Back

Reviews - Maxwell Restaurant

  1. Gloria O.
    Gloria O.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Started off with an informative wine tasting session then ventured on the deck for the 'feed me' lunch. Such amazing and different food that we would have never chosen ourselves. Finished off with a mead tasting which was sensational. The staff were so welcoming. Cant wait to return.

  2. Gloria O.
    Gloria O.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food and atmosphere. Loved the wine tasting.

  3. Aaron W.
    Aaron W.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Fantastic service, motivated and service driven staff who know and love the products and direction of the product/s they are selling.

  4. Percy M.
    Percy M.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food is much better than what we can expect. Full of surprises and creativity. With the matching wine, it is the best lunch I have in South Australia.

  5. Jane F.
    Jane F.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Sharing the plates is great as you get to taste a wide variety of dishes. All dishes were inventive, presented superbly and left you wanting more.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food was cooked on par especially the salmon and combinations of flavours of the dishes really impressed my foodie friends. Service was also really friendly and not pompous like other fine dining experiences.

  7. Michelle T.
    Michelle T.
    • 16 reviews
    9/10

    A beautiful dining room with a contemporary yet, cosy feeling. The weather was absolutely horrendous but we felt so warm and protected inside. Beautiful wines and wonderful attentive service. We were treated to the feed me menu and it was very good, and just the right amount of food as well. The food is very inventive without being pretentious. Highly recommended!

  8. Trish W.
    Trish W.
    • 3 reviews
    9.75/10

    food was amazing and the view sensational. wonderful venue for a relaxed Sunday lunch with friends

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    9.5/10

    Amazing degustation. The best we've had in SA so far. Service was exceptional

  10. Jessica D.
    Jessica D.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Service was great and people were knowledgeable about their products, however there wasn’t a huge selection on the menu for people who don’t eat seafood.

  11. Heather T.
    Heather T.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    We had a wonderful lunch in the restaurant. We chose the $80 4 course feed us option but it was much more with additional tastings and snacks. It was a very creative meal with beautiful flavours and we spent about 4 hours at the restaurant. It has a lovely view over vineyards and we are planning on trying the casual eating area next with a group.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 246 reviews
    9.25/10

    We had degustation menu and it was great. Not something I would do often but it was clever creative and delicious. Excellent service

  13. TIm W.
    TIm W.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Fantastic Lunch, would highly recommend!

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.75/10

    Second time have visited and cant speak highly enough of the food and service , great venue .

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    9.5/10

    overall, an excellent lunch experience

  16. Sharyn W.
    Sharyn W.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    We returned here for my birthday as the previous occasion was so good we decided to return, and was definitely not let down. Our friends also enjoyed.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    7/10

    Lunch was tasty but the tiny serves were a big disappointment! I wouldn’t recommend anyone to come for lunch unless they’re after a nice wine in a cosy atmosphere with a snack.

  18. Andrew B.
    Andrew B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Awesome long lunch

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 279 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic food, service, wine and allround great dining experience. Congrats to the Maxwell clan

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    10/10

    Absolutely outstanding food and service! Will be back and highly recommend.

  21. Susan G.
    Susan G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Beautiful setting, atmosphere and surroundings, great service (staff are so professional and charming), the food was amazing - amazing presentation and taste journey. We shared the most loveliest afternoon at Maxwell's - it was calm, relaxed and conducive to a wonderful afternoon of eating, chatting and enjoying what life has to offer. Highly recommend - well done Maxwell's - good job, thank you.

  22. Daniel b.
    Daniel b.
    • 2 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great venue , amazing food , friendly service

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    5.25/10

    Food is 10/10 for taste, 4/10 for portion size and then 3/10 on price considering the portion size. We had 2 wines, 2 beers, 3 cibattias, 3 sticky chickens and 2 raspberry parfaits. Serving sizes are all enteree and then a little smaller. Total bill was close to $200.00 Lovely food and amazing taste, we just needed more in our bellies after a day of wine tasting at McLaren Vale.

  24. Karen H.
    Karen H.
    • one review
    10/10

    We loved the food experience!

  25. Sandy P.
    Sandy P.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had a really interesting 4course lunch with a number of extra offerings. We had just beautifully prepared small serves with interesting flavours and ingredients. Each course was explained as it was presented . The service was excellent and we did not feel rushed at all. The view stretched over the vineyards. They have a large area for a more casual meal and a lovely picnic area aswell for families to enjoy themselves.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    10/10

    Every dish was exquisite. We would highly recommend the restaurant.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food was excellent Presentation was fantastic and the service was great They explained every meal to us

  28. Paula E.
    Paula E.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Delicious food - duck was amazing

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    9/10

    We did the 6 course Feed Me option and the food was delicious, the meals were small but fed us enough so we didn't leave hungry.

  30. Dee B.
    Dee B.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Fantastic food and wine, lovely surroundings and bright , knowledgeable and attentive service. We went for a wedding anniversary lunch and will definitely be back. The wine tasting was well co-ordinated, very tasty and a lovely way to start our visit. Although not cheap for a Saturday lunch on the deck , both food and wine were of a very high quality, and well presented. We will be returning and have recommended it to others already!

  31. Melanie K.
    Melanie K.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Excellent dining experience

  32. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Very nice staff and the wine and food was first class

  33. Lisa J.
    Lisa J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Loved the food, wine and maze! Very friendly staff

  34. Carrie B.
    Carrie B.
    • one review
    9/10

    We had a great lunch and were served more than expected with the snacks in between

  35. Tricia D.
    Tricia D.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fabulous experience, beyond our expectations

  36. Neil S.
    Neil S.
    • one review
    10/10

    Can’t wait to return.

  37. Joe B.
    Joe B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Superb! We were very well looked after. The food was stunningly presented, prepared with the finest produce with delicious, well balanced flavours. The service was impeccable, friendly and relaxed. Well done to the whole team. Highly recommended!

  38. Erica R.
    Erica R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food - love the share plates. Had 4 dishes + 2 desserts for lunch between 2 of us. Enjoyed the Tenpranillo with it overlooking the vineyards. Great friendly service & atmosphere.

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent food, presentation & professional staff.

  40. Amanda C.
    Amanda C.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing experience in mclaren vale.