Back

Reviews Mondo on the Waterfront

7.3/10

based on 72 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Maree W.
    Maree W.
    • one review
    4/10

    We booked by email a week ago and were seated outside in inclement weather. Request to sit inside was denied. Wait staff advised us wine we ordered was unavailable and replacement option started with C! Didn't know label and offered sample between 2 and still not the name of the wine. 2 options of chicken dishes were unavailable. There was no lighting at our table and we could not see what we were eating. Started to rain and took 5 minutes for umbrellas to be put up. Waiter didn't know our table number. Charged for an extra bottle of wine. Overall, very disappointing experience.

  2. Raynee M.
    Raynee M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    When first arriving we were seated inside, within 2 metres of the bar service area. Needless to say being NY Eve it was busy and because of this it was uncomfortable. However we asked ‘VANESSA’ ( a wait staffer) and she moved us to outside right on the water front. BRILLIANT. A big thank you to VANESSA. The food was great. Even though the entrees and the mains were brought out within minutes of each other. Overall , the setting was fabulous and thanks to VANESSA the night was great.

  3. Crystal  C.
    Crystal C.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Super quick and super yummy, even on New Years Eve

  4. Ty B.
    Ty B.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Staff member couldn’t use eftpos as it was flat had to wait for it to charge. Then gave him list of drinks and entree. Out of 7 drinks was able to get 5 then had to wait for 2 cocktails one of which they missed. 5 minutes after giving drink order. Gave a list of main meals while eating entree mains came out within 10 minutes like took awhile to get entree so it was like all cooked at once. I have eaten here before and has been great with good service but not so much on this occasion.

  5. Sean And Rachel M.
    Sean And Rachel M.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    The food was excellent last night. Each time we go during school holidays, we need to remind the staff that kids eat free - according to the website. It appears that some staff are not aware of this and you can be easily charged unnecessarily. Otherwise, we felt it was excellent!

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    9/10

    Had the lunch special, the salmon wings were not too tasty but enjoyed the main meal. They didn't have Diet Coke or Pepsi, just regular which was a slight bummer! Beautiful views!

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    9/10

    Came for the lunch which is excellent value. The salmon wings are deep friend, the main is amazing and the drink...they were out of diet coke. so just had the water. the main was good though. they forgot to send the salon to me before so had it as dessert.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    9.25/10

    Best barramundi I've had in awhile and they let me sub vegetables for the potatoes- light and fresh. Thanksgiving

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    9/10

    Nice value for the view, also saw a lunch special board for $15 inclusive of Drinks- will be back!

  10. Sharmayne M.
    Sharmayne M.
    • one review
    6.25/10

    This place has the best view, but the menu leaves much to be desired, half of us struggled to find something to eat so had to make do. When we arrived a staff member was making cocktails, but she never looked at us to say she will be with us soon, she just totally ignored us, not a good start to the lunch, however the other staff members were amazing

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.5/10

    Food was great, staff were friendly and helpful.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 292 reviews
    4.5/10

    Not at all organised staff. Took a long time to place drink and meal orders. No table service. Quite expensive and very average food. Half our parties food arrived and the rest came 15 minutes later. Nice place to sit but won’t be back in a hurry.

  13. Markus C.
    Markus C.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Stood at the counter for a while till i realized that you just take a seat then order at the counter. Team members need to communicate with customers more. Meals are a great price, but are just a bit to large. Service was lacking not 1 single team member asked us how was the meal also when they put the meal down at least say please enjoy, i know they are busy but manners would not go astray. The tables need a bit of attention they are dirty and uneven, had to move a couple of times to get a decent table.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    4.5/10

    Service not great! Food ok

  15. Eddie W.
    Eddie W.
    • one review
    9/10

    Awesome dinner and views table by the water was brilliant and service to the table was very timely

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    4/10

    We were there at lunch time(First time!) .......The food were way too below average, I don’t think we will come back again at lunch time.

  17. Graham J.
    Graham J.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Good honest value for money dining set in a fabulous location on the waterfront.

