2162 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.6
2162 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.6)
Service
(8.6)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Sat, 6 Jan 2018

(5)
For the price the food was not outstanding which was a little sad for what is supposed to be one of the better Spanish restaurants/ Tapas bars

dined on Thu, 4 Jan 2018

(8)
Good experience

dined on Tue, 2 Jan 2018

(9)
Good restaurant with reasonably priced food. Grilled prawns were fantastic.

dined on Sun, 31 Dec 2017

(4)
Paella absolutely not like they do it in Spain! Was in Spain in 2016 and was excited to be taken back there but couldn’t finish the paella
Charlotte

dined on Sun, 31 Dec 2017

(10)
I love this place! The food is fantastic and it has a great atmosphere.

dined on Fri, 29 Dec 2017

(7)
Nice, but not fantastic. For the money, ChinChins is better value & atmosphere.

dined on Thu, 28 Dec 2017

(9)
Felt the restaurant was understaffed in the night, service wasn’t as it usually is. We had wine brought to the table and the cork was still in the bottle! Had to request it to be removed and served!
Hi Julie Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit to portello rosso, we are very sorry that we missed the mark on this occasion. I can confirm that we did receive a very high number of walkins on this night and did have a new staff member training so appolagies for the service you received, wine is always better opened! Please email us directly for your next booking and we will happily organise you a bottle of wine, contact@portellorosso.com.au Gracias, PR
Restaurant Portello Rosso responded on Sun, 31 Dec 2017

dined on Fri, 22 Dec 2017

(9)
Great food! Everything was tasty.
Vlado

dined on Fri, 15 Dec 2017

(8)
Great restaurant
Michelle

dined on Wed, 13 Dec 2017

(10)
Hidden gem in the city. Excellent service and menu selection.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

Specials

Chef's Selection Menu $65pp

Chef's Selection Menu that is skillfully prepared by our chef´s team which will bring all the flavours from Iberian Peninsula. This offer is served with Bottomless Sangria on Wednesdays!
Min. people
2
When
10 Dec 2018 - 31 Jul 2020
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
When
10 Dec 2018 - 31 Jul 2025
Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Portello Rosso

A Spanish affair in Melbourne's Warburton Lane Making elegant use of its gritty location with a look of sharp urban calculated chic is Portello Rosso, and it’s catching the attention of those seeking out the coolest spots in Melbourne’s CBD. Well hidden away down a side alley (Warburton Lane), it’s easy to miss this intimate city gem with only a small red and white sign to show you it’s there. Blink and you might just miss it. Brought to you by the guys at Murmur upstairs, the beautiful tapas bar delivers simple but delicious fare with intoxicating Spanish flavours. One thing’s for sure, Portello Rosso is serious about food. The split-level space of black, vinyl-cushioned banquettes, industrial pendant lights and bentwood chairs boasts an impressive list of tapas and wines by the glass that include Mount Langi Billi Billi pinot grigio and Torbreck's Steading. As the name suggests, one of the eatery’s main focus is Jamon (dry-cured Spanish ham). The three types on offer are sliced on premises and are strongly represented on the menu. With cool backing tracks from the Cat Empire and Latin soul, and well paced service every time, this is the epitome of magic Melbourne dining. . Best dish: Three grades of Spanish Jamon: mild serano, more complex Joselito paleta and rich, nutty Iberico.

Portello Rosso Address

Google Map

Reviews we love

89
4.5/5