102 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.6
102 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.4)
Value for money
(8.3)
Atmosphere
(8.0)
Connor

dined on Sat, 3 Oct 2015

(7)
Relaxed atmosphere. Peaceful.

dined on Sun, 6 Sep 2015

(2)
Great service. Very average food. Decor needs to be updated (looked like an old reception centre). Could be a great place if some money went into a renovation. The food was average at best. I couldn't finish my rib eye due to it being very tough. Not worth the drive from Melbourne. Hopefully they can improve on these points as the location is very nice.
Hello Anthony, thank you for taking the time to review your experience on Father’s Day. We appreciate your favourable comments regarding our service - they are a great acknowledgement of our dedicated team and we are sorry you were disappointed with your meal, I understand you spoke with the Manager as you left the venue. At any time during your meal we are happy to correct any issues. Thank you for your feedback re the décor, we are currently working on ways to improve this as you say we are situated at a very nice location. We hope you will try us again one day for a better food experience.
Restaurant Oscar's on the Yarra responded on Tue, 29 Sep 2015

dined on Sat, 5 Sep 2015

(6)
Lovey food, cheap wine but lacked on atmosphere being the only ones in the restaurant. Only negative was that we were unable to view the diner for $35 inc wine menu online and no copies in the restaurant to learn it was only for a starter and dessert. Could see it would be lovely if busier/weddings

dined on Sat, 15 Aug 2015

(9)
very enjoyable stay & dinner
Mark

dined on Sat, 15 Aug 2015

(8)
A very pleasant evening
Nadine Chivers

dined on Sat, 15 Aug 2015

(10)
Friendly staff, lovely place. Yummy food.
Matt

dined on Sat, 15 Aug 2015

(7)
With many brewery/winery restaurants in the area, this large chain hotel dining room is average all round. The staff were great and the room is pleasant with cloth napkins etc, however the menu is not very extensive or imaginative. You would be forgiven for thinking it were typical pub food selections. Although our meals were great I felt as though the food did not showcase the best of what the region had to offer in the way of produce as the forward of the menu suggested we should expect.

dined on Thu, 23 Jul 2015

(10)
Very Impressed with the dining experience, highly recommend for anyone who appreciates good food and wine.
Greg

dined on Sat, 20 Jun 2015

(5)
Suitable for older folks who like RSL-style food. Ok quality, just not particularly imaginative. Upmarket pub food? Lovely view - would be great in summer on the balcony overlooking the river (if they removed the rubbish and covered up the water tank). Building itself looks like an old scout hall that's been freshly painted. Not offensive, but definitely feels low rent. Weirdest light choice I've seen in a while. Guess we're used to fine dining in Melbourne and had been given the impression this was on par - it's definitely not.
Peter Maurer

dined on Sat, 13 Jun 2015

(9)
Great Italian cuisine and service was excellent. Good choice of local wines
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Oscar's on the Yarra

Treat yourself at Oscar's on the Yarra Victoria’s Yarra Valley is home to beautiful produce, wine and scenery; three award-winning features that add to the wow-experience that is Oscar’s on the Yarra. Nestled on the banks of the river in the picturesque Warburton, Oscar’s can accommodate small and intimate meals for two all the way through to larger affairs (weddings, parties, anything!). Heavily reliant on local producers, the ever changing menu is relaxed and accessible to all diners. Complementing the food, the wine list has a strong focus on the Yarra Valley. And given the proximity to the vineyards, it would be a shame not to sample their wares over lunch or dinner! Depending on the weather and occasion, you can choose to sit in the attractive dining room or alfresco on the outdoor terrace. Why not treat yourself next weekend with a trip to the Yarra Valley and Oscar’s on the Yarra? Best dish: Grazing Platter for two: a selection of cured meats, cheese, olives, pickles & marinated vegetables from local suppliers.

Oscar's on the Yarra Address

Google Map