Back

Reviews Olio Kensington Street

8.5/10

Fabulous

based on 1388 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Gianluca M.
    Gianluca M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Really my favourite place in Sydney, nothing more to say, always threatened well

  2. Emanuele F.
    Emanuele F.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Very good restaurant, high quality and delicious Italian and Sicilian dishes. Outstanding service and Italian courtesy. Highly recommended

  3. Natasha I.
    Natasha I.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent service, warm welcome and delicious food! Great value- will be back for sure!

  4. Albert S.
    Albert S.
    • 38 reviews
    9.5/10

    Good food and atmosphere

  5. Lynne L.
    Lynne L.
    • 105 reviews
    10/10

    Loved the degustation menu, they even allowed one diner to change one of the dishes. Fantastic service, a beautiful setting, a really lovely evening

  6. Lisa S.
    Lisa S.
    • 6 reviews
    8.5/10

    Amazing squid ink pasta and nice , friendly service. Very nice atmosphere as well. The only caveat was one piece of wagyu had a chunky sinew that was quite difficult to bite and chew, and I would have liked my water to be refilled more regularly without asking.

  7. Roberta R.
    Roberta R.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Excellent bresaola and capasanta, as usual. Tried out desserts for the first time and I highly recommend the fichi crostata (It was a special) or the traditional cannoli - both outstanding. Main courses not for big eaters, but still of very good quality. Great service and atmosphere.

  8. Dom C.
    Dom C.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic experience!!!!!

  9. Fiona L.
    Fiona L.
    • 25 reviews
    10/10

    Impeccable service by the staff. Delicious and beautifully presented food. Highlights were the Raghu pasta and king salmon. We would definitely come back again. Great for special occasion or a date.

  10. Tony H.
    Tony H.
    • 5 reviews
    6/10

    Considering the normal price and venue, the food tastes quite pedestrian.

  11. Grace P.
    Grace P.
    • 3 reviews
    7.5/10

    Good service however really small portions

  12. Indra A.
    Indra A.
    • 22 reviews
    9/10

    All the food was delicious! I’ll definitely be coming back!

  13. Jenny l.
    Jenny l.
    • 35 reviews
    7/10

    Food was very average. The zucchini flowers were soggy & tasteless and the ragu pasta was undercooked.

  14. Carolina T.
    Carolina T.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    The food is overall good and the degustation menu and the price is reasonable. Seafood ingredient is fresh, the spaghetti with sardine taste gorgeous and would be great if it doesn't sit in a mushy sauce . Dessert is OK not our liking. Don't like our table is right at the entrance when half of the restaurant is empty at that stage so it is a timing management. The service is also OK as there is very little interaction for me to comment. I will come here again for the food but hopefully other item will step up more

  15. Amy L.
    Amy L.
    • 18 reviews
    8/10

    Great value and service, food is very nice except a bit wait.

  16. Abdullah K.
    Abdullah K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    very nice food. Will definitely be back.

  17. Mauro M.
    Mauro M.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Proper Italian food that made me proud of my country. I strongly suggest the dessert!

  18. Lyndy D.
    Lyndy D.
    • one review
    9/10

    Lovely restaurant with great food. Best cannolo I have ever had and I have had many in Italy! Staff welcoming and friendly. Would definitely recommend to others. Hope to return soon.

  19. Chloe c.
    Chloe c.
    • 4 reviews
    9.5/10

    we tried tuna steak, wagyu and pork and the urchin pasta, all of them are excellent. dessert is good too.even with no offer its worth to try too. if the portion of beef can be larger it will be great.

  20. Emily Z.
    Emily Z.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Quality of food was great and we liked every dish. Serving is on the smaller side, as expected with fine dining. We were greeted immediately and kindly by lady at the front desk. The young man waiting on us was polite and attentive. Service wise, very good. Only minor issue was that our starters came separately, as did our mains. Overall, I would revisit.

  21. Michael D.
    Michael D.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great Sicilian find. The food was excellent. We all had the pastas and the 6 of us thoroughly enjoyed our choice. I had the bucatini with sardines and raisins and it was amazing. The staff were friendly and attentive. Will definitely be going back.

