Back

Reviews Otis Dining Hall

8.8/10

Fabulous

based on 707 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Samantha R.
    Samantha R.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    First time dining at Otis and it won’t be the last. Great food, atmosphere and staff. Menu was fabulous and while feeling a little pressure to finish for the next sitting (thanks Covid) it wasn’t overbearing like others I’ve experienced. Chef’s discussion and explanation of the dishes was informative and fun.

  2. Annette M.
    Annette M.
    • 11 reviews
    9.5/10

    Enjoyed the Chef’s table truffle menu. Lovely matched wines and delicious food. Just slightly rushed.

  3. Ian G.
    Ian G.
    • 51 reviews
    8/10

    There's no place better than Canberra in Truffle season and OTIS Dining Hall for its truffle degustation menu matched with non-other than Clonakilla wines! While all of the entrees were great, for me the star of the show was the hand rolled Gnocchi with truffled butter chicken sauce and of course, topped with black truffle! The pepper steak was melt in the mouth and each of the 3 deserts were laced with black truffle. Great night and fitting end to the truffle season! Thanks.

  4. Steve C.
    Steve C.
    • 5 reviews
    10/10

    So glad I snuck a visit in before the restaurant lock down. Chef is always amazing and the service is fantastic. I look forward to going back as soon as this is over

  5. Alison B.
    Alison B.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    We ordered matching wines for two and a cocktail. It took three courses for the wines to catch up with the delivery of the food and I had to ask twice for the cocktail before I ended up cancelling the order. Our waiter was extremely apologetic about the delay. The food was good and overall we enjoyed the meal

  6. Terry A.
    Terry A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our party of four of varying ages really enjoyed the evening at Otis Dining Hall. The mid-week tasting menu provided variety of choices. Our food was amazing (we each tried something new) 2 of us had the paired wines. Again, good choices made by somellier.. The wait staff were very friendly & professional. We will definitely be back!

  7. Julie N.
    Julie N.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent 5 courses matched with wine - food and service was outstanding - with our waiter being very knowledgeable and talking us through each course and the wines. Highly recommend.

  8. Cheryl M.
    Cheryl M.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    A great way to celebrate a birthday with my daughter! The staff wished her best wishes which was a special touch along with delicious food! A must to visit!

  9. John K.
    John K.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had the 3 course fixed price menu. The standout dishes were the pork belly, steak, lamb and amongst the deserts the creme caramel. The wines suited the dishes well and the service was excellent. Our waitress, April, was spot on with her advice and provided attentive service. We will be returning.

  10. Courtney R.
    Courtney R.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    Great food and atmosphere, will definitely be back!

  11. Linda T.
    Linda T.
    • one review
    8/10

    We thoroughly enjoyed our evening at Otis. The food was great and we had the matching wines which were perfect. The young man who served the wines knew everything there is to know about wine and he spent time explaining and talking to us about the wines. We thought the atmosphere, ambiance of the place needs to be looked at to make it more appealing.

  12. John F.
    John F.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food is excellent and the wait staff attentive but not intrusive. The chef/owner, Damien, checked to be sure our evening was going well. Highly recommend Otis...be sure to have the pepper steak!!

  13. D. E.
    D. E.
    • 8 reviews
    10/10

    A lovely night out. Great wine and cheese and ambiance

  14. Victoria C.
    Victoria C.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    The meals were incredibly disappointing. My gnocchi was bland and tasted as if it was out of a packet. My husbands pork belly was only just warm and tough. Our mains of steak was disappointing and my salmon was raw and the sauce and figs were stone cold. I was unable to eat half my main course. The desserts of creme caramel came on ice cold plates and unfortunately once again seemed as if they were from a packet, plus mine had lumps of salt which wasn’t nice. We left upset and won’t return. We’ve eaten there before and it was lovely. Not sure what happened to the quality of their food

  15. Tim S.
    Tim S.
    • one review
    7/10

    Some courses were really good others were basic for an establishment we felt would be quite impressive. One course was cold when served. It seems that it really depends on your selection of food as to the enjoyment you experience. The tiramisu for dessert wasn’t great - unfortunately all three of us had it expecting more.

  16. Bec E.
    Bec E.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    It was a nice experience. Nice food. We all had three courses plus some add on cheese and matching wines. Pork belly was hit and miss between us. Some parts were super tender and others stringy and fatty. Poached chicken was jelly like and a bit ordinary but filling. Soft shell crab was bland. Beef carpaccio with rice crackers stood out as a winner. Pepper steak was a stand out amazing dish with beautiful flavour, and a nice rich jus/gravy. Came with a salad and char potatoes. Lamb rump and fish of the day (salmon) were good too. Tiramisu was bland, but the cheese platter was divine. The first soft cheese was yumazing! OverAll good enough atmosphere to be able to talk and have a good time. Would go back.

  17. Melanie R.
    Melanie R.
    • one review
    10/10

    I have been wanting to try OTIS for a long time and today did not disappoint. Service was excellent - attentive but not “hovering”. Food was excellent. Every ingredient complemented each other. Wait staff were also very engaging with my 8 year old little gourmet who could not fault anything on the menu. I had ravioli, lamb and tiramisu. All were divine. Would return for just the service or just the food, but the two combined were magic. Thanks OTIS!

