3096 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
3096 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.8)

dined on Wed, 27 Mar 2019

(0)
What a rip off! Did the tasting menu paired with wine. $150 per person. 1st 2 courses were OK, but meat course was gristly and not well cooked, served with a mediocre red. then 20 minute wait for boring dessert, Then a longer wait for a boring cheese course, They charged for water and even for using the credit card, Rip off! Rip off! Rip off! Never again! The service and atmosphere weren't so bad, but the rip off was so outrageous that I warn people never to go to this place. I hesitate to trust Trip Advisor after this experience. We were on holiday, and for the money we spent, we should have stayed home.
Yes absolutely review, speak your truth however given the severity of your comments I do not understand why you were unable to voice your extreme anger with Allan or Quentin (who match and served your wines), at the time . They both recall happy people taking their time, in early and off to a show, no sign of dissatisfaction or unease . Punch Lane is now in it 25th year , I have never witnessed such anger in a review .I cant imagine personally ever tearing something down as you have without human contact , it really is extra ordinary ! I guess we live in extra ordinary times however I believe reviewing comes with a certain amount of responsibility. All the best and I'm very happy to discuss if that is something you feel is appropriate .
Martin Pirc, Punch Lane responded on Thu, 28 Mar 2019

dined on Sat, 23 Mar 2019

(6)
Punch lane has fallen since our last visit which was disappointing. Service was average and waitress spilled a large amount of water on one of our guests. We won’t dine here again in a hurry as there are plenty of better options in Melbourne.

dined on Sat, 23 Mar 2019

(9)
Was a lovely place to spend my birthday. We tried the tasting menu with wine pairing. The particular attention and advice given to wine pairing was really impressive and appreciated. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

dined on Sat, 23 Mar 2019

(4)
Very disappointing experience, we chose this restaurant because of their menu online and on arrival found the menu vastly different, everything we planned to order was no longer available, also the meat cut on the menu was rump and then the special was also a rump. Food was ok, but expensive.

dined on Sat, 23 Mar 2019

(9)
Very good wine list, reliable food & friendly service
Kriss Will

dined on Thu, 21 Mar 2019

(9)
Lovely ambience. Great service. Good food and wine. Our trout was perfectly cooked.
Brilliant , hope to see you for lunch again :) Martin
Martin Pirc, Punch Lane responded on Fri, 22 Mar 2019

dined on Tue, 19 Mar 2019

(3)
Service was poor, food was worse

dined on Mon, 18 Mar 2019

(6)
Liked here in the past but last night was a bit underwhelming
Sorry to read your review as it sounds like you were a regular ,. The staff on Jess , simon and Jared have been with me between8 and 4 years and I value all of them and know them very well. Regards
Martin Pirc, Punch Lane responded on Tue, 19 Mar 2019

dined on Sun, 17 Mar 2019

(9)
The dishes is a bit small but great friendly service

dined on Sun, 17 Mar 2019

(9)
Great selection of wine, friendly service. However I used redemption voucher (dimmi) but they forgot to take $20 off.
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

About Punch Lane

Pack a punch... So does Punch Lane pack a punch after almost two decades of service? Certainly does. Positioned at the top end of Bourke Street, this Melbourne treasure has been a Melbourne institution for years, welcoming good food and wine lovers into it’s cosy, intimate European setting night after night. The dining room is surrounded with timber, leather accents and red chairs - it’s the kind of place you feel the need to light up a cigar and sip on a brandy. During the day the restaurant is a popular setting for lunch meetings, with an a la carte menu or an express lunch offering two courses with a glass of wine and coffee to finish (for $39 - not bad!). The food is contemporary Mediterranean with occasional Asian and Middle Eastern inflections and as a restaurant that has been at the forefront of Melbourne’s cheese platter culture, Punch Lane is the perfect place for theatre-goers to have a feed pre show. With warm and welcoming service, you’ll feel snug as a bug in your excellent hospitality doona, this old world city bistro knows how ti impress. Best dish: cheese platter

Punch Lane Address

Google Map