Back

Reviews - Paper Crane

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 112 reviews
Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review. The global rating is based on all ratings and reviews but only those written in English are displayed.
  1. Anne B.
    Anne B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was excellent and the locals special great value. Staff very friendly, despite having to wait a while for our drinks initially. Will come back again!

  2. Elaine H.
    Elaine H.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We really enjoyed our evening. The waitress was very engaging and helpful. Everyone enjoyed their meal but perhaps the duck pancakes were the least. Small plates were all delicious!

  3. Jenni E.
    Jenni E.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food with excellent service

  4. Michelle N.
    Michelle N.
    • one review
    10/10

    Delicious food and ambient feel sitting outside on the deck

  5. Lady Jennifer R.
    Lady Jennifer R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Tasty great atmosphere great service

  6. Patrick F.
    Patrick F.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Loved the food.

  7. Norris C.
    Norris C.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    Great new menu, friendly service to reopen after the covid break

  8. Zz M.
    Zz M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Warmly welcomed by the charismatic staff, modern and open dining area with scenic views of the esplanade. Menu ranges from clean and suttle to bold and punchy with something for all tastes. A very pleasant experience, highly recommend the team here, they are excellent at what they do 5/5

  9. Helen W.
    Helen W.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    food was great , but arrived and had difficulty getting the attention of a waiter to sit us down, even though there weren't many customers there.

  10. Steve C.
    Steve C.
    • one review
    4.5/10

    Slow and inattentive service, wait staff did not seem to care. The food was below expectations for the price: cafe level quality entree and mains.

  11. DINAH B.
    DINAH B.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    The Chef Saiful is warm & friendly.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    10/10

    More choices on menu pls

  13. Hadson H.
    Hadson H.
    • one review
    10/10

    Absolutely beautiful, highly recommend

  14. Leigh W.
    Leigh W.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Perfect Restaurant is so lovely and the colour scheme amazing Food delivery fast Delicious

  15. Deon A.
    Deon A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Was a lovely evening. Had the chef's set 6 course and can highly recommend. George was a attentive but not intruesive waiter . Easy to chat to and knew the menu. He definitely made the evening more enjoyable as we chatted about his home country.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    8.5/10

    Food was good quite expensive for what it is nice views

  17. Andrea H.
    Andrea H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Our host Lilly was absolutely great.

  18. Lachlan G.
    Lachlan G.
    • one review
    9/10

    The servers were attentive, friendly, and very helpful.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    9.25/10

    We had a delicious meal! Service was great and we’ll certainly be back again soon.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    6.75/10

    Fruit platter for dessert was hardly eaten the watermelon tasted awful - very disappointing was a very standard platter Service was below average Also there was a set menu for our group booking. Half of the menus on our table read for Lunch not Dinner which was confusing We would’ve much preferred the extensive dinner menu to order from which needs to be specified for group bookings online that there is ONLY set menus. Great cocktails The chilli beef meal was awesome for flavour however the beef was chewy which was disappointing

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 262 reviews
    8/10

    All in all, quite good. 8/10

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 258 reviews
    6.5/10

    Not good value for your buck

  23. Marc H.
    Marc H.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    love the food, especially the sharing plates/menu, great variety

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 283 reviews
    9/10

    The wait staff were so friendly, all lovely girls.

  25. Antonietta M.
    Antonietta M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Thank you for the breath of fresh air provided by this restaurant. I have been twice and both times the food has been top notch, delicious, tasty, well presented and plenty of it. Also thanks to the service staff who provided us with efficient and friendly service. Cant wait to get back there!!!!!

    Paper Crane

    Hi Antonietta, Thank you so much for the review. So glad to hear you've enjoyed both visits to Paper Crane. We welcome you to come dine in anytime!

  26. Rachel M.
    Rachel M.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Location is great! Service was efficient and the food was pretty good.

  27. Luke P.
    Luke P.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Lovely food, friendly staff and decently priced too! Would recommend and would come back!

  28. Marc H.
    Marc H.
    • 2 reviews
    9/10

    outstanding and consistent as always

  29. Helen W.
    Helen W.
    • one review
    5.75/10

    The set lunch menu was nice, more dinner food than lunch food The wait staff were very inexperienced After the food was cleared we were left alone ... no offer of another bottle of wine no offer of coffee no cleaning the lunch debris from the table We are a group of 7 women, we all dine out a lot in cairns, this was my 4th visit to Papercrane we were all very underwhelmed

    Paper Crane

    Hi Helen, Thank you for taking the time to review. I'm very sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the service levels provided. We take feedback like this very seriously, I'll be sure to investigate internally regarding this issue.

  30. Gavin R.
    Gavin R.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    It was full moon so the view was spectacular.

    Paper Crane

    Hi Gavin, thanks so much for the review! We appreciate it. Glad to hear you got to soak up a beautiful view over dinner while dining at Paper Crane. We look forward to your next visit.

  31. Katherine M.
    Katherine M.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Food was yum! Some dishes were a bit pricey like the soft shell crabs to share - only had 2 pieces for $36. Tasted good, but wouldn’t order it again due to price. Would definitely recommend the sticky pork belly and calamari! Will still come back to try their other dishes. Our overall experience was a very good one and would recommend this place to friends.

    Paper Crane

    Hey Katherine, thanks so much for the review! So glad to hear that you enjoyed the food and we look forward to your next visit with us!

  32. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great food and service Will be back again Thanks

    Paper Crane

    Hi there, thanks so much for taking the time to review. We really appreciate it! Makes us very happy to hear that you enjoyed the food and service! We'll see you next time.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    4.75/10

    Waited 20 minutes for our table to be ready, offered water but never came until we asked three times, never offered for drinks so made our own way to bar, food came out quickly but was over priced and average taste. A nice atmosphere and staff when friendly when interacting with us but wouldn't return. Second time we have been and first encounter was very similar.

  34. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    4.5/10

    If you go there for lunch during week day, i think no need to make a booking. I told them my reservation ref number. But there were only few customers so I could take any table.

    Paper Crane

    Hi there, thanks for the review. Sorry to hear that you weren't happy with the food and service offering. We do hope you will give us another try.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    9.25/10

    Fabulous location, great food and fantastic service. The only down side was the drinks where slow to come out

  36. Taylor C.
    Taylor C.
    • one review
    9.75/10

    Incredible food, great value!

  37. Matthew T.
    Matthew T.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    The shared ribs were small and quite fatty so not overly enjoyable to eat. The service was terrific and all wait staff friendly and helpful.

  38. Ruth H.
    Ruth H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The wait staff were very friendly and professional but the service was very slow especially between food ordering to table We waited an hour

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    6.75/10

    The steamed whole barramundi was amazing, fresh and perfectly cooked and delicious. The duck spring rolls were just OK. The service, while friendly, was disorganised. One of our side dishes never arrived, so we asked about it - the girl said she would look into it, never came back to tell us the outcome, so we finished all our food, and asked for the bill. two minutes later the side dish arrives at the table. The bill then took ages to be brought to the table.

  40. Jan O.
    Jan O.
    • 3 reviews
    7.25/10

    Service was wanting in regards to following: Although our water was topped up we were not offered another drink or coffee/tea.