8.4/10
Very good
based on 51 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Troy C.
    Troy C.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    We arrived about 10 minutes prior to our booked reservation time and waited behind two other customers at the entrance of the restaurant. There was one staff on the phone at the counter and no others to assist him, therefore we all just waited and waited and waited to finally be attended to and seated at our booked table. We observed over a dozen other staff in the restaurant but nobody came to the front to assist or even looked our way, therefore making booked and paying customers wait. This was a disappointing start to what we thought was going to be a dinner at the best restaurant in Torquay. Once we were finally seated, the waitress for our table, Jess, was absolutely brilliant and we couldn't fault the level of service and warm welcome that she provided. We had the prawns for a starter and they were delicious so we couldn't wait to have to have our mains. Unfortunately this is where is became quite underwhelming, The King Fish was overcooked and very dry and the steak was a bit chewy. I would have thought for what is advertised as fine dining, the food would have been as fine but it was not the case this time. We had an OK evening but left very disappointed after reading all the good reviews and being excited about going to this place for dinner. Certainly not up to the hype or price and unfortunately we will not recommend. So very very disappointed!

  2. Norman B.
    Norman B.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Welcome was officious rather than cooperative. I asked for a window table and was told that wasn’t possible. I was told that one couldn’t book a window table there , it was just a matter of what was allocated. I asked our waitress and she said we should make a phone booking and make the request. I will be doing that in future. We ordered the burramundi and it was delicious. Our waitress was attentive and cheerful and responded well to our questions. Will go there again.

  3. Melinda T.
    Melinda T.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    lovely food and great service, we have been here a handful of times over the past 12 months or so, would recommend for special occasions, friendly and professional wait staff

  4.  Vivien B.
    Vivien B.
    • one review
    10/10

    This restaurant was excellent with extremely nice food and in particular the service was perfect.Congratulations to all the staff.Well organised and attentive,without being overbearing.A lovely experience.

  5. Lynn W.
    Lynn W.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    Enjoying a family night out to celebrate a birthday we all enjoyed our meals however were disappointed with the attentiveness of service provided. Service appeared rushed and unwelcoming, their attention to detail needs further consideration. As customers we felt disappointed that staff seemed to be more intent on setting up for breakfast the next morning that attending to their customers, if this occurred late in the evening it may be understandable but this was not our experience. We have previously enjoyed lovely meals and great service here, therefore by sharing our experience on this occasion, hopefully our comments are constructively taken into account.

  6. Rex P.
    Rex P.
    • one review
    9/10

    RACV never disappoint,good food ,good drinks ,great service

  7. Ceri W.
    Ceri W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    One thing I must highly express the Restaurant went beyond any of my expectations. They were able to accommodate a rather complicated special dietary requirement. They went to the extra effort of organizing a menu just for that guest, that gave her options to choose from, which was exceptional. It certainly made the guest feel very special and valued. It is those special touches that really stood out, not only to the guest with the certain dietary requirements, but all to all the guests dining that night. It was very much appreciated. 10/10

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great for allergies

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7.5/10

    Whilst teh expericne was very pleasant I found the menu quite limited with very standard options avaiable and not many of them. I expected more variety.

  10. Pierina M.
    Pierina M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Highly recommended

  11. Nick P.
    Nick P.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great restaurant, great food and great service.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 284 reviews
    7.75/10

    Very nice venue but we were there at night so didn't get the full impact of the view - maybe some spotlights or similar around the golf course. Apart from that it was all very enjoyable.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 278 reviews
    10/10

    Great service from all staff especially our table waitress Molly. Food was delicious and definitely will come back again. Thank you all for a great night.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 294 reviews
    6/10

    Food was excellent as were cocktails. Menus were very slow coming to table and our waitress didn’t tell us any specials that others around us were offered. Perhaps you should have new wait staff follow more experienced staff until they’re more confident in their work. Otherwise food again was superb.

