Back

Reviews - Moorish Blue

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 500 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Helen C.
    Helen C.
    • one review
    7/10

    Moorish Blue was a disappointment. Firstly the limited set menu which was over priced. The glass of champagne did not compensate. The dishes were not particularly unique or flavoursome & drowned in salad rather than complemented by them. The decor needs an overall. Could only recommend based on the service, which was excellent.

  2. Mandi K.
    Mandi K.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    It’s a great experience. The ambiance is very welcoming and charming. Amazing, food and service. Staff are extremely knowledgeable and make great recommendations.

  3. Monique T.
    Monique T.
    • 3 reviews
    5/10

    I have really enjoyed having dinner here in the past but I think I may not come here for the time being. There isn't an ambience about this place, the noise is too loud at this time of year. The service is good and quick however the waitress was so keen to take the plates away - we hadn't even finished our meal. I had to request she leave the plates twice. We ordered three entree's, that was a good portion. No complaints there. The base salad was the same for the eggplant dish and the haloumi dish - yes chef - we did notice. It's nice food, but I think I'll try out other restaurants in the area.

  4. Lisa T.
    Lisa T.
    • one review
    10/10

    The dining experience this evening was faultless-the food was extremely fresh/tasty/innovative combined with excellent service. You will be surprised with Moorish Blue’s cuisine/ambience which I believe is a level above most restaurants in the trendy area.

  5. Ana F.
    Ana F.
    • one review
    9/10

    This spot was really surprising, we booked a table for lunch for 10 people and were not disappointed! We had a small private room with a table all set and ready, with a set sharing menu with several entrée and main dishes. The food was authentic and delicious, service was good and timely. We were in a private booth, so service wasn't as frequent as expected, however still great! The set menu was issued on arrival with a large group, however the other menu options were available if you were happy to wait a bit longer, only negative. All else was amazing!

  6. Dave J.
    Dave J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Open on a Monday is always a bonus plus the food was amazing. The serves were generous and the rose water pannacotta was gorgeous. Highly recommend for an easy and delicious dinner.

  7. Louise S.
    Louise S.
    • 5 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food is wonderful, looks beautiful and tastes amazing. So many flavors packed into each dish! Decent list of wines to choose from and very pleasant spot to sit.

  8. Monique T.
    Monique T.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    I've dined at Moorish Blue a couple of times last year and thought it would be nice to re-visit this charming restaurant. It was lovely to get out and about again after not getting out for many months and the menu/staff/atmosphere here did a wonderful job at lifting spirits and filling the night with happy tones. Food is delicious, the table service prompt and courteous and the venue supporting good COVID safe protocols. Well done Moorish Blue. I'll bring my guests back any time.

  9. Vicki L.
    Vicki L.
    • one review
    10/10

    As always, the food and the service here are wonderful. The only small issue is that the only bathrooms are up stairs so it is not suitable for people with mobility issues. Other than that I highly recommend it and will go there again

  10. Rebecca M.
    Rebecca M.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was outstanding, so many great ingredients and super fresh, flavours were fabulous. The service was friendly, welcoming and efficient. Will definitely be back

  11. Bonnie H.
    Bonnie H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Fabulous service, that came with great suggestions. Get the roasted cauliflower and the eggplant salad, you can only be disappointed. Lovely atmosphere and decor

  12. Rafik R.
    Rafik R.
    • 7 reviews
    9.5/10

    The setting is really nice and comfortable. The welcome is great but the food is outstanding the lamb tagine is the signature dish and it is to die for :-)

  13. Alex J.
    Alex J.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    I invited couple of friends and recommended Moorish Blue because I believe the taste of food and atmosphere is excellent plus very friendly staff. My friends loved it and will come back again. Thank you all for providing great and welcoming service. Keep going as we need to more examples like you in Sydney.

  14. Fabio Attilio D.
    Fabio Attilio D.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    A good experience in a different restaurant cuisine. Was the first time but we will reply soon: we enjoyed the food, the atmosphere and the service. I recommend it

  15. Weng C.
    Weng C.
    • one review
    6/10

    The food is great, in particular the lamb targine. Although the barramundi is worth a mention also. The beef strip loin was ok, let down by service - as it was cold when it arrived at the table.

  16. Ilene U.
    Ilene U.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    Excellent food as always but their menu has changed from pre-covid time. Our favourite standout dish was the cauliflower appetiser.

  17. A-J P.
    A-J P.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food, always reliably good. Thoroughly recommend it

  18. Aaron M.
    Aaron M.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Good atmosphere. Staff lack interpersonal skills and seem not to care too much (I asked how the eggplant was cooked and the waitress shrugged and said she would ask - she never got back to us and there were only 2 other parties in the restaurant). Limited vegetarian options (and not super flavoursome in my opinion)

  19. Barbara B.
    Barbara B.
    • one review
    10/10

    Incredibly delicious food, friendly staff and lovely atmosphere. It’s always a delight to go.

  20. Jason W.
    Jason W.
    • 10 reviews
    8.5/10

    Excellent food with very tasty flavours. The staff are friendly and offer great service. Well worth a visit if you like African food. Located in a nice part of Sydney too.

