Back

Reviews nel restaurant

9/10
Excellent
based on 1065 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Marina T.
    Marina T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent restaurant perfect for dates and any occasion

  2. Lorna C.
    Lorna C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This is our second time coming here, but it was a different theme! I loved the Australia theme, my favourites were the weet bix and the bugs. Yum! Service was great, they refilled our drinks, served the food quickly. The presentation and quality is amazing!

  3. Lina R.
    Lina R.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Food theme was interesting. Typical Aussie menu turns into very innovative creations. From entree to main, it was a bit salty for me however, food taste and presentation was great!

  4. Vanny T.
    Vanny T.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    Such a gem in Sydney! Loved the food themes and how simple ingredients can become such a powerful dish on a plate. So keen to visit again for the next theme. Service was friendly, highly recommend for first dates, birthdays or just because.

  5. Anna L.
    Anna L.
    • one review
    7/10

    Food was nice however found that the food was served too quickly. The moment I put down my fork, my plate was taken away and then Shortly after the next dish was served. They tried to take away my unfinished meal twice. Without asking us whether we enjoyed our meal or telling us there was a time restriction on our seating, and as I was drinking my tea, the waiter abruptly came up to us and asked we wanted to pay by cash or card. Definitely not a meal that you can relax. Food was served too quickly and it felt like you couldn’t digest or savour the flavours between the dishes. If you want a really fast degustation, this is the place for you.

  6. Ida M.
    Ida M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Staff was lovely and professional, lighting could be dimmed a little to suit the intimate small restaurant. Most of the dishes were exceptional and creative, some of the vegetarian options could be altered, like the mushroom alternative for the salmon was lacking in taste. Overall wonderful experience.

  7. Ian F.
    Ian F.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    A revisit and nel still rocks. Imaginative dishes using Aussie ingredients and bush spices. Well spaced delivery of the 11 courses. Smart bathrooms - hand lotion a nice touch.

  8. Euan M.
    Euan M.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    excellent fine dining food with a well thought out and tasty menu

  9. Joanna M.
    Joanna M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    A really innovative menu! Nel really takes modern Australia to the next level. I would definitely recommend Nel to my friends and family!!!!!!

  10. Michelle X.
    Michelle X.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    ambience was very chill, waitresses was so nice. Very impressed by every dish. It was a nice concept taking on Australian classic dishes like bunnings sausage sizzle and the vegemite butter with foccacia

  11. Michelle O.
    Michelle O.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    nel knocked our socks off. This was our first time visiting, we’ve been to a lot of fine dining restaurants in Sydney but this was something else. Everything was perfection on a plate! It was creative, visually spectacular and delicious. Every single dish was perfect. The whole dining experience was one of the best we’ve been to. We will definitely be back.

  12. Vanessa N.
    Vanessa N.
    • 2 reviews
    4/10

    Food was lacking in flavour, and all savoury dishes were too salty. Not worth the amount of money they're charging.

  13. Peter F.
    Peter F.
    • one review
    10/10

    Super happy that we dined at Nel. The food was amazing and the staff were really welcoming. We’re recommending to all our friends and we’re definitely going back again.

  14. Melissa W.
    Melissa W.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Very good food, great flavours, will be coming back

  15. Lucy Z.
    Lucy Z.
    • 2 reviews
    4/10

    Having been here two times previously, this last visit was a little disappointing. The courses lacked the innovation that we previously thought made this restaurant stand out as a fine dining place and as a result, I felt that we were overpaying for small portions of average food (e.g. some of the courses were literally: bread and butter, deep fried sausage roll, three sashimi pieces, a small taco shell with guacamole. Etc...)

  16. Paul P.
    Paul P.
    • 38 reviews
    9.5/10

    Enjoy their creative dishes every time

  17. Karly M.
    Karly M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was absolutely divine, with a delicious twist on Australian staples. It was fun and creative and beautifully presented. Favourites were the treacle soy salmon and the cherry ripe which had a surprising burst of flavour. It was a delight that the head chef was serving dishes to customers at the end of the night. However, other wait staff seemed disengaged when presenting and explaining meals.

  18. Sara C.
    Sara C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Highly recommend nel - the atmosphere was amazing and the service was very attentive. The menu was incredibly delicious - each dish was very innovative yet balanced. Would definitely return for another theme.

  19. Munir R.
    Munir R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Food was excellent,the place was buzzing,a little pricy for the set menu but worth it as it was a 8-course meal.

  20. Karen L.
    Karen L.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    We really enjoyed our dinner at Nel last night - tasty and interesting dishes, great service and atmosphere. It was so enjoyable that we will be back for the Nel x Alinea event in a few weeks time!

  21. Ivy M.
    Ivy M.
    • 6 reviews
    8/10

    Delicious.. nothing overly stand out but still very enjoyable.

