Back

Reviews Marina Restaurant

8.7/10
Fabulous
based on 142 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Jennifer W.
    Jennifer W.
    • 11 reviews
    6.5/10

    Nice place, great staff but meals were expensive and not as good as should have been! Cut down on seafood in seafood pasta but make pasta right it was overdone and sauce tastier! Portions huge not necessary

  2. Paulette G.
    Paulette G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Customer service was great staff were very attentive. Food had a really good selection and tested really good. We had a lovely time., and would certainly recommend.

  3. Robyn E.
    Robyn E.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Always good. Prompt service, lovely staff. Could have had a larger variety of entrees for those who don’t do seafood though. Lovely atmosphere, and although busy, everything ran smoothly.

  4. jim s.
    jim s.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We are there often and the meals can vary at times over the years due to different chefs, change management, day etc, say 7 out 10 are fantastic. Last night was one of the best pension meal ever, I had lambs fry and bacon with mash potatoes and gravy with a bit of greens. Will keep going for sure.

  5. Alicia C.
    Alicia C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great lunch experience! The Staff were lovely, the food was delicious & the setting was amazing! We will definitely go there again & will recommend to friends & family.

  6. Darren M.
    Darren M.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Hastings hidden gem. Great food and outlook over the boat marina. I’m sure if it was closer to the Main Street, it would be a lot more popular. Look forward to our next visit.

  7. Janine N.
    Janine N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always excellent have been going there for years always spot on with service great food great wine great atmosphere always the last to leave nothing is to much trouble for the staff

  8. Jo G.
    Jo G.
    • one review
    9/10

    I took my beautiful friend out for her Birthday lunch; she had never been here and quite enjoyed her meal as did I. Hastings Marina is a regular lunch for myself and my clients and have not had a bad meal yet. Very much enjoy table service now. Very impressed with the full service. Thank you. I will be back again????

  9. Andrea M.
    Andrea M.
    • one review
    5/10

    The staff and location are great however that's where to good news stops. The place is very dated in decor and atmosphere and the food was not great at all. My partner has fishtails that were stodgy and stuck together with chips and salad. I had the full snapper with a salad in a vinaigrette dressing, the dressing covered the plate and the fish ended up sitting in it becoming mushy and unappealing, the skin was also soggy. Overall we were disappointed and as much as we want to go back, we won't be.

  10. Steven A.
    Steven A.
    • 3 reviews
    9/10

    Great meal yummy food friendly staff Only small thing was bruschetta bread could be sliced a little thinner. Otherwise all great we will be back again.

  11. David M.
    David M.
    • one review
    6/10

    I had the seafood combo and all the fish was over cooked the calamari was tuff and chewy and calamari rings were so dark I was surprised to see it on my plate and the salad was all green with one small piece of tomato for the price i think it could have been much better far from the first time we ate there which is why we came back disappointed yes.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    5/10

    Our main meals very average. We did order share platter for dessert and that was beautiful.

    Marina Restaurant

    Thank you for taking the time to provide us feedback it appears that you were here on fathers day, and what a busy day it was. l am sorry that you thought our food was ordinary we have received 4 reviews all 5 star on fathers day so l am again i am sorry we did not please you save for the dessert platter.

  13. Dorothy  C.
    Dorothy C.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Staff were fantastic. Friendly efficient . Great service

  14. Roderick H.
    Roderick H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This was our 8 year old's first experience in a real restaurant with real tablecloths. Logan had been practicing her table manners for a long time and this was her test. The staff were wonderful to her and even put her raspberry lemonade in a wine glass. She ordered her own meal from the menu as was very polite. The food was very good. PS Logan passed the test with flying colours.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    6.75/10

    Mixed review for the Marina restaurant. Varied menu with lots of different choices. Reasonably priced. Food was excellent. Quiet place to dine. Service needs alot of attention. Slow wait times, mixed up orders, seemed to be an air of confusion. Friendly wait staff but not very professional - need a bit of basic wait training. Marina not lit at all at night so the "view" was just a black void. I will give this place another chance just becasue of the food. Would be nice outdoors by the marina in Summer.

