618 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.8
618 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.7)

dined on Thu, 13 Sep 2018

(6)
People how served our food explained it well...rest of the staff mmm not very attentive. Steak was well worth the visit.

dined on Mon, 27 Aug 2018

(6)
A wait staff I asked for an assistance to select the menu was not friendly nor helpful.

dined on Fri, 10 Aug 2018

(8)
It was interesting food, we ordered all the australian fauna meats ( crocodile, emu, kangaroo, wallaby). We ordered the platters to share and the taste was quite unimpressive. If I went again I would stick to the normal dishes and probably eat the usual meats and seafood instead.

dined on Tue, 7 Aug 2018

(9)
Second visit 9 years after first discovery. Australian game platter is absolutely delicious, especially smoked crocodile & kangaroo.

dined on Tue, 7 Aug 2018

(8)
Excellent bush food and unique flavours that make it an intersting treat

dined on Wed, 1 Aug 2018

(6)
Ochre wasn't quite as good as I had hoped. The food was good, but not great and I had expected great from the reviews. Our waiter was also good, but not great. Product knowledge was lacking as were menu suggestions. The outlook is beautiful, the atmosphere is good.
Tony

dined on Fri, 13 Jul 2018

(9)
Very enjoyable- interesting modern Australian food

dined on Tue, 10 Jul 2018

(8)
Food was really nice. Had to wait 50 minutes between entrée and mains.(we checked our phone for time between photo taken). (PS. side door was opened and I had to witness 10 lots group come through that door and wondered why they weren't be seated. And the entrance was indeed over the other side. We made that mistake when we came)

dined on Fri, 6 Jul 2018

(9)
Brilliant place to go for a Ladies’ Lunch

dined on Sat, 30 Jun 2018

(9)
Excellent Australian cuisine with lots of unique ingredients. Our antipasto platter for two included smoked crocodile, seared kangaroo and emu wonton. Gulf Bugs & Croc & Prawn mains were delicious. Quandong Brulee desert was excellent. Accompanied by delicious Tasmanian Josef Chromy sauvignon blanc. Don’t expect French bubbles or Kiwi sauvignon blanc here – it is strictly Oz only! Ignore the narcy reviews and try for yourself. Recommended.
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Ochre Restaurant

Go native Ochre Restaurant has been wowing Cairns locals and tourists alike for more than 20 years with its fresh take on local produce that manages to showcase such tricky ingredients such as crocodile and wallaby with real flair. If you can, try to snaffle a table on the pavement to really get the full Cairns experience. Somehow the fresh seafood, native game and bush foods such as tempura Gulf bugs on lemongrass with a green papaya salad and sweet chilli lemon myrtle dipping sauce, or the salt and native pepper leaf crocodile and prawns taste even more authentic that way. If you’re game, leave it to the Chef and opt for the Taste of Australia Ochre platter, a four-course set menu. If you prefer a la carte, then make sure you leave room for the desserts, which, if you’re lucky, might be the wattle seed pavlova or the Davidson Plum Mousse. Most popular Dishes: Tempura Bugs on Lemongrass Skewers & Pork Belly with Queensland Scallops

Ochre Restaurant Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

14/20
79
4/5