Back

Reviews Plough Hotel

8.2/10
Very good
based on 251 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Shweta L.
    Shweta L.
    • 5 reviews
    9/10

    Returned again for our regular catch up with friends. Food is always good and service friendly. Very accommodating for large groups with kids/babies etc.

  2. Sue F.
    Sue F.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    This was a slightly above average pub. I had the most superb fish of the day dish, probably one of the best I've had in a pub. On the other hand 2 of my friends had gnocchi and both were disappointed. My partner's burger was good he said but both he and some of the other members of the party were disappointed with the lack of choice. Waiting staff were very helpful and efficient. Would give another go but not over the weekend as the venue is very noisy when there are lots of large groups.

  3. Claire T.
    Claire T.
    • one review
    8/10

    I always enjoy my visits to The Plough. The food is consistently good and the staff are friendly. The dining room is lovely and there’s always a great vibe, with the only negative being the noise - it is difficult to have a conversation. Probably not the best place if you’re hard of hearing, but if you’re after delicious, unfussy food in an upmarket pub setting, you can’t go wrong with The Plough. We had a lovely Sunday lunch there and everyone from the 75 year olds to the 9 year olds enjoyed their meals.

  4. Karen K.
    Karen K.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    The restaurant food quality was great and staffing very attentive, the atmosphere was good although the room was a little noisy at times. The décor is very welcoming.

  5. Lorraine G.
    Lorraine G.
    • 3 reviews
    9.5/10

    A most enjoyable evening.

  6. A A.
    A A.
    • 276 reviews
    10/10

    The Amaretto Sour was well made. I’m a devotee of maraschino cherries so that’s an additional element to consider! The staff are delightful and attentive on a busy night! The steak (fillet and porterhouse) are worthy of 10/10. Cooked to perfection. The side dishes are inventive and completed the meal. Wine list is comprehensive with a varietal red from Spain chosen. Service was speedy and friendly. It’s family friendly for all!

  7. A A.
    A A.
    • 264 reviews
    4/10

    Been a 35 degree outside, it was hotter inside and uncomfortable, the eating area only had fans going and when asked if air con was on, staff suggested because of weather changed hence warm inside. We stayed because we had already ordered, hoping the place would be cool by the time our food arrived but no change. When asked for ice to share, we were given a glass of ice! what a pity because their pizza is delicious, would never recommend or go back!!

  8. Sherin B.
    Sherin B.
    • 4 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent service and food

  9. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    9.25/10

    We enjoyed our meals, excellent presentation, and the food tasted delicious. The staff were very attentive and friendly. we all had a lovely evening

  10. Russell H.
    Russell H.
    • 25 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent as always.

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    8/10

    Menu used to be better.

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 249 reviews
    4.75/10

    Food is good, wait staff are a bit pretentious. Very noisy and hard to hear.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    7/10

    Dined for lunch with a large group of friends - we come here a few times a year and food is always consistently good and service friendly also.

  14. Michelle H.
    Michelle H.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    We had a wonderful dinner to celebrate fathers day. Thanks for a fantastic first experience - we’ll definitely be back!

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 275 reviews
    3.75/10

    I was so disappointed with the food.

  16. Pip S.
    Pip S.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Amazing food as always & we got incredible service & so accommodating to our special dietary requests which you don’t always get especially on a busy Sat night.

  17. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    9/10

    need to have more food & drink events!

  18. Diane P.
    Diane P.
    • one review
    8/10

    Very good for large groups bit loud for a smaller group or just two people

  19. Toby V.
    Toby V.
    • one review
    7.75/10

    Food was great, awesome menu!

  20. Shawn P.
    Shawn P.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Minor issue with the booking. Although i booked and had confirmation the the fork app on arrival they had no record of my booking.