Back

Reviews - Mango Hill Tavern

8.4/10

Very good

based on 384 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Lisa P.
    Lisa P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food and service

  2. KELLIE P.
    KELLIE P.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Majority of staff were friendly and helpful however there were 2 who were quite rude and unapproachable.

  3. Susanne J.
    Susanne J.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Friendly staff who are working very hard in a challenging environment of COVID-19. Food was good and well portioned. Lovely atmosphere. Easy to order online as well.

  4. Maddy B.
    Maddy B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Great food, good portions and really good quality. Pretty happy for a first visit, will be back!........................................

  5. Anne H.
    Anne H.
    • 8 reviews
    6/10

    Friendly staff but didn’t honor specials deals as they did for others.

  6. Tracy T.
    Tracy T.
    • 3 reviews
    8.5/10

    We always love coming here. Though I wish they updated their menu more often

  7. Peta J.
    Peta J.
    • one review
    9/10

    Quick service, hot fresh good, friendly staff. I hadn't been for 4 years because my last visit was bad but this time it was amazing. Such a great evening. If you haven't been for a while check it out, you'll be happily surprised

  8. Katie r.
    Katie r.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    We had an amazing night at the Tavern! This experience left me feeling well looked after. All the staff were very warm and friendly and both my friends were really impressed with the food and service we experienced. I will definitely be recommending your tavern to friends and family :)

  9. Tracy T.
    Tracy T.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    It’s always a nice lunch when we go.

  10. Roma K.
    Roma K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The bistro was very busy but it was really easy to order the food, the lady taking the order was nice and friendly. We bought drinks at the bar without queuing and the food came out very quickly. It was presented nicely and tasted delicious .

  11. Ian B.
    Ian B.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was very good especially the calamari .Our main complaint was the lunch was spoilt a little by the very loud music ,the volume needs to be reduced. Staff were all very pleasent & obliging.

  12. Fiona H.
    Fiona H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Really nice venue, friendly staff. Jasmine was awesome. Delicious wine list. Yummy salad dressing. And even though it was super busy, the acoustics are good enough that you can carry on a conversation with easy. One of my favorite tavern locations :)

  13. Jennifer N.
    Jennifer N.
    • one review
    7/10

    This place is hit and miss. Mostly hit but last night was a miss. We ordered two steaks one with salad and chips one with veg and mash. When the waiter came to deliver our meals the calamari fell off the plate onto the table he said whoops and walked away awkwardly. There were two small lettuce leaves and half of a handful of chips this is odd considering its a pub meal. The steaks were good small but good. The mushroom and pepper sauces were average tasting. The lemon lime and bitters was full of lemonade and hardly any bitters. This place is 95% fabulous but last night was a massive fail.

  14. Leanne M.
    Leanne M.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    The bistro had a very rustic look and feel, the staff were very friendly and helpful Atmosphere was relaxing and the food was cooked well and presented well. All in all a very nice place to have a meal.

  15. Katharine C.
    Katharine C.
    • one review
    9/10

    It was the last time probably for a long time that I’ll be visiting the clubs and sports bars in North Lakes so it was wonderful to be there with my father and enjoy the steak, wagyu croquettes and mushroom burger. Not many places do burgers like that! Good luck with the future!

  16. Katie r.
    Katie r.
    • 8 reviews
    5.5/10

    The staff were very accomodating on my initial booking through the fork, as I had a large number of people to celebrate a birthday. However unfortunately the food wasn't great. The majority of our table booked using the menu phone app however our meals came out at various times, some of our guests waiting 45min before getting to eat. This meant some of us had finished our dinner while others were only just getting theirs. Some of the meals sent out weren't hot and the gluten free buns were rock hard. We didn't get asked once during our seating how the meals were, so weren't able to let the staff know of our dissatisfaction with the meals. I won't be coming back

  17. Lyn S.
    Lyn S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Tasty big portions, friendly and attentative staff.

  18. Faye R.
    Faye R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I thoroughly enjoyed my meal best I have had in a long time, staff were friendly and service was good will definitely be going again. My Chicken Kiev was cooked to perfection.

  19. Jess D.
    Jess D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing service and the food was very delicious thank you for your hospitality mango hill tavern will definitely be back again for some more yummy food.

  20. Kathryn B.
    Kathryn B.
    • one review
    8/10

    It was an ok experience. Food was good, we were seated right near the bar and there was a noisy table near us so made it difficult to hear each other. It's not a bad place to visit, bad experience comes down to other patrons sometimes not the venues fault.

  21. Lynda W.
    Lynda W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Unfortunately another patron created a disturbance at another table causing that table of people being asked to leave. The language used by the patron was offensive to my friend and I. We are 2 women in older age and were about to leave when the disturbance happened so were very apprehensive when walking out to our cars. I have attended many family birthday celebrations in the past as well as other functions and have not encountered any problems in the past. It was an unfortunate ending to an enjoyable meal.

  22. Karen D.
    Karen D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Your staff member, Mitchell, was great as to the other staff we spoke to (but they didn't have a name tag sorry so can't tell you their names). The food was amazing, delicious and certainly value for money. We will be back without a doubt and be certainly recommending Mango Hill Tavern to all.

