Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

Pub grub Good for groups

Reviews - Pioneer Tavern

8.2/10
150
Corner Northern Rd & Maxwell Street, 2750 South Penrith (NSW)See map

Average price $21

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Booking confirmed immediately

Already 16 bookings today 🔥

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Already 16 bookings today 🔥
Make a booking on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts
This restaurant is following the relevant safety practices*:
1.5m social distancing
Additional safety and cleaning measures in place
Cashless transactions available
Contact information is obtained
Hand sanitizer available
*This information is declared by the restaurant
See more information

Reviews

8.2/10
Very good150 reviews
8.3/10

Food

8.5/10

Service

7.5/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
Moderate noise level

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Pauline k.
    Pauline k.

    19 June 20221 review

    10/10

    the staff are so friendly there snitzels are the best it was worlds greatest shave day my son shaved his head & spray painted his beard all for a great cause

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Thanks for your review. So glad you enjoyed the day with us.

  • Rebecca F.
    Rebecca F.

    8 April 202227 reviews

    8/10

    A very pleasant lunch with well cooked meals. Good sized portions. Efficient and courteous service. Recommended for family and groups.

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Thanks Rebecca. So glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon Pio Team.

  • Adrian R.

    12 March 20221 review

    10/10

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Thank you so much for your great feedback. We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again. Regards Pioneer Tavern

  • Rebecca F.
    Rebecca F.

    3 December 202127 reviews

    5.5/10

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

  • Bill t.
    Bill t.

    25 November 202117 reviews

    7/10

    Good pub food for lunch

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Hi Bill, Thanks for coming in and for taking the time to post a review. Look forward to seeing you on your nex visit. Pio

  • Suzanne W.

    23 November 20211 review

    10/10

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

  • Melanie W.

    20 November 20211 review

    8/10

    The ordering from the table was great! Quick service. Check in process very thorough which I liked. Felt great to be back after so long.

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Hi Melanie, Thanks for the great feedback. We love having you back. So good to hear that you enjoyed using our new me&u system. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit. Team Pio

  • Rebecca F.
    Rebecca F.

    16 November 202127 reviews

    8/10

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

  • Ken M.
    Ken M.

    13 November 20211 review

    7.5/10

    Service is good and being able to order from the table instead of lining up is great so you dont have to leave the table and talk with your table partner’s

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Hi Ken, Thanks for coming in. Glad you enjoyed your time with us. ME&U is a great system, good to see that you utilised it and that you found it useful. Regards Team Pio.

  • Colleen W.

    7 November 20211 review

    6.5/10
  • Claudine H.

    24 October 20212 reviews

    9/10

    Chicken snitzel was great

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Hi Claudine, Thanks for the great review. So glad you enjoyed your experience with us. Look forward to seeing you again. Regards Team Pio

  • Maxine C.

    22 October 202112 reviews

    7.5/10

    The staff were friendly & welcoming. Good variety of menu items & the kitchen sent out our meals quickly. They were fresh & large portions. The bistro area has indoor & outdoor seating available.

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Thank you Maxine for your great feedback, we are glade you enjoyed your visit with us, and hope to see you back again soon. Regards Pioneer Tavern

  • Tracey H.

    18 October 20211 review

    3/10
  • Katrina D.
    Katrina D.

    13 June 202113 reviews

    8.5/10

    Great local pub with a fun range of schnitzel toppers. Food was quickly prepared and delicious. Pioneer Tavern is good option for when you want to watch the sport on TV while you eat.

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Thank you, Katrina for your great feedback, I will be sure to pass this onto our team. See you again soon. Regards Team Pio

  • Sarah J.

    30 May 20211 review

    7/10

    Staff member was so rude to four of our family members and we saw her being rude to others too. We will not be returning. Such a shame because the food was good.

  • Rebecca F.
    Rebecca F.

    14 May 202127 reviews

    8/10

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Hi Rebecca, Thanks for taking the time to post a review and we are so glad that you enkoyed your lunch. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit. Kind Regards Pioneer Team

  • Julie V.

    7 February 20211 review

    10/10

    Having a Birthday celebration at The Pioneer was the best as usual

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Thank you Julie, we are glade you enjoyed your experience with us. Thank you for your feedback. Regards Pioneer Tavern Management Team

  • Kristy T.

    10 January 20212 reviews

    10/10

    Great service and delicious food with great value for money.

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Hi Kristy Thank you for your feedback, I will be sure to pass this onto our team. Regards Pioneer Tavern Management Team

  • Russell F.

    17 December 20201 review

    6.5/10

    The service was friendly and fast. The venue is ok however it was extremely hot and made a very uncomfortable experience. The ambiance is very open, just a lot of tables in a big open room.

  • Evelyn B.

    16 December 20201 review

    10/10

    The feeling of premises was warm and welcoming, the staff were very helpful and the food was amazing and at an affordable price. Will certainly go again.

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Hi Evelyn Thank you for your feedback, I will be sure to pass this onto our team. Regards Pioneer Tavern Management Team

  • Michelle A.

    13 September 20201 review

    10/10

    Always good love the meals and service

    Pioneer Tavern (Owner)

    Hi Michelle Thank you for your feedback, I will be sure to pass this onto our team. Regards Pioneer Tavern Management Team

  • Amanda R.

    31 August 202011 reviews

    10/10

    This was a good value lunch feed. The rump was cooked perfect. Excellent covid practices. Will be back and would recommend.

  • Tony M.

    6 August 20203 reviews

    4/10
  • Rebecca H.

    31 July 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Always top value

  • Bradley M.

    27 July 20201 review

    9.5/10

    Loved it

  • Jessica C.
    Jessica C.

    23 July 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Had a great night great food

  • Rebecca H.

    18 July 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Always love the food at the Pioneer. Great choices, huge serving sizes , definitely value for the money . Love it

  • Jolanta Z.

    18 July 20201 review

    10/10

    Staff very accommodating and helpful, food delicious. Portions just the right size. Recommend to everyone

  • Melanie M.

    18 July 20202 reviews

    6.5/10

    Basic setting due to covid and restrictions though this was good to see. Food quality has dropped. Scan in system We will go again , ..............

  • Rosemary M.

    10 July 20202 reviews

    8.5/10

    Always a good feed at the Pioneer. We will come again for sure. Food was great, being sat in the sports bar was a little distracting. Good food and great company so all in all a great dinner.

  • Matthew H.

    8 July 20201 review

    7/10
  • Rebecca B.

    3 July 20201 review

    10/10

    Friendly staff, very helpful... Food was delicious. Had not been there in a while, but already planning to go again! Great night, thankyou!!!!

  • Jessica C.
    Jessica C.

    2 July 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Had a great night food was great we will be back soon

  • Meghna R.
    Meghna R.

    13 June 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Great range of schnitzels and plenty of other food options available. Lively atmosphere and friendly staff. Clean and comfortable for a casual night out

  • Shayne E.
    Shayne E.

    9 June 20201 review

    10/10
  • Simone k.
    Simone k.

    6 June 20201 review

    10/10
  • Carol P.

    4 January 20202 reviews

    10/10

    Good was great and service was also great.

  • Jennifer S.

    9 November 20191 review

    8/10

    Great ambience and food was very well presented. I had the salmon which was very tasty. Ample serving . Not too crowded. Would certainly recommend to friends. Will be back.

  • A A.

    12 October 2019244 reviews

    9/10

    Great place to have lunch

  • A A.

    12 October 2019274 reviews

    8.8/10

    Amazing selection of chicken schnitzels!

Tripadvisor reviews

59 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty programme
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • Blog
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.

Free serviceInstant booking