  22. Christina B.
    Christina B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Fantastic. We adore Nel. In fact, I would go so far as to say it is my favourite restaurant in Sydney. The service was only a little lacking as opposed to previous times, but overall it was an unforgettable evening

  23. Yuliana B.
    Yuliana B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Every single dish was perfection on a plate, can’t even decide what was my favourite dish for the night, it was that good. Service was excellent too!

  24. Kasahara k.
    Kasahara k.
    • one review
    10/10

    awesome food and service. Definitely would like to come and try the next Disney menu????

  25. Anne P.
    Anne P.
    • 16 reviews
    10/10

    We were blown off our feet. Treated with the degustation meal, every dish was spectacular and presentation attractive. The wait staff were impeccable. We got to meet Nel himself as well which was a very personal al touch. It was an unforgettable night. We will definitely be back

  26. Jenny T.
    Jenny T.
    • one review
    8/10

    Second time visiting Nel and still impressed by the really interesting flavours and wonderful presentation for each course of the degustation.

  27. Rita P.
    Rita P.
    • 9 reviews
    6/10

    Food was overpriced for what it was. Wasn’t a fan of this menu, was very basic and not very exciting as previous menus.

  28. Mark S.
    Mark S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Second visit - more to come - have recommended it to many. The themed concept is superbly efficient and interesting: a real advance on the old theatre restaurants of the 70s

  29. KAY A.
    KAY A.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    It was our first time to Nel n we loved it. Nelly the chef is extremely sociable and hospitable. He spoke to everyone at their tables in the restaurant. We had the Christmas Feast which was plentiful and delicious. We’re looking forward to going back for the degustation.

  30. Matthew S.
    Matthew S.
    • one review
    5/10

    The bar seating should not be an acceptable seating arrangement in this restaurant. While some fine dining restaurants can get away with seating walk ins at the bar, guests who booked well in advanced should be seated at a proper seat. This bar is impractical to eat as it is small and has no leg room. There is constant knocks in the back due to the placement of the seat and your view is a dirty sink, a coffee machine, 2 loud bartenders and the service staff as it was right next to the POS machine. Service made us seem like we were complaining and that it was such a hassle to move us, but when in reality this seat should not be offered to anyone.

  31. Linda K.
    Linda K.
    • 64 reviews
    6.5/10

    Unfortunately the short Christmas lunch mains did not justify the price (even after fork special offer). To be fair the entree and dessert gave a glimpse of the restaurant’s potential. Maybe one day will give another go at their proper tasting menu.

  32. Joanna Z.
    Joanna Z.
    • 9 reviews
    9/10

    Always a wonderful experience at Nel! Thank you

  33. Charles V.
    Charles V.
    • one review
    4/10

    Atmosphere is relaxed and casual for a 'fine dining' experience. However, the table and chair I was seated at stood on 3 legs. Air-con blowing at me was a bit of a bother. Meal (Story of Christmas) was abit of a hit and miss - more so misses if I am to be frank. The "Christmas Wreath" and "Don't eat Yellow Snow" dishes were delightful. Other than the "Mushroom Stout" which formed part of the first serving, the rest were dreadful to barely passable. Undercooked quail, overpeppered chicken, to the odd flavor combination of the fruity gelato and chocolate brownies that just didn't work. Portions were small, and I was left feeling unfulfilled after the complete course.

  34. Evelyn H.
    Evelyn H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Food was great. Although we went to the land and sea one few months back, and that one just blew our minds and had super-high expectations. The let down was the service. Had served 2 of our snacks before we had to call the waitress over to order our cocktails, and food towards the end came out with a large waiting period. Other than that, it was great. Will definitely be back for more themed dining! Thanks :)

  35. Alexandra C.
    Alexandra C.
    • 2 reviews
    6.5/10

    Environment was cossy. Staffs were friendly. Food was interesting definitely not something you'd eat usually.

  36. Jonathan N.
    Jonathan N.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    The food was delicious. Their menu is nicely designed. You can tell the food was prepared with care.

  37. Paul W.
    Paul W.
    • 57 reviews
    5/10

    Service is a mixture of good and bad. Depends on different waitress. Tgey asked us to be ontime and we management arrived 15-20minutes earlier. But they wont let u have tge table even there is available one.

  38. Mary I.
    Mary I.
    • 7 reviews
    8/10

    Customer service is very good, welcoming and friendly. Look forward to returning when they have their new menu. Drinks looked impressive.

  39. Thi D.
    Thi D.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Nel Restaurant was amazing. Service and atmosphere was great compared to other fine dining places in Sydney. Food was delicious and the dining experience was very enjoyable. Special thanks to our hostess on the night Raz*. We arrived late to our booking and she was very accommodating. Hostess was able to create a personal experience and went out of her way to assist us on the night. I would highly recommend friends and family to Nel because of this.

  40. Rene P.
    Rene P.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    I've eaten at Nel many times and love the food. The change of menu every couple of months makes it very exciting and new. That said, the latest menu for Christmas 2019 was my last favorite of my experiences at Nel to date. Hoping my next visit will see the return of the delicious creative tastes I love to devour.