Back

Reviews Oxenford Tavern

8.7/10

Fabulous

based on 129 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Jean-Mari K.
    Jean-Mari K.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Ox is our favourite and most beloved pub. Would always recommend!

  2. George M.
    George M.
    • one review
    8/10

    Good value for money, great family restaurant!

  3. Janet M.
    Janet M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always great meals. Great staff. Warm atmosphere. Great value for money.

  4. Jeanette L.
    Jeanette L.
    • one review
    7/10

    Staff were flat chat. One member was doing the work of 3. In todays economic climate thought extra staff cld be employed She did a fantastic job & had a mobility issue to boot..kudos 2 her but not to management While meals are always pretty good and amazing staff, this pub needs a refurb its too old & badly run down in parts

  5. Bryan F.
    Bryan F.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    The OX was good. Everything about it was. I would definitely return for a pub meal and cold beer however if you are after something more than a pub meal look elsewhere.

  6. Kayleigh S.
    Kayleigh S.
    • one review
    3.5/10

    Pie was completely cold on the inside. Steak was really fatty and under seasoned. The waiting staff forgot my daughters food on two occasions and it finally came on the third reminder. Table wasn’t cleared after the meal. Wouldn't recommend.

  7. Sarah A.
    Sarah A.
    • one review
    10/10

    It was a busy night, they were short staffed but you wouldn’t have noticed cause we were treated so well, the food was awesome and the environment was warm and friendly......thanks to all the staff, great job!

  8. Heather P.
    Heather P.
    • one review
    10/10

    The food was excellent great service staff so friendly loved it this is our local tavern so we will always support local and express our views if things are not right

  9. Laura B.
    Laura B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was great and the steaks we ordered were cooked to our liking. All staff were very attentive and friendly. Would recommend eating at this establishment. We will visit again.

  10. Sarah P.
    Sarah P.
    • one review
    8/10

    great pub food at great prices .lovely friendly staff , envenly spaced out, good varied menu def a better tavern than others visited . Tasty dishes and food served nice and hot and altogether

  11. Brian T.
    Brian T.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    The staff were great especially Amelia who helped us with a membership card as this was our first time there. She even honoured my birthday coupon that was emailed to me some weeks before you opened up. We'll be coming again

  12. John H.
    John H.
    • one review
    8/10

    An older style hotel with typical pub grub which was tasty and reasonably priced. The staff were very welcoming, efficient, informative and friendly.

  13. John M.
    John M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Do yourself a favour go and try it. You will enjoy the place. The hotel is old but with atmosphere and the beer on tap is cold and fresh with table service at the moment.

  14. Cheryl H.
    Cheryl H.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Oxenford Tavern has the most amazing staff and food I eat there at least once a week.Even in these hard times with COVID-19 they have a smile on there face and it’s run so smoothly well done Oxenford Tavern you are amazing.

  15. Steve S.
    Steve S.
    • one review
    5.5/10

    My main was warm not hot. They missed my wife's meal completely even though it was written down by the waitress. She finally got her meal when the rest of us had nearly finished. The assistant manager did say sorry and we received a drink. But all in all disappointed when generally we have been very happy. Our friend that was with us is a vegetarian and she ended up with spring rolls and chips as a main course which is quite disappointing again. Perhaps you need to cater for vegetarians a bit better. Thanks Steve

  16. IRENE A.
    IRENE A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome service beautiful food lovely setting and the desert was yummy. Would definitely recommend to family and friends. Love the setup of the place

  17. ian p.
    ian p.
    • one review
    8/10

    The ony problem we had was the pub did not know about our booking made through your booking app. Thsnkfully they could still fit us in. The food was good as always, as was the service.

  18. Maria C.
    Maria C.
    • one review
    7/10

    Was lovely, staff really pleasant. The only thing the metal hanging room dividers left rust marks in a shirt, rubbed against it. Otherwise it is always lovely

  19. Moi E.
    Moi E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Party of 10 received meals together within 20mins, all cooked according to the orders. We've been a few times and prefer this above the other local taverns. I know this may not read well but even our grand daughter loves the Oxenford...let me quote our 4yr old "I love the Ox its my favourite tavern"... it has an indoor playground;)

  20. Steve T.
    Steve T.
    • one review
    10/10

    All meals X 10 were well receive had. I had steak cooked to perfection.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8/10

    Friendly service, warm atmosphere & decent pub food. We prefer the dining experience here over othe local pubs.

    Oxenford Tavern

    Thanks for the review, please visit again soon.

  22. Judy K.
    Judy K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great food and service with a warm, homey feeling. Always love The Ox.

    Oxenford Tavern

    Thank you for your review we are glad you have enjoyed your experience at our venue. We look forward to the next time we see you.

  23. Lyle E.
    Lyle E.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great atmosphere awesome for the kids They have a play room for the kids Awesome food One of the best places I have eaten And fast service even when busy

    Oxenford Tavern

    Thanks very much for the review.

  24. Paurik A.
    Paurik A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Good food and good atmosphere.

  25. KJ T.
    KJ T.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Just wait times for a little long for drinks. Food as well but when it’s good it’s busy.

  26. Noel E.
    Noel E.
    • one review
    9/10

    We are locals from Ormeau, and eat at the Ox regularly, it's close to home & the food is always great.

    Oxenford Tavern

    Great to hear you'd recommend us to your friends and family Noel, please visit the Tavern again soon.

  27. Helene K.
    Helene K.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Fantastic service and great food. Well done to the whole team.

    Oxenford Tavern

    Thanks for the great scores Helene, come again soon.

  28. Judy K.
    Judy K.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Great $10 lunch specials, wonderful friendly staff, lovely cosy atmosphere.

  29. Sarah G.
    Sarah G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Great steaks! Cooked to Medium that was actually medium and not rare!

  30. Barbara H.
    Barbara H.
    • one review
    10/10

    enjoyed the place enormously

  31. Tannia W.
    Tannia W.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Good place for family to have a catch up. Good food and drinks

  32. Heather C.
    Heather C.
    • 2 reviews
    7/10

    The Bistro was quiet, homely and clean. The food was of a good quality, good serving size.

    Oxenford Tavern

    Hi Heather. Thank you so much for your review. We would love to hear how we could improve and hopefully change your review to a 10 out of 10. We look forward to having you visit again soon.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8/10

    A great friendly local

    Oxenford Tavern

    Thank you for your review. We look forward to having you dine with us again soon and hopefully we can provide a 10 out of 10 service for you.

  34. Jennifer A.
    Jennifer A.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful evening. Kid friendly. Lovely staff. Fantastic food,good service.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 263 reviews
    8/10

    good food--although a couple of meals were cold instead of hot

  36. Valerie C.
    Valerie C.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great fast service. The food was cooked to perfection. Recommend to anyone

    Oxenford Tavern

    Hi Valerie. Thank you for your review. We would love to know how we could improve and change your review to a 10 out of 10. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

  37. Mike m.
    Mike m.
    • one review
    7/10

    Food was edible but rib fillet was chewy

  38. Edwina S.
    Edwina S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Have always had great service, great food and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8/10

    nice atmosphere friendly helpful staff

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8.25/10

    This is an old favourite of ours. We meet family for Christmas and New Year. Always reliable and relaxed atmosphere. Highly recommend it!