621 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
621 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.4)
Atmosphere
(8.8)

dined on Sat, 24 Nov 2018

(9)
Excellent flavours. Great variety and good quality And friendly service . Fully satisfied. Recommended.
Tossy Kuroki

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(9)
Since 1994, the concept has been kept to all food, which is unique &my most favorite point with their speciality.

dined on Sat, 10 Nov 2018

(8)
Enjoyable meal in indoor dining area; service was excellent and we lived our meals and wines

dined on Fri, 9 Nov 2018

(8)
The mains were great but the dessert fell short as though they were trying to incorporate too many things and it became too complicated.

dined on Thu, 25 Oct 2018

(10)
excellent dining experience showing off superbly local bush produce. fantastic flavours.
Dolores Hirsh

dined on Sun, 21 Oct 2018

(10)
The Australian appetizer of salmon, crocodile, kangaroo and emu is a must! Main dishes of macadamia encrusted pork and wallaby steak were phenomenal. We’ve had some wonderful meals in New Zealand and Australia but our meal at Ochre ranks as one of the best

dined on Sat, 20 Oct 2018

(9)
Busy night so noisier than ideal. Food and service very good as always. One of our favourite restaurants in Cairns.

dined on Fri, 19 Oct 2018

(2)
The salt and pepper quail should be renamed something more like ‘sweet crumbed quail on the bone’. I was expecting a light fresh dish and as an entree also expected that I wouldn’t be taking meat off bones. Further, the red claw linguini was average in taste and presentation. The meat was tasteless and again I had to remove the meat from the shell which is simply inappropriate in a watery pasta dish. It was our ten year anniversary and I was lucky to have good company as I wouldn’t have been happy with the food. It was our first time at Ochre and will be our last. The guys had the big steak which they thought was good but the other girl with us had the tuna special which was overpowered with a lemon flavour making the dish difficult to enjoy.

dined on Thu, 27 Sep 2018

(10)
Excellent service great food and view

dined on Mon, 24 Sep 2018

(3)
The appetizers are interesting, but the main meat is not good.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Ochre Restaurant

Go native Ochre Restaurant has been wowing Cairns locals and tourists alike for more than 20 years with its fresh take on local produce that manages to showcase such tricky ingredients such as crocodile and wallaby with real flair. If you can, try to snaffle a table on the pavement to really get the full Cairns experience. Somehow the fresh seafood, native game and bush foods such as tempura Gulf bugs on lemongrass with a green papaya salad and sweet chilli lemon myrtle dipping sauce, or the salt and native pepper leaf crocodile and prawns taste even more authentic that way. If you’re game, leave it to the Chef and opt for the Taste of Australia Ochre platter, a four-course set menu. If you prefer a la carte, then make sure you leave room for the desserts, which, if you’re lucky, might be the wattle seed pavlova or the Davidson Plum Mousse. Most popular Dishes: Tempura Bugs on Lemongrass Skewers & Pork Belly with Queensland Scallops

Ochre Restaurant Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14/20
79
4/5