  23. Jayne P.
    Jayne P.
    • one review
    8/10

    Food was good, and they had nice and quick service today. It doesn’t feel that hugely special but it is a good place to relax and have a meal and a drink.

  24. Brock Z.
    Brock Z.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Was disappointed that when I asked for something as a entrees before we had even eaten one part of the entrees our mains turned up even though I specifically asked this not to happen and the lady said yeah I know what you mean if I had not already paid we would have walked out. The meal was nice but not the menu on the fork could understand that but entrees are before the meal give us time to savour that before u bring the mains out

  25. Kate H.
    Kate H.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Another Enjoyable night for our little crew. Bit of a pain having to choose from 2 sitting 'times', but we rocked up at 6pm for a 7pm booking and were accomodated well as the families had left earlier. Cheers.

  26. Matt A.
    Matt A.
    • 30 reviews
    9/10

    Great local gem, greated, checked in and seated quickly and friendly, range on the menu was good, no table service but meals came quick i will be back.

  27. Lesley J.
    Lesley J.
    • one review
    6/10

    The menu was your average bar meal menu. No special treat for your taste buds. Cooked ok. Booked online. Simple and easy but doesn’t interact with your covid sign in so be prepared for that time consuming event. Staff friendly and helpful.

  28. Darren a.
    Darren a.
    • one review
    5/10

    it was very average payed good money and got very average food as our steaks were under cooked....was a bit of a shame as last time we went it was awesome...wouldn't go back again definitely wouldn't recommend to anyone

  29. Sharon w.
    Sharon w.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    I though the menu was very plain. I had been told by friends that the food was fantastic & yes, while it was tasty, it was nothing out of the ordinary. I'm not a fussy person but it was the sort of menu you'd see at a café for lunch, not a dinner menu.

  30. Sandra S.
    Sandra S.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    We dine at the Tavern on a regular basis and usually have no complaints. I had the rump steak which was so tender, but the problem was that the food was cold. I would have sent it back, but my husband was already eating his meal and I did not want to wait for another meal. I did let the staff know of my problem with the food, so hopefully they took note.

  31. Troy R.
    Troy R.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was great, and the service was first class. This was my first time visiting the Mango Hill Tavern, but it will not be my last. Well done to all the team.

  32. Lisa H.
    Lisa H.
    • one review
    8/10

    Felt welcomed at the door, all COVID requirements met efficiently. Ordering of food and drinks was easy with the option of counter or via the app (we used a mix of both). I found my chicken schnitzel a little dry and slightly overcooked. The curry tasted like the curry powder had been sprinkled over and not mixed properly into the sauce. Thumbs up for the garlic bread, ceasar salad, fish and chips and burger though. Food and drinks were served promptly and the staff were friendly enough.

  33. Colleen C.
    Colleen C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Welcomed at door and all covid precautions completed. Food was timely , well presented and very satisfying. Staff friendly and very helpful. Bonus is the coffee is good too.

  34. Kate H.
    Kate H.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    A great meal enjoyed by each of the 4 adults and 4 children here at MH tavern. The kids portions (burgers particularly) are GREAT and the ability to order chips AND veggies makes the parents very happy. Thanks and keep it up!

  35. Julie E.
    Julie E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely food. Friendly staff. Great service

  36. Kate H.
    Kate H.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    Another lovely family dinner at Mango Hill Tavern. The kids meals are a fantastic size for our 6 and 8 year olds. They fixed up an issue with my order straight away which I appreciated. Great value as always. The kids club unfortunately was being run rampant by older boisterous kids but that's not the venues fault. We had colouring pencils so occupied our kids just fine at the table. Service was efficient.

  37. Michelle T.
    Michelle T.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    We have tried to support the tavern by going at least two times a week. Today there were no cocktails available, or Mashed potato. New menu items we ordered were wagyu beef croquettes and buttermilk wings. I absolutely hated the croquettes. I thought they were like baby mush. The wings were overcooked and under seasoned. . My partner has the 500g rump blue topped with prawns and calamari eVery time we come. Each time it is very different. No consistency. we were placed in the walkway between the terrace and the main area and had multiple people squeeze very close by

  38. Michelle C.
    Michelle C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Booking was easy, seated straight away, ordered on our phone food came out fast and we were in and out in under 40 mins. That was awesome. Clients just need to control there own kids in kids room as the screaming was not pleasant and we have kids but that is no fault of the tavern.

  39. Lindsay J.
    Lindsay J.
    • one review
    8/10

    Our local tavern with a good family atmosphere. The menu is more limited post Covid and seating more spaced apart due to restrictions. Some old favourites have been retained.

  40. Lorinda S.
    Lorinda S.
    • one review
    5/10

    We usually love coming to the mango hill tavern we’re locals and we’ve been there numerous times but the menu was very disappointing, I get with covid a lot of things may be unavailable but there are a lot of things on the menu that have been changed and for it to be pretty much only burgers, pizza and a few steaks was disappointing especially for someone who cannot physically eat a large meal like that. Service was also a little slow when ordering both meals and drinks. Unfortunately tonight wasn’t as pleasant as previous experiences.