Back

Reviews Paperbark Restaurant

9.2/10

Excellent

based on 54 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Lip Shien A.
    Lip Shien A.
    • 2 reviews
    9.5/10

    Staffs were friendly and very considerate despite we were taking our time before ordering. The main dishes were well presented and very delicious. Desserts were superb too! Overall very pleasant experience, highly recommended!

  2. Brian R.
    Brian R.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This totally amazing place, in the middle of the tranquility of a rainforest, and still on the brink of a wonderful unspoiled tropical beach, has to be experienced, and the food I give 3 Michelin stars

  3. Michelle M.
    Michelle M.
    • 6 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely ambiance, friendly staff.

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 297 reviews
    10/10

    I have eaten at the restaurant a few times, and the food and the service have never let me down

  5. Matthew L.
    Matthew L.
    • one review
    10/10

    Dishes are on the pricey end but are suitably delicious and the location and staff are fantastic.

  6. Chris p.
    Chris p.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent night

  7. Janelle E.
    Janelle E.
    • one review
    3.75/10

    Lived in Cairns all my life, wanted somewhere relaxing and somewhere we have never been to celebrate father’s day with the family, have 90 year old grandma and sign out front said parking full so we could not drive into car park and had to park down the street and walk only to get in and see 5 spare car parks .. the relaxed atmosphere was the best thing as we nearly had the whole restaurant to ourselves which I thought was surprising considering it was father’s day but on inspecting menu and prices I think I got the answer .. the waitress offered to bring water for the table but forgot to mention 1 bottle of water was $24 ?? I think it may have been cheaper to order a bottle of wine, when I received the bill I was blown away with amount as the boys had 1 beer each $16 a beer. The fish and chips were pretty average and I’d rate it to my nearest fish and chip shop and the 1 thing you look forward 2 on special occasion is the dessert .. hmm 3 choices on menus so choose the best of the 3 only to be told they don’t have it ????? So out comes a pretty ordinary chocolate mousse in a massive salad bowl ?? ok we laughed at that but we weren’t laughing at the price for four small chocolate mousses $76.. staff were new and lacked knowledge but were friendly enough but I don’t see this restaurant as a family destination restaurant or 1 I could recommend to friends and I can’t see myself returning and thats a shame as the restaurant itself is stunning and relaxed, I wish them well and hope they take this criticism as constructive ??

  8. Jason  C.
    Jason C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Amazing atmosphere Fantastic service Delicious food What more can you ask for.

  9. Laura P.
    Laura P.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely restaurant with excellent food. Entrees were some of the best we have had. Highly recommended

  10. Douglas T.
    Douglas T.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Peaceful among the paperbarks

  11. Bob B.
    Bob B.
    • one review
    10/10

    We are locals who have just moved down the road and are so glad we have found this hidden gem, we had a wonderful family breakfast and will definitely be regulars Regards Bob bartulovic

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    10/10

    Great service and wonderful place, always coming back when there is an opportunity

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 270 reviews
    6/10

    Took 45 mins to get food and we were the only people in the restaurant. Prawns were very dry and chicken wings a bit dry and bland. Caesar salad was good as were the roast potatoes. Provided feedback but it wasn’t really acknowledged. The view and location is amazing.

  14. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    A diverse menu, with prompt service and attentiveness. A little more formal than what one would expect for the Cairns location, with great ambience provided by the open air dining. We will have to consider the degustation option next time, the options we chose were delicious.

  15. Anne H.
    Anne H.
    • one review
    10/10

    I found out about the restaurant quite by accident, and have loved coming here a few times a year with friends and family ever since. They say it's like being in the rainforest

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    9/10

    Lovely location, and wonderful service

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9.25/10

    Presentation was excellent & the steaks were cooked as ordered

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    7.75/10

    The pesention of the dishes where more impressive than the taste... For example the sirlion on bone had less taste than the beautiful kangaroo tartare that had heaps of flavour... Overal good dishes but nothing 'special ' setting was great.. Could use some more ambiance music ... Wine selection was great.. We loved the sauv Blanc...

