - Chicken in rice wine : salty - Shredded turnip pastries : ok but pastries not the authentic Shanghainese version - Homemade smoked fish on fried rice : this one is ok though not above average - Spicy Szechuan noodle : salty salty salty