  18. Graeme B.
    Graeme B.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Time waiting for meals excellent

  19. Gaynor B.
    Gaynor B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great atmosphere, especially on a cool night with no rain if seated outdoors. Food is very good. Great value. Service is quick. Got meals super quick

  20. Jennifer M.
    Jennifer M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Friendly staff...

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    5.75/10

    Did not get the folk reservation.No worries as lots of seating

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    10/10

    Mondos is our all time favourite for a lazy Sunday afternoon. Watching the boats come in from the reef, talking to tourists or just relaxing by the sparkling waters of the Trinity Inlet with a drink. Mondos never disappoints.

  23. Sue B.
    Sue B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    amazing location

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 296 reviews
    7.75/10

    You have to order at the counter but they do bring the food to your table.

  25. Trish S.
    Trish S.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Love eating but the moscato on tap was broken

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    It was very busy. And the staff kept up and were smiling and helpful. Drinks are a little expensive, but the food was excellent value for money

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 299 reviews
    6.25/10

    Looking for a venue for a group of 22 people (seniors) for a December get together - so on checking the menu on line I found the SPECIALS - two for one deals. I decided to try this out with my wife -- the Curry Night -- and found it not a good standard at all. (not for the price anyhow) Presentation was ok but the meal itself was disappointing -- the Rendang Curry was ordinary to say the least and the Sri Lankan -- which I have had there numerous times previously was not up to a decent standard. Being a Cairns native for 70 years - I love the venue - but the food has always been a distraction. This fact was bought up in our group meeting a few weeks ago when I nominated Mondo's for our end of year get together. A number of the group complained about the quality of the food --- and for that matter - the menu itself. I was still able to talk them into having our function at Mondos - however after last night I feel I cannot commit to this venue either. Sorry to have to advise this but I do feel it is warranted. Will I be back ? Yes, but not for the food. Ambience ? Can't beat it.

  28. Jacques S.
    Jacques S.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Great view, very nice staff and great food. Nitpicking alert: I'm the douchebag who ordered a Ricard and note for the future: put water in it!

  29. Jenny P.
    Jenny P.
    • one review
    9/10

    Bar staff helpful & very knowledgable on wines & making our cocktails. Even though weather was wet & raining you can't beat the view. Food was very fresh & delicious.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    6.25/10

    Crispy pork belly was only crispy where it was burnt. Was dry and obviously well and truly precooked therefore dry ??

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    2.25/10

    Floors, tables and bar was sticky, staff had no idea what was going on and didn't know where our reserved table was. Ordered the $15 meal but did not get a choice of desert as stated on the website. Did not get all the deserts or drinks we paid for. Table was on a hill so we were all sitting on an angle. Parking tokens had to be purchased from inside the hotel, not at the restaurant as it has been for years. Would not reccomend this place and will not be going back here

  32. Helen M.
    Helen M.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    A perfect spot to unwind at any time of the day! Been going to Mondos for over 15 years and I love the food, location/view over the inlet and friendly service. See you again soon :-)

  33. Thien h.
    Thien h.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Excellent ! Thanh you .

  34. Matthew M.
    Matthew M.
    • 29 reviews
    7.25/10

    Nice waterside casual venue beside the Cairns Hilton.

  35. Jean W.
    Jean W.
    • one review
    10/10

    A great evening with great food and service. Pity about the weather and not being able to be outside but that is out of their control!

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 285 reviews
    4.75/10

    We found the food very salty and some of the Nasi Goreng is very oily. Also the background music in the restaurant is very loud, we could hardly hear each other while having a conversation in the table.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    9.25/10

    Lovely meal. Great location. Excellent table on the waterfront. Only thing was we couldn't see the food very well once itgot dark. Lights on tables would be good. Will definitely be back again.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    5/10

    Booking on line didn’t work - no record of us. Food was well below expectations.

  39. Bruce H.
    Bruce H.
    • one review
    8/10

    A relaxed very laid back dining experience

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 250 reviews
    6.5/10

    Accessible, great position, staff were friendly and helpful and food was what you’d expect.