  19. Justin Y.
    Justin Y.
    • one review
    10/10

    We had lunch. The service was Australian hospitality at its best, informal, but warm, friendly and welcoming. The setting is gorgeous, right by the paperbark wood by the beach. It is not air conditioned, (when we were there) but cool and comfortable. The food was also lovely.

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 289 reviews
    9.25/10

    Beautiful setting, very friendly service, delicious food. We are definitely going back next time we go to Kewarra Beach

  21. Denise G.
    Denise G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our local we live just a short stroll away so we go regularly but would happily drive to go if we needed to! It’s a stunning setting amazing food lovely cold drinks and first class service

  22. Greg C.
    Greg C.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Really enjoyed our night

  23. Galina B.
    Galina B.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Thank you very much !

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 247 reviews
    9.25/10

    We loved the menu. Fantastic food and service. Local discount. Great value. We hadn't been for a while but will definitely be back soon. Only concern was how empty the restaurant was on a Friday night. And we wish they still did a seafood tower.

  25. Grace J.
    Grace J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Everything from the moment we arrived at this beautiful location was perfect. The service friendly and attentive The wine and cocktails were perfect The food Devine. Absolutely loved everything.

  26. Janice D.
    Janice D.
    • 3 reviews
    8.75/10

    Always reliable and excellent atmosphere

  27. Magdalena B.
    Magdalena B.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    We love your restaurant. Service was so professional. We had an amazing kangaroo tartare, the fish and the steak were cooked and presented perfectly.

  28. Jo ..
    Jo ..
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    A restaurant with ambience! Great venue for a special occasion. All dishes in our group were of a high quality. Great service.

  29. Merce D.
    Merce D.
    • 4 reviews
    8.5/10

    Nice degustation menu. Portions were big so it felt like 2 entrees, 2 mains and 2 desserts.

  30. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    9.5/10

    A beautiful location combining beach and forest. A limited lunchtime menu, but excellent food and friendly and efficient service.

  31. Sam S.
    Sam S.
    • one review
    2.5/10

    We got to a empty restaurant except for one couple at the front. We were seated right (practically on top of them) in this empty restaurant. When I asked if we could sit at one of the front tables we were told sorry they are reserved. It seems they were only reserved for the resort guests so too bad if not staying there. Only three of the four were filled also. This did bother me as my husband and I hardly go out and this place looked very romantic. It is not romantic to sit right next to someone in an empty restaurant and have to whisper and try not listen to their conversation. Also that table was offered water all the time yet somehow we were often missed with only the occasional refill. The food was nice. But the service plays a big part. Won’t be recommending this restaurant a hurry.

  32. Dave A.
    Dave A.
    • one review
    4.75/10

    Limited lunch menu . Slow service from kitchen staff especially. Food substandard and some not as per description on the menu. Worst dining experience in 72 years. First time ever to lodge a complaint.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    7.5/10

    Beautiful setting, good food - interesting/different flavours

  34. Elizabeth F.
    Elizabeth F.
    • 6 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was delicious, but service was not efficient, which was a shame.

  35. Barbara S.
    Barbara S.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Really lovely atmosphere and very good food

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 271 reviews
    6.25/10

    Long wait for food, average quality and taste. Expected a lot more for the price.

  37. Wendy B.
    Wendy B.
    • 25 reviews
    9.25/10

    The staff are really friendly; welcoming you by name on my second visit. The food is fresh & delicious! Another lovely evening!!

  38. Wendy B.
    Wendy B.
    • 25 reviews
    9.75/10

    Lovely restaurant; food was delicious!

  39. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    4/10

    I attended the buffet breakfast on a recommendation and made a booking for a family members birthday. Disappointed! The food was bland and less than average, there was not enough of it, having to wait 10 mins or more for eggs and bacon only to go back and find it empty again. No variety and it was excessively priced with no discount for locals. I have travelled overseas extensively and have eaten at many resorts and hotels, but this just did not compare. Would not recommend to anyone.

  40. Ihab C.
    Ihab C.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Great food, beautiful atmosphere.