Back

Reviews Mashawi Moroccan & Middle Eastern

8.2/10
Very good
based on 239 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Robert d.
    Robert d.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    The service was excellent. Friendly and efficient staff. The food was beautifully presented,;great flavours and very generous serves. We’ll be back.

  2. Sarah R.
    Sarah R.
    • one review
    7/10

    The hummus was amazing

  3. Nigel  K.
    Nigel K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was excellent the variety on the menu is fabulous, they told us they are moving 500 maters dow the road so check when you book

  4. Valerie L.
    Valerie L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Lovely evening out, excellent food, relaxed and enjoyable service, cool and comfortable, could easily talk and hear others, thank you for a very nice dinner out.

  5. Desa C.
    Desa C.
    • 7 reviews
    8.5/10

    Great food and very good service.

  6. Nikki B.
    Nikki B.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    The food was wonderfully tasty, very upset we could not fit in dessert! Loved watching the Belly Dancer too. Perhaps dim the downlights a bit (if possible) so those beautiful stained glass light fittings could shine through, would look so beautiful. Thank for a beautiful dinner!

  7. Darren J.
    Darren J.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Great menu, was quite loud inside. Loved the fact that it was BYO

  8. Shelly L.
    Shelly L.
    • one review
    9/10

    Not licenced so byo all alcohol which keeps the price down. Very attentive service but not pushy or uncomfortable. Food AMAZING

  9. Lucy F.
    Lucy F.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a vege tagine called Black Fez and chicken kebabs, chips, salad and shared Hummos. It was all very good and fresh and full of flavour. Great for a pre Astor Theatre meal.

  10. Tim P.
    Tim P.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Visited Mashawi for a saturday lunch. We had the set "Feast menu" which was great value with more than enough to eat. We started with a selection of breads and dips, followed by a mixed entree plate. We were a party of three so we shared three tagines; chicken with potatoes and olives, apricot chicken and I think tbe highlight; lamb with prunes. All meats were succulent and pulled apart with the fork. Could not fault anything. We finished with a pick of middle eastern treats; pistachio birds nest, baklava, lady's fingers. These were accompanied with a hot drink of choice; we tried the Moroccan mint tea and traditional Moroccan coffee. Decor in the restaurant sets the scene and service was friendly and accommodating. My 78 year old Mum also was a fan. An enjoyable experience I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    2.75/10

    The restaurant seems to have dumbed down its food for an Australian palate (mistakenly). There was scarcely a trace of Moroccan herbs and spices.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    5.5/10

    Tagines come with a base of rice or cous cous and the portion of meat or vegetables on top are small.

  13. Chelsea P.
    Chelsea P.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Friend and I shared 2 vegan tagines (we’re not vegan but they sounded so delicious) - they were both so tasty and the serving sizes were so generous we couldn’t finish them both. A great menu with something for everyone plus it’s BYO - definitely recommend!

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    7.25/10

    Big portions, great dips. Main meals need more flavour though.

  15. Cindy T.
    Cindy T.
    • 12 reviews
    9/10

    Food was always delicious

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing food and service

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.25/10

    The food was really great and very satisfied. I would definitely go back for the food. The only downside was the waitresses kept trying to clear our table while we were still eating... I understand there is time limit when you book with The Fork but it was on Sunday night and there were always empty tables around after the first sitting. I don't think they needed to rush us?

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    8/10

    Our first time here and won't be the last I love this cuisine!

  19. Chiew C.
    Chiew C.
    • one review
    6.25/10

    Staff were friendly and food is quite OK.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8/10

    Extensive and varied menu, something for everyone. Easy-going, neighborhood restaurant, casual and a lot of fun.