  21. Ren D.
    Ren D.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Lovely food

  22. Penny H.
    Penny H.
    • one review
    8/10

    Love this restaurant and the food. Our 3rd visit was a little disappointing as my partner’s main meal didn’t arrive until I had just about finished mine. Also found the restaurant on this occasion to be very noisy.

  23. Lydia y.
    Lydia y.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    Love all the vegetable salads, beautiful and delicious eggplant salads, roasted cauliflower and dory salad. Tender lamb tagines and fish tagine.

  24. Joel A.
    Joel A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Quiet Wednesday night. The restaurant is well spaced with plenty of hand sanitizer available. There are disposable surfaces to eat off which is comforting for those who are especially covid conscious. Food and service was absolutely brilliant, highly recommended for a hearty and healthy meal. We will be back!

  25. Margie M.
    Margie M.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    Good food and service. Restaurant was freezing cold and we remembered this was the same last night we we ate there.Asked the staff 3 times to close the front door but it was kept open. It would of been warmer outside!

  26. Paula L.
    Paula L.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Not too many dining on a Monday night. The food was delicious and interesting. Thought it was BYO but it’s not. Wine choices limited but ok

  27. Yoshimi F.
    Yoshimi F.
    • 21 reviews
    5.5/10

    We went for my daughter's birthday dinner. Regardless I booked more than a month prior to the date, we didn't get the table I requested with views. There was a big group of people next to us, talking (or shouting) very loud. It was very unpleasant. The menus weren't the same as what I found on their web. We couldn't try some dishes like Tunisan Brika, Prawn Shakshouka, and seafood platter for two, we were looking forward to try. Apart from that, the calamari, the cauliflower, and the lamb tagine are very well favoured with lots of spices and tasty. Barramundi was just average.

  28. Peter M.
    Peter M.
    • 14 reviews
    8/10

    Good quality interesting food

  29. Christopher S.
    Christopher S.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food is excellent, in particular the entrees and mains. The staff are friendly and efficient. The wine list is well chosen and covers a good range. A great place for a happy and tasty meal.

  30. Kat C.
    Kat C.
    • one review
    9/10

    Great little gem of a restaurant. Wonderful food, and great value. We had the set menu for 6 - grilled cauliflower and lamb tagine were excellent. There’s a lot of food so were walking away with to go boxes! We will be back.

  31. Tom T.
    Tom T.
    • 3 reviews
    3.5/10

    The meal was nice .As far as the social distancing it was non existent ,Very upset to see back to back chairs with large parties upstairs.No record of who attended the restaurant that Saturday night being the 27/6/20. 6pm sitting.I would not return due to the lack of concern for fellow patrons.

  32. Robert H.
    Robert H.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    The restaurant was nice and warm and the food was fresh and delicious. The service was friendly and prompt. Overall an excellent experience...

  33. Barbara N.
    Barbara N.
    • 8 reviews
    7.5/10

    As a first time visit and just coming out of being in lockdown I was pleased the restaurant had many empty seats. However they put another group on the table right next to us. This was quite disconcerting and I would have preferred a bit more distancing. Given that, the service was excellent and the food had very generous serves.

  34. Queenie C.
    Queenie C.
    • 8 reviews
    9/10

    Another enjoyable meal

  35. Pankaj S.
    Pankaj S.
    • 4 reviews
    5/10

    Very disappointing.food was tasteless and undercooked. We have been to the restaurant in the past and have enjoyed the food but in this instance, with restrictive menu, overall a very disappointing evening

  36. Noleen G.
    Noleen G.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Delicious food and great service

  37. Luisa C.
    Luisa C.
    • one review
    9/10

    I was really impressed. Big portions, really fresh produce and overall a fantastic experience of Northern African food which is much easier to eat than I thought! (Not too crazy on spices or herbs).

  38. Chloe-Charlotte C.
    Chloe-Charlotte C.
    • 21 reviews
    10/10

    Always friendly and the food is exceptional. So much flavour but nothing overwhelming and always balanced. Best dishes have to be the grilled squid and the cauli! Enjoy!!!

  39. Peter A.
    Peter A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Been meaning to come here for years but it always seemed to be booked out at the times we wanted. Very congenial and welcoming staff that went above and beyond in their commitment to quality service. The food was nothing short of exceptional and plentiful. Very tasty dips with plentiful flat bread and Tunisan Brika (crispy pastry filled w` tuna, egg, potatoes, fresh herbs) for starters and we shared the massive seafood platter, exotic lamb tagine, roasted cauliflower, rocket salad finished off with mixed baklava and Turkish coffee.

  40. Susan M.
    Susan M.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    The restaurant is great for setting, menu interesting and the food good. They were out of a lot of the wines we first tried to order, which wasn’t a big deal but 2/3 choices unavailable of whites wasn’t what one would expect. Then they ran out of the beers the boys were drinking. Food was good and fresh, but again a few substitutions on menu required which if you were a big foodie you might have cared.. We didn’t. lamb tangine excellent as was beetroot salad and roasted cauliflower. All in all we had a good night but we did make a fair few jokes about how it played out...We will be back, good neighborhood go to, keep an open mind!!