  22. Khaled A.
    Khaled A.
    • 2 reviews
    6/10

    The portions were too small and way too pricey, the food was OK

  23. Eva H.
    Eva H.
    • one review
    6/10

    Food was hit and miss, the squid ink pasta and scarlet prawn pasta were the highlights, the rest were mediocre. The service could be friendlier.

  24. Sarah C.
    Sarah C.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    The food was very delicious. The entrees, pasta and mains were all so tasty and beautifully presented. I felt the waiter taking our order didn’t really want to be there although we did turn him away once as we weren’t ready. He recommended the perfect amount of food for us though!

  25. Patrice d.
    Patrice d.
    • 28 reviews
    9.5/10

    the food was really good, the fish soup was perfect , the king fish as well, and the cod too but the portion was too small.. that the fourth time I am coming and its always delicious and I do like the style of the space.

  26. Wern C.
    Wern C.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Food was pretty good but service was a little confused. After we finished the main, we were kind of forgotten. Dessert menu was not offered and after half an hour or so we finally managed to get the bill and went elsewhere for dessert.

  27. Mary H.
    Mary H.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    Thank you for accommodating all our different dietary requirements and needs of different guests- the staff were excellent and the food delicious !

  28. Lina W.
    Lina W.
    • one review
    10/10

    Food is delicious, friendly staff and i’m using the fork 50% offer so even better. This is the second time for me to visit olio kensington and i must i rate both visit 10 out of 10. This is one of my favorite italian restaurant in terms of overall experience weigh the price.

  29. Elaine N.
    Elaine N.
    • one review
    10/10

    How good is it to get to try top quality dishes at half price! 100% would happily return to dine and pay full price next time. There are so many other dishes we can’t wait to try. Chef Lino and his staff really made it a great experience for us all

  30. Rachna V.
    Rachna V.
    • 43 reviews
    8/10

    Good and very tasty pasta & mains. The squid ink with nduja tontarelli and the capellini dishes were great!! Perfect pasta fix! And the tiramisu was very good too.

  31. Rodney K.
    Rodney K.
    • 31 reviews
    9/10

    Very accommodating staff. Great food and wine recommendations. Wagyu steak and gnocchetti were highlights

  32. Samuel W.
    Samuel W.
    • 31 reviews
    6.5/10

    Food was really good but could tell half of FOH staffs were newbies and short staffed. Wish they explain dishes to us.

  33. Alan C.
    Alan C.
    • 19 reviews
    7/10

    Nice pasta and drinks and unique mains. Price a little dear for quantity.

  34. Jap C.
    Jap C.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    It's lit

  35. Jennifer Y.
    Jennifer Y.
    • 13 reviews
    8/10

    The zucchini flowers and the pistachio tart are a must get if you are going to olio. Also had the wagyu (at 50% off the wagyu was a bargain) and the baked broccoli

  36. June T.
    June T.
    • one review
    5/10

    Rushed course meal, not much explanation to what was coming up. No menu of the degustation presented, very different to previous visit. Not sure whether it’s the 15th Feb - Valentines period.

  37. Eric T.
    Eric T.
    • 60 reviews
    8/10

    Nice service and good food.

  38. Tanya C.
    Tanya C.
    • one review
    7/10

    Food was amazing but service was terrible!!! Wait staff didn't know which tables the orders were meant to go to, they were also dropping drinks/breaking glasses left and right. It was Valentines Day and thought they should have had it altogether especially on occasions like that. Food came out too late as well and when we would ask for serviettes or food/drinks and even the bill - it took AGES to get to us. Shame for such great food!

  39. Henderson L.
    Henderson L.
    • one review
    7/10

    I got the Valentine’s Day special, it was not worth $288. Portions were so small, my date and I finished each course within a minute of it coming onto the table. The main dishes took more than 45mins to come out. I won’t be coming back

  40. Clover l.
    Clover l.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was a really great night to spend on Valentines. The service was great , so thoughtful and down to earth. The food was also amazing. Definitely recommend