476 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.9
476 reviews
Recommended
(9.3)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(9.2)

dined on Fri, 17 Aug 2018

(8)
The atmosphere here is great, service impeccable, the menu left a little to be desired.
Alan

dined on Tue, 14 Aug 2018

(9)
Very attentive host, knowledgeable. Very interesting wine list with organic, biodynamic and other options.

dined on Sat, 28 Jul 2018

(9)
Great wine list, excellent food and impressive service.

dined on Fri, 27 Jul 2018

(9)
Love the food & wine here as always

dined on Wed, 18 Jul 2018

(8)
Great decor and atmosphere, food was generally excellent (some felt overpriced or less inspiring than expected). Service was a little less warm than expected, but perfectly professional. Would definitely return and recommend to others.

dined on Tue, 17 Jul 2018

(9)
Enjoyable family evening. Great atmosphere

dined on Tue, 17 Jul 2018

(9)
Our server was so lovely and catered so well to our Vegan needs. The wine was yum and all the food was delicious. A great time was had by all, as always. Thank you

dined on Sat, 14 Jul 2018

(9)
Great venue and beautiful food and wine.

dined on Fri, 13 Jul 2018

(10)
This is my favourite place in Melbourne and I bring all out-of-towners here. It is also where we go for date night. Food, atmosphere, everything is special.

dined on Thu, 12 Jul 2018

(9)
We have been going to Neighbourhood Wine for several years and over time the serves have become less generous but the quality of the food remains high and the atmosphere is such a winner that we keep going back.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Valentine's Day 4 Course Menu $75 - Table Seating

Choice from our daily a la carte menu of 1 snack, 1 small plate, 1 medium plate each with side dish to accompany & then cheese or dessert each to finish. $75 pp. Please Note: This is the only menu available for Valentines day. This reservation is table seating in the main dining room.
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Valentine's Day 4 Course Menu $75 - Bar Seating

Choice from our daily A la carte menu of 2 snacks, 1 small plate & 1 medium plate each, with choice of 1 side dish to share between 2, then cheese or dessert each to finish. $75 pp. Please Note: This is the only menu available for Valentines day. Please note, you have selected BAR SEATING on bar stools at the bar.
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

Valentine's Day 4 Course Menu $75 - Sunset Room

Choice from our daily A la carte menu of 2 snacks, 1 small plate & 1 medium plate each, with choice of 1 side dish to share between 2, then cheese or dessert each to finish. $75 pp. Please Note: This is the only menu available for Valentines day. Please note, you have selected SUNSET ROOM seating. This room is separate to the main restaurant.
When
14 Feb 2019
Thu 5:00 PM - 10:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Neighbourhood Wine

Welcome to the Neighbourhood! You’ll instantly feel like a local when you come to Neighbourhood Wine, located on Reid Street in Fitzroy North. The vibe is warm and friendly, the wines are top quality drops from Australia and abroad, and the French-style cuisine is fancy without being pricey. The Neighbourhood has an interesting history – in the 1950s, it was once an illegal casino while the 90s saw it used as Alphonse Gangitano’s high-end gentlemen’s club. Today, however, that’s all changed, with Neighbourhood Wine transformed into a house of wine and food. The drinks are the main event here, with an impressive 19 page beverage list curated by sommelier Simon Denman. Denham has sourced bottles from around the globe, including artisanal wines from Santorini to Swartland. Head chef and co-owner Almay Jordaan, who actually hails from Cape Town, has created the accompanying European-flavoured menu using fresh and sustainable produce. It would be a crime (and Neighbourhood Wine knows plenty about that!) to miss this cosy little haunt. Best dish: Country style pork shoulder and pistachio terrine Please note that our a la carte menu changes daily and can be accessed from our website.

Neighbourhood Wine Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

5/5
7/10