INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Rocco Esposito.

Rocco Esposito

Rocco moved to Australia in 1998. In 2004 he set up his own Restaurant - Wine Bar in Beechworth, North East Victoria, the acclaimed ‘Wardens Food & Wine’. In 2009 Rocco was the recipient of “The Age Good Food Guide Wine Service Award” as well as rated by “The Age Melbourne Magazine” as one of the top 100 most influential people. Rocco was working as Director of Wine at Vue de Monde, indisputably one of Australia’s best Hospitality groups.

74 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.1
74 reviews
Recommended
(9.5)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(9.1)
Value for money
(8.9)
Atmosphere
(9.0)

dined on Fri, 13 Apr 2018

(8)
Really enjoyed the menu. The duck was exceptional and the staff were very pleasant and knowledgable about the menu. Maybe a little slow delivering the food and drinks. We had nearly finished our bottle of wine before the main came out. Maybe a deliberate action to purchase another bottle. Unfortunately due to the number of people in the bar the atmosphere was very noisy and difficult to hold a conversation without raising your voice. Overall great food but not a good ambiance for dinner..
sally steele

dined on Wed, 21 Mar 2018

(10)
First time diner at this little gem and was really impressed. Small menu of fresh, delicious produce. lots of love on the plate. Oysters were freshly shucked and served natural..outstanding. John dory with sea vegetables was one of my dishes of the year so far. Lovely lemon sauce complimented fresh perfectly cooked fish. Loved the samphire greens. Can't wait to return.
Donna Flynn

dined on Sun, 11 Mar 2018

(10)
This restaurant is sensational. The owner Rocco was unbelievable and made us feel like we were at home having a dinner party. The food is incredible. Every bite was delicious. It’s in s gunny spit but done let that put you off. It’s an absolute must !!!!!

dined on Tue, 27 Feb 2018

(10)
The Mains selection was a bit too limited ... the fish dish had been sold out at lunch leaving only the one meat dish and the vegetarian dish to choose from. Both were excellent but the choice was insufficient.
Paul

dined on Sat, 10 Feb 2018

(10)
Brilliant, authentic food.

dined on Thu, 8 Feb 2018

(9)
Lovely food and service was atterntive without being overbearing.
Phil Ward

dined on Sat, 13 Jan 2018

(10)
Lovely food and wine with a regional focus.
Joanne

dined on Fri, 12 Jan 2018

(10)
As always, great fresh food. We always leave it to the chef to feed us, and are never disappointed!

dined on Fri, 22 Dec 2017

(10)
I’m normally not one for writing reviews, but I have to do one here. We had a wine lunch at Project 49 with seven people recently. It was my second time here and it was outstanding again. The food is top notch - as good as any Italian I’ve had in the Melbourne CBD. It’s only a five minute cab ride from the city. The best part for me is the BYO option, meaning you can bring your favourite wine from home along to match with the outstanding food. This place is highly recommended by me and I will be back again as soon as I can for another wine lunch. Bravo.

dined on Sat, 25 Nov 2017

(9)
Beautiful food and cool venue
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Specials

BYO Wine Lunches

Enjoy BYO Wine Lunches at Project Forty Nine Restaurant with $10 corkage
When
24 May 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Project Forty Nine

Italian dining in a fresh, relaxed setting. The newest edition to the Project Forty Nine family, this Collingwood restaurant offers Italian dining in a fresh, relaxed setting. Seasonal, sustainably grown produce lends the menu flavours as rich as nature intended. Dishes strike a balance between the traditional and the adventurous, complemented by a considered, well-developed wine list and served by a knowledgeable and passionate team. Why not arrive a little early for a glass in the wine bar and a small plate from the deli, serving fine cheeses, meats and carefully curated wines amongst a host of artisanal delicacies.* Rooted in the biodiverse earth of the Beechworth property, Project Forty Nine in Collingwood brings a piece of the country back into town in an expression of a commitment to simple, unadulterated produce and warm hospitality. We look forward to meeting you there.

Features

Insider

Project Forty Nine Address

Google Map