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    5.5/10

    I am sorry to say this but on this occasion the main meal which happened to be fillet steak was very poor. It was cooked well but the quality of the meat was poor. It was not tender and very difficult to chew because of its gristly nature which was evident in all of the meat serving, not just a small piece. There were no special sauces or garnishes provided with the meat, just a basket of chips. If you wanted a salad then this had to be ordered separately and at more cost. The meal was overpriced. Sometimes when we go to the restaurant the meal is of excellent quality, other times it can be very poor. Given this inconsistency I cannot recommend the restaurant to friends and may not be returning. Given it was a special occasion it was overall quite disappointing.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    8.75/10

    Had a lovely meal last night, catered to my dietry requirements in a professional manner, great value, lovely atmosphere, cant wait to return.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    8.5/10

    More options would be appreciated without the need to purchase side plates.

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    10/10

    Very enjoyable and great service . Food excellent .

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    6.75/10

    Quite unclear why they were initially reluctant to give us a window seat. Several people served us, giving a lack of continuity - this might be why there was some delay before the wine order appeared. Overall though we quite enjoyed the evening.

  20. Jasmine C.
    Jasmine C.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    We were served by Molly and she provided us an absolutely amazing dinner service! The scallops were delicious however if it the sauce was slightly less salty it would’ve been amazing.

  21. Laura T.
    Laura T.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    We love this restaurant! The service is fantastic and the food just brilliant. It has great views, cozy atmosphere when the fires are in winter and is a really nice and quiet place to dine. Always looking for an excuse to go here

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.25/10

    Lovely meal; but too expensive for the average couple. Special occasion only....

  23. A A.
    A A.
    • 286 reviews
    9/10

    my daughter and I have coeliac disease and the gluten free menu has so many choices. The service was also excellent, it was my daughters birthday and they brought her desert out with a candle which was a very thoughtful touch.

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 244 reviews
    9/10

    Great atmosphere and spacious dining room

  25. Ross H.
    Ross H.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Very enjoyable evening

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    6.5/10

    steak ordered as medium but raw in places. More under cooked in places than medium rare.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    8/10

    Quite a strong chlorine’s smell when we came to the service desk so was glad we were in Number One restaurant. Had a lovely meal. Thankyou.

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    7/10

    Service was slow (few staff) and basic orders (such as getting a glass of wine when ordering a bottle of wine) were missed.

  29. Joe I.
    Joe I.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Staff were highly professional, Highly Courteous, Food was great. good ambiance . First time there and many more to come. Great place for future business meetings..

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    6.25/10

    The food was really good but drink service was a bit shoddy - three waitresses walked past our drinks sitting on the bar before one thought to bring them over. We also waited 15- 20 minutes for a menu which doesn’t seem like much but for the prices you charge it should be justified through the level of service the customer receives. Lined story short - food excellent, service meh. Wasn’t amazed, won’t rush back.

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    8.25/10

    Excellent food however it is such a shame that the tables are placed so closely together. I certainly wouldn’t recommend this restaurant for an intimate meal. A bit like a cafe experience rather than fine dining-tables really do need to be further apart.

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    9.5/10

    Very good. Will be back for sure

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9.5/10

    The reason I rated "FOOD/DRINKS" 9 is because the steaks we had, even though they were perfectly cooked, were "chewy" (not tough) but not "melt in your mouth". The staff were very friendly but also very professional at all times. The remainder of the food was delicious and beautifully presented.

  34. Greg S.
    Greg S.
    • one review
    9/10

    Fabulous service by ? I never got her name unfortunately. Would recommend to anyone, the food was well presented and tasted just as good.

  35. Loo L.
    Loo L.
    • one review
    7/10

    Excellent food. Service was attentive. Will definitely come back!

  36. Colin H.
    Colin H.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    It was my wife’s birthday but no one asked if we were celebrating a special occasion. They did at other tables.

  37. Michael C.
    Michael C.
    • 2 reviews
    8.75/10

    Nice restaurant, good food and service, mood lighting could be improved, does not feel classy.

  38. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    10/10

    Perfect for a romantic evening

  39. Kathleen M.
    Kathleen M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Was a little disappointed with variety of menu. Thought salad accompaniment left a bit to be desired, and my friends would say the same. However there was also lots to like.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 298 reviews
    4.75/10

    We were a party of 4 and all had starters and main. 2 starters and 2 mains were extremely disappointing to barely edible. Very disappointing.