    Marina Restaurant

    thank you for your comments l have spoken to the duty manager who was running the show on your visit in regards to your observations. we were training a new waitstaff member who as it would seem got a bit confused with your order, so its back to training and getting our staff to read your comments . Once again thank yo and we look forward to your next visit.

  16. Sue s.
    Sue s.
    • 12 reviews
    8/10

    Easy going restaurant to catch up with friends

  17. Sue s.
    Sue s.
    • 12 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great meeting place

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.5/10

    Very friendly and obliging staff. Good food, reasonably priced.

  19. Bob B.
    Bob B.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    A good dining experience in a nice atmosphere with very good food served by excellent staff.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9/10

    We were recommended by friends and was great Fantastic food and staff We will certainly return

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.5/10

    Seniors meals are great. Soup could have been hotter though.

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great value special (Wagu steak),very generous portion and cooked exactly as requested . Friendly host and attentive staff. Happy to return.

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    8/10

    Service was a bit patchy as it took a while to get our drinks. The food we ordered was delicious and quite good value for the quality and taste. It was a little bit cool in the restaurant. I will look forward to going back again as the food was delicious.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.25/10

    We have been a few times and love the food. The service is good but feel they over service. The last few times we have been we have been interrupted by 3+ staff nearly every second mouthful. Just need a little more breathing space.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.5/10

    Always a great feed. Great value for money for seniors.

  26. Bryan P.
    Bryan P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great resturant

    Marina Restaurant

    Thanks Bryan our team at the Marina Restaurant welcomes your comments and fabulous rating.

  27. Sara D.
    Sara D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Nice setting. Great attention from staff. Generously sized meals and very good food and wine. Well above average.

    Marina Restaurant

    Thank you Sara for the wonderful rating and critic on our food and service

  28. Colin C.
    Colin C.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Great choice of meals. Polite staff. Very enjoyable.

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    7.5/10

    The food is often bland and sometimes disappointing after the menu description for example Moroccan lamb has no Moroccan spices and therefore not very flavoursome

    Marina Restaurant

    Hi thanks for your comments, one of our most popular seniors dishes is the Moroccan lamb the ingredients in our dish are dates, sun dried apricots, ginger, celery,carrot, onion, coriander seeds,spinach and our home made ducca, we do not put cumin in the dish as many of our guests are allergic to it, I have reviewed my recipe and the 2 Moroccan spice l do not use are cumin and turmeric.

  30. Sue s.
    Sue s.
    • 12 reviews
    8.75/10

    Caught up with friends & it’s convenient to have the bar & bistro for paying separately

  31. Margaret S.
    Margaret S.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    the food was fantastic...the service was really good... they all knew their jobs ...

  32. Pam O.
    Pam O.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    A most enjoyable evening, good food and wine

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    9/10

    Service was fabulous, couldn’t fault them. My pork belly was a little dry but overall wonderful night out.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.25/10

    Seniors meals are great. Good variety.

  35. Christopher W.
    Christopher W.
    • 2 reviews
    9.25/10

    Good Value for money. Very fresh seafood which you would expect.

  36. Linda A.
    Linda A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely atmosphere. Lovely food with plenty of options for gluten free. Great views and excellent service. We will go back.

  37. Rhonda C.
    Rhonda C.
    • 16 reviews
    8.5/10

    As always the food was great.

  38. Stuart M.
    Stuart M.
    • 2 reviews
    2.5/10

    Service was very slow, all meals were over cooked, wouldn't recommend or return to this restaurant

  39. Craig S.
    Craig S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great food and service, friendly staff and lovely relaxed environment.

  40. Christopher W.
    Christopher W.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    Service was a bit slow. Took awhile to order.

    Marina Restaurant

    Hi Christopher thanks for taking the time to send a review, try as we can when 70 plus people arrive without a booking it does slow down our service response. However we continue to offer seniors on weekends so that families can have a catchup without the full price even though we are incurring penalty rates for our staff. we look forward to your next visit.