INSIDER

INSIDER by TheFork is a carefully curated selection of top tier venues, the ones with hats, the ones that make the top dining guides, and most importantly the ones we know you love!

Meet the Chef

Picture of Rocco Esposito.

Rocco Esposito

Rocco moved to Australia in 1998. In 2004 he set up his own Restaurant - Wine Bar in Beechworth, North East Victoria, the acclaimed ‘Wardens Food & Wine’. In 2009 Rocco was the recipient of “The Age Good Food Guide Wine Service Award” as well as rated by “The Age Melbourne Magazine” as one of the top 100 most influential people. Rocco was working as Director of Wine at Vue de Monde, indisputably one of Australia’s best Hospitality groups.

78 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

9.2
78 reviews
Recommended
(9.7)
Food
(9.0)
Service
(9.3)
Value for money
(8.9)
Atmosphere
(9.1)
Phil Ward

dined on Sat, 13 Jan 2018

(10)
Lovely food and wine with a regional focus.
Joanne

dined on Fri, 12 Jan 2018

(10)
As always, great fresh food. We always leave it to the chef to feed us, and are never disappointed!

dined on Fri, 22 Dec 2017

(10)
I’m normally not one for writing reviews, but I have to do one here. We had a wine lunch at Project 49 with seven people recently. It was my second time here and it was outstanding again. The food is top notch - as good as any Italian I’ve had in the Melbourne CBD. It’s only a five minute cab ride from the city. The best part for me is the BYO option, meaning you can bring your favourite wine from home along to match with the outstanding food. This place is highly recommended by me and I will be back again as soon as I can for another wine lunch. Bravo.

dined on Sat, 25 Nov 2017

(9)
Beautiful food and cool venue

dined on Sat, 21 Oct 2017

(9)
Great food and friendly service. Spatchcock was incredible tender and moist

dined on Thu, 28 Sep 2017

(10)
Really enjoyed the food and had great service. Great wine list also

dined on Tue, 26 Sep 2017

(10)
Simple food done really well. A slick and sophisticated environment that I cannot wait to return to.
Shin

dined on Sat, 16 Sep 2017

(8)
One of the best service in Melbourne! Thanks for making our first visit very memorable, will return for sure!

dined on Fri, 15 Sep 2017

(9)
Great food and atmosphere
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8

Specials

BYO Wine Lunches

Enjoy BYO Wine Lunches at Project Forty Nine Restaurant with $10 corkage
When
24 May 2019 - 31 Dec 2020
Fri, Sat 12:00 PM - 3:00 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Project Forty Nine

Italian dining in a fresh, relaxed setting. The newest edition to the Project Forty Nine family, this Collingwood restaurant offers Italian dining in a fresh, relaxed setting. Seasonal, sustainably grown produce lends the menu flavours as rich as nature intended. Dishes strike a balance between the traditional and the adventurous, complemented by a considered, well-developed wine list and served by a knowledgeable and passionate team. Why not arrive a little early for a glass in the wine bar and a small plate from the deli, serving fine cheeses, meats and carefully curated wines amongst a host of artisanal delicacies.* Rooted in the biodiverse earth of the Beechworth property, Project Forty Nine in Collingwood brings a piece of the country back into town in an expression of a commitment to simple, unadulterated produce and warm hospitality. We look forward to meeting you there.

Features

Insider

Project Forty Nine Address

Google Map