3083 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
3083 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.8)

dined on Wed, 6 Mar 2019

(10)
Terrific. Wonderful service, great wine list and great food. Atmosphere is lively and the perfect place to catch up for a small group!
Brilliant :) thank you !
Martin Pirc, Punch Lane responded on Thu, 7 Mar 2019

dined on Wed, 27 Feb 2019

(8)
Loved chicken liver parfait, charcuterie was good but too much pickled chilli for my taste, liked risotto. Wines always good. Staff always friendly.

dined on Tue, 5 Feb 2019

(7)
Great food but waited an extraordinary length of time to get it. The waiter apologised for the delay but did not explain it and lacked friendliness ....... quite focussed on another table and basically ignoring us.

dined on Sat, 2 Feb 2019

(10)
The Atmosphere, service and food made for a wonderful night for our party of 6. As a special request we had the pleasure of having two of their famous Red Leather Chairs at our table. Thanks to everyone at Punch Lane for being so warm and welcoming.

dined on Wed, 30 Jan 2019

(9)
Come using the 50% off booking. Unfortunately I am on a wine kick so was unable to try their fantastic variety of wines, but the food was great. The rostbiff was so tender and cooked perfectly...that gravy! yum! The accompanying lettuce was delicious and we had the potatoes as a side...delightfully crispy. We tried the white chocolate dessert which was very tasty. I would recommend this restaurant if you enjoy European fair.

dined on Wed, 30 Jan 2019

(9)
A nicely balanced menu and an excellent wine list. Attentive but not too fussy service and a great atmosphere. Well located for Melbourne's theatre district and other nearby attractions.

dined on Fri, 25 Jan 2019

(10)
Food, warm friendly service and atmosphere all absolutely exceptional. Enjoyed a relaxing long lunch on Friday with the tasting menu, couldn't fault anything. The heirloom carrots and the fish in broth were standout. We'll definitely be back to try more again

dined on Tue, 22 Jan 2019

(7)
Had a really nice evening here celebrating a birthday. Food and wine were very good and we would come back for the ambience and decor alone. Our only knock was that the service was a bit slow and we waited a long time for our dessert. The staff made up for this with some complimentary creme brulee so in the end we were satisfied
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

About Punch Lane

Pack a punch... So does Punch Lane pack a punch after almost two decades of service? Certainly does. Positioned at the top end of Bourke Street, this Melbourne treasure has been a Melbourne institution for years, welcoming good food and wine lovers into it’s cosy, intimate European setting night after night. The dining room is surrounded with timber, leather accents and red chairs - it’s the kind of place you feel the need to light up a cigar and sip on a brandy. During the day the restaurant is a popular setting for lunch meetings, with an a la carte menu or an express lunch offering two courses with a glass of wine and coffee to finish (for $39 - not bad!). The food is contemporary Mediterranean with occasional Asian and Middle Eastern inflections and as a restaurant that has been at the forefront of Melbourne’s cheese platter culture, Punch Lane is the perfect place for theatre-goers to have a feed pre show. With warm and welcoming service, you’ll feel snug as a bug in your excellent hospitality doona, this old world city bistro knows how ti impress. Best dish: cheese platter

Punch Lane Address

Google Map