3098 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
3098 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.8)

dined on Sat, 2 Mar 2019

(8)
Great venue, delicious food & amazing service with friendly down to earth wait staff. Venue was a little tight though, we were seated on s corner table & had to move the table to get into our chairs. It was also extremely hot last night & the air conditioning didn’t quite do the job. However couldn’t fault the service & the meal was delicious!

dined on Fri, 1 Mar 2019

(1)
My galfriend wasn’t full after spending $80. I think after spending $45 for a main, you should be full-ish and it was disappointing that this wasn’t the case. She felt her fish could’ve benefitted from some potatoes perhaps or even just a slightly larger portion would have been better. I had $36 risotto which was just that with absolutely no vegetable or meat inside at all. So overall we didn’t feel it was particularly good value given the high or competitive standards of Melbournian dining these days. The service was also a little slow. Given our experience, I can’t say I want to go back and neither can I heartily recommend anyone to dine there.

dined on Fri, 1 Mar 2019

(10)
It was just delightful

dined on Thu, 14 Feb 2019

(9)
Such a well hidden secret!

dined on Sat, 9 Feb 2019

(6)
Food was just ok. Wine match was amazing and service was great too. Food wise i am not sure about price and what i got wasn’t fair and making sense in value
Stephen Jensen

dined on Sat, 9 Feb 2019

(8)
Food, especially their aged sirloin was delicious, service was good. Really enjoy their choice of cheeses and wines although a bit expensive. Otherwise a pleasurable experience and will definitely go back for more.
Neal Wardman

dined on Sat, 9 Feb 2019

(10)
As good as the food was the service, just the best we could have expected. This place was chosen for its on line reviews and we were not disappointed. I would recommend it in every way. We had the chefs selection with wines to match, and had fun guessing the wines! Go on, treat yourselves...

dined on Thu, 7 Feb 2019

(10)
Had a fabulous night

dined on Wed, 6 Feb 2019

(10)
Great place for a night out, allow the chef to take you on a 5 course chef's menu journey.

dined on Wed, 6 Feb 2019

(9)
Love Punch Lane! Have been there before but this was the first time on the fork 50% discount which was obviously AMAZING! Ocean trout as an entrée was delish with a buttery sauce and delicious mussels. Charcuterie plate also lovely - roast beef delectable. Cape grim rump steak was excellent, cooked rare. The barramundi (?) white fish in broth was nice but a bit light in flavor, very clean! Coconut rice pudding interesting but not my favorite but the chocolate tart was rich and coconut sorbet superb. Service as always fantastic. Can get a bit loud if there are many people in there - sound bounces around easily in the restaurant. It's quite an intimate setting.
page: 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16

About Punch Lane

Pack a punch... So does Punch Lane pack a punch after almost two decades of service? Certainly does. Positioned at the top end of Bourke Street, this Melbourne treasure has been a Melbourne institution for years, welcoming good food and wine lovers into it’s cosy, intimate European setting night after night. The dining room is surrounded with timber, leather accents and red chairs - it’s the kind of place you feel the need to light up a cigar and sip on a brandy. During the day the restaurant is a popular setting for lunch meetings, with an a la carte menu or an express lunch offering two courses with a glass of wine and coffee to finish (for $39 - not bad!). The food is contemporary Mediterranean with occasional Asian and Middle Eastern inflections and as a restaurant that has been at the forefront of Melbourne’s cheese platter culture, Punch Lane is the perfect place for theatre-goers to have a feed pre show. With warm and welcoming service, you’ll feel snug as a bug in your excellent hospitality doona, this old world city bistro knows how ti impress. Best dish: cheese platter

Punch Lane Address

Google Map