7.5/10
based on 94 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Peggie w.
    Peggie w.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Pizza dry and burnt around the edges. Small for the price.

  2. Janelle B.
    Janelle B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Staff were helpful, nothing seemed too much trouble. We needed help locating a disabled toilet as all the public toilets were down stairs. The staff didn’t seem to really know what to do, but within a minute has found keys and took us to the toilet. Food was great and reasonable value. It was also quick to arrive. Would visit pre-show again.

  3. Lyndon G.
    Lyndon G.
    • 2 reviews
    6.75/10

    Convenient for pre-show

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    8.25/10

    Coffee was only lukewarm when we requested Extra Hot. Disappointing!!! We all ordered Fish and Chips, Chips were cold. Again very Dissapointing!!!!

    Palace Hotel Sydney

    Hi. Thank you for reviewing our venue. We are disappointed your experience wasn't a positive one. We always take on all feedback we get and do our best to continually improve. Were you able to mention your issues to a staff member. We have a policy to address these straight away and would ave provided a replacement immediately if you were not happy. We understand you did arrive at a very busy time whilst we were catering to over 250 guests for the pre theatre show lunch. Whilst we do our very best to make everyone happy, mistakes happen but we always appreciate the opportunity to fix them up for you. If you would like to discuss further - please do not hesitate to contact me at functions@palacehotelsydney.com.au. Kind Regards, Paul Walker General Manager

  5. A A.
    A A.
    • 306 reviews
    10/10

    A great venue for lunch prior to matinee show (Chicago) at the Capitol Theatre. Lunch specials fish and chips for $15 a great price and cooked to perfection with crispy batter, delicious.

  6. Renee C.
    Renee C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Always excellent and friendly service. Always choose to come here for pre & post theatre dining.

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    8.25/10

    The Palace is a great place to meet friends, family and large groups before attending the Capitol or any function really. Food and wine choices were great and after a few small issues with the cost of happy hour and pay register issues, the party was started. Staff were attentive to fix any problems, especially the waitress making the cocktails. That's important. Overall, a great place.

  8. Susan E.
    Susan E.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    We arrived at 11.30 and it was very busy. My husband and i ordered by 11.40 the rest of our party took a bit longer as it was busy. After we had paid we were told there was a long wait 30 to 40 mins. We were there for the matinee show at the capital. Had we known before we paid we would have gone elsewhere. Our food came at 12.40pm . The burger was cold , the caesar salad looked great but no time to eat it , Snag bol was good and the ones that had that managed to rush it down and said it was ok. We order squid it came in tiny and I do mean tiny rings and hard. I did complain and was told there was trouble with the burgers being cold and adviced that next time book for 11 a.m at the latest as the kitchen was small. I think at time of booking this should have been adviced. But.. having said that matinee days are always busy and may be they need extra staff and some foods can be made in advance e.g the Snag Bol. We were most disapointed . I have been there before and found it fine but this time it was rubbish.

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 232 reviews
    7/10

    Food came when promised. Good service, handy to theatre. Always remember to book a table.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 254 reviews
    6.25/10

    Sadly our reservation didn’t result in us getting a table though they did rush around and clean up a table inside but it was so noisy and we didn’t get the pre theatre menu so cost us more...at least they got us our meals quickly. First two items selected were off the menu and this was st 6.30pm so disappointing. Settled on pasta which was delicious but probably wouldn’t go back given the problems we experienced.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    2/10

    We arrived and ordered at 11.30 , the first meals arrived at 12.20 , we asked when the others would arrive and were told immediately . One meal didn't arrive after three clarifications of the order by the wait staff . Two of the three that did arrive were incorrect . Very disappointed after we chose to go there following positive reviews on here.

    Palace Hotel Sydney

    Hi. We are sorry to hear your experience was not up to standard. If you arrived at 11:30am for the 2pm show, there should have been ample time for our staff to get your meals to you together, fresh and hot and with the correct items. I will chase this up with the team on duty to see where we went wrong. If you wish to discuss further or provide more details to assist me narrow down the cause of this - please email me on pwalker@palacehotelsydney.com.au Kind Regards,

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 281 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great spot for pre or post Capitol theatre

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    9.75/10

    Book well ahead, you will struggle to get a table without one. It's worth a booking for a pre-theatre drink and pub grub.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 293 reviews
    7.25/10

    Service was a bit so as there was a large hens party group in having lunch. But still nice food as always.

  15. Amanda E.
    Amanda E.
    • 7 reviews
    7.25/10

    Chicken parmy is definitely substantial! Can't complain at $12 Tiger jugs either. Food menu can be a little pricey but the servings are very generous. The dining tables in the arcade area are a little open and lacking atmosphere, but it's not really an issue as it's good for after work drinks and pre-theatre grub.

  16. Karen N.
    Karen N.
    • 13 reviews
    9/10

    Great sized meals and food tasted great .. busy night but very efficient .. hidden gem in the city

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    5.5/10

    The palace is very understaffed. It took 15 minutes lined up at the bar to order food and drink and then a further 45 minutes till our order of 5 pizzas arrived. This meant a very rushed eating experience to be able to make our show. The food however was very good and the young staff very apologetic. I wouldn’t go there again before a show. To stressful.

    Palace Hotel Sydney

    Hi. We thank you for your review. We also understand and accept that we are very busy but want to explain why staffing is actually not the issue for food delays that occur if you are not booked or don't arrive early. The reason behind this is that the kitchen is only a certain size with certain equipment - only 4 deep fryers, only 8 spaces for Pizzas every 15 minutes and limits on sizes of other cooking equipment. There is no room to expand this small kitchen and because we believe our food should be as fresh as possible we refuse to par cook your food like other restaurants do. This limits the number of people that can be served in a small time that is racing against the clock of entry to the theatre. Even if we doubled the number of staff on, it wont make the food come out any faster. To avoid this, we suggest is arriving early, ordering as soon as possible and relax whilst we get your food to you quickly. Every 5 minutes you order after the 90 minutes before the show can add 15 minutes to your wait time. We don't accept bookings with 90 minutes of the theatre doors closing on the peak days of Wed, Sat and Sunday matinees and Fri and Sat night show - these often sell out. So with this in mind - we'd love to see you again, but we also understand early arrival is not always ideal for many people but we always highly recommend booking and arriving early. We hope you enjoyed the show... Kind Regards, Paul Walker General Manager

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    7.75/10

    A great pub feed prior to a show. Bit noisy and crowded at times

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    7.75/10

    Great for an early dinner before a show at the Capitol Theatre next door.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    4.5/10

    Booked a table for 12.30 in an outdoor area. No table was provided for us. We had to move together our own tables in an inside spot.