  18. Kate L.
    Kate L.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    This was a delightful dining experience and a meal with both thoroughly enjoyed. The care and passion the whole team have is really evident in the food they serve and the overall experience you have as a dinner.

  19. Suzana E.
    Suzana E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Service was excellent and so welcoming. We did the 5 course tasting menu, beautiful dishes but maybe could have gone with 3 courses, so filling!

  20. Odette G.
    Odette G.
    • one review
    9/10

    The food here was absolutely outstanding! The plating was beautiful too - loved the oysters plated on little rocks. Atmosphere was lovely, warm and sophisticated. Service was mixed - waitstaff were lovey and friendly when they arrived, but we actually sat for half an hour before asking for a menu, because no one offered it to us! Overall, I would definitely go back though. Great night!

  21. Kim M.
    Kim M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Another fantastic meal at Otis. Big punches of flavour in a creative menu. Dessert choices could use some attention, but this is only a suggestion, not a criticism. Definitely in the top 5 Canberra fine diners.

  22. Debbie T.
    Debbie T.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    From the moment we walked in, everything was amazing! Super friendly and attentive staff, amazing food, perfectly chilled wine, lovely ambiance A reminder we should come here more often

  23. Sue T.
    Sue T.
    • 10 reviews
    8/10

    Loved that the place was relatively quiet although almost full. That's a big plus. Food was tasty as always, and staff welcoming and knowledgable. It would be great to have some decent GF and DF (ie both in one dish) dessert options. It's not hard but this is where most restaurants disappoint, when you go out for a nice night out.

  24. Sindy R.
    Sindy R.
    • 3 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great food and nice "wine by the glass" list. Will come again.

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7.5/10

    Need to dim lights for night dining, it was too bright Wine list needs to support more local varieties.

  26. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    10/10

    The 10 Plate Degustation was perfect. thanks

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    9/10

    The food was very good

  28. Warren C.
    Warren C.
    • 13 reviews
    8.75/10

    Lovely dinner with firends

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good, fresh & some real highlights to the food attentive staff great cocktails bathroom could do with a deep clean

  30. Michael F.
    Michael F.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    We went to Otis last Wednesday night for a special birthday celebration. From the warm welcome, to the attentive service throughout, the young team of staff made it a very special occasion. A special shout out to Indy our main server, whose knowledge of the 10 course tasting/degustation menu & local paired wines was superb, and her friendly and attentive service was a highlight, including suggesting and enabling a couple of minor changes to the tasting menu to suit our tastebuds!

  31. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.75/10

    Food was delicious and gorgeously presented. It was quite a cool temperature in the restaurant. A little noisy, hard to hear conversation at your own table at times. All in all, I'd be back again for the food and wine selection. And their comfy seats!

  32. Carol T.
    Carol T.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Another excellent restaurant for Canberra.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 301 reviews
    8.25/10

    Great food. Excellent produce. Lovely restaurant

  34. Troy R.
    Troy R.
    • 8 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was excellent & staff were friendly

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 257 reviews
    7.75/10

    Service was very slow. We waited a long time to get glasses for champagne, had to go over to ask for the wine list, and for our order to be brought to the table. Also had to go over to the bar to ask for menus. The good, however ,was very good.

  36. Marc V.
    Marc V.
    • one review
    9/10

    Degustation menu with wine pairings were perfect. Music (70s and 80s Oz Rock) was a weird accompaniment as nothing else evokes Oz pub culture. Partner loved the prawns. My vote was the rav. Only slightly strange dish was the rolled chicken with sweet corn puree as the corn overwhelmed the other flavours. Will definitely go again to try the summer menu.

  37. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    9.5/10

    Chef's 10 plate tasting menu was fantastic!!! Persian feta stuffed Lamb was possibly the best most complete plate of food we have ever had. Can't wait to come back without the car and try it again with the matching wines.

  38. Chantal L.
    Chantal L.
    • one review
    7/10

    Service was lacking, even though the restaurant was half full. Waited 10-15 minutes to get our orders taken, and another 10-15 to ask for the bill. Water never got topped up, until we got up to leave. Kingfish sashimi was on the fishier side, and the mushroom we found didn't compliment the fish. Egg-yolk rivolo was salty with the addition of bacon and the peas did nothing to enhance flavour. Pasta was nice though. "signature' pepper steak was cooked medium, when we asked for medium-rare. Rolled chicken was moist, and duck fat potatoes were the best. The creme caramel was deliciously smooth, but the whiskey which was the point of difference failed to make a point at all, however the sea salt was a nice touch.

  39. Chris G.
    Chris G.
    • one review
    6/10

    wine list is too expensive

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    4.75/10

    We were a group of 4 who were all very disappointed and felt misled by the positive reviews online. Firstly, the meal was quite over priced especially since we paid $88 for an allegedly 1kg steak which was definitely underweight. Further, we were not told that it would 40min for the steak to cook. Although we were offered complimentary sides for this error, the sides were not well cooked. For example, the salad had no dressing and was salty. Additionally, most disappointing was the gnocchi was was according to the menu was cooked in truffle butter. Unfortunately neither gnocchi dishes had a trace of truffle taste. This was particularly sad as we had previously had a wonderful meal on the truffle farm tour a week ago. We will never come back and will actively discourage others from.