478 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
478 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(9.2)

dined on Fri, 14 Dec 2018

(10)
Great vibe, delicious food, yummy wine. Not pretencious at all. Loved it.

dined on Tue, 11 Dec 2018

(7)
Normally love this place but this time food offerings seemed a little dull.

dined on Sat, 8 Dec 2018

(7)
Cozy with interesting decor inside. It was very busy, food service was a little slow but was delicious. Attentive staff. Mammoth wine list

dined on Sat, 8 Dec 2018

(10)
Such a gem. The atmosphere, service and food is always fantastic.
Clare Chihambakwe

dined on Sat, 1 Dec 2018

(9)
Absolutely delightful. Great cross section of diners. Attentive service. Delicious food and wine. A Neighbourhood gem.

dined on Tue, 27 Nov 2018

(10)
Great hidden gem. Loved the atmosphere and service

dined on Sat, 24 Nov 2018

(9)
The food was sensational and we plan to go back again.

dined on Fri, 23 Nov 2018

(6)
Nice venue. Rich, small meals. Staff seem more likely to choose a wine they like over a type you're after. Buzzing place but wouldn't go back, for me.

dined on Tue, 20 Nov 2018

(9)
Enjoyed everything about this restaurant.

dined on Mon, 29 Oct 2018

(9)
Great atmosphere, delicious food,
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Neighbourhood Wine

Welcome to the Neighbourhood! You’ll instantly feel like a local when you come to Neighbourhood Wine, located on Reid Street in Fitzroy North. The vibe is warm and friendly, the wines are top quality drops from Australia and abroad, and the French-style cuisine is fancy without being pricey. The Neighbourhood has an interesting history – in the 1950s, it was once an illegal casino while the 90s saw it used as Alphonse Gangitano’s high-end gentlemen’s club. Today, however, that’s all changed, with Neighbourhood Wine transformed into a house of wine and food. The drinks are the main event here, with an impressive 19 page beverage list curated by sommelier Simon Denman. Denham has sourced bottles from around the globe, including artisanal wines from Santorini to Swartland. Head chef and co-owner Almay Jordaan, who actually hails from Cape Town, has created the accompanying European-flavoured menu using fresh and sustainable produce. It would be a crime (and Neighbourhood Wine knows plenty about that!) to miss this cosy little haunt. Best dish: Country style pork shoulder and pistachio terrine Please note that our a la carte menu changes daily and can be accessed from our website.

Neighbourhood Wine Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

5/5
7/10