637 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
637 reviews
Recommended
(9.0)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.9)
Value for money
(7.9)
Atmosphere
(8.3)

dined on Tue, 18 Jun 2019

(10)
Dining in the spacious room with great views is memorable, but I’ve given 7 for atmosphere because the lighting (we dined there) was too low across our table, of five, which was in the centre of the main room. Barely readable menus, as a consequence. Menus are tiny font with pale ink. I saw some spot lighting in the room so suggest you review their “spread”.

dined on Sat, 15 Jun 2019

(9)
Had a beautiful dinner overlooking the river, staff were very helpful and cheerful. Was a great place for a pre-show dinner, would definitely go again.

dined on Thu, 13 Jun 2019

(8)
Perfect for a work / corporate meeting - great views of the river. Service could be slightly more attentive however.

dined on Sun, 9 Jun 2019

(9)
Fantastic evening
Barbara Champion

dined on Sat, 8 Jun 2019

(10)
We love Pure South

dined on Sat, 8 Jun 2019

(10)
Good service, good food , close to the arts centre would happily go back again.

dined on Sat, 1 Jun 2019

(10)
Excellent! Nice atmosphere and great service

dined on Sat, 1 Jun 2019

(4)
I was expecting great food.. we started with oysters and octopus, the oyster were amazing the octopus was chewy and over cooked. For our mains we went the steak, we were advised by wait staff that it had plenty of marbling and suggested that we have it cook to medium.. it was a very dry and unflavoursim bit I meat which I did not enjoy..finally desert, I could not go past the brulle. It was absolutely amazing.. would I dine here again, probably not.

dined on Thu, 30 May 2019

(8)
Great portion sizes for a fine dining restaurant, loved the Tasmanian focus. Great wine list. Will go back. Only issue was that it was very noisy at 8pm on a Thursday - sound level of a pub and not a fine restaurant.

dined on Sat, 25 May 2019

(10)
We had a great night and a wonderful meal, the service was excellent
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11

Specials

Tasmanian Farmers' Sunday Roast Lunch

Join us for a nostalgic 'Tasmanian' inspired Sunday roast lunch. The menu is designed weekly to feature a rotating roster of farmers & fishermen from Tasmania, King Island & Flinders Island; served in a warm room with the winter sunlight streaming in the windows with a view down on the river and across to the City. It is Sunday; and so priced for families & friends at $55 per guest for 3 courses. A sample menu is available on our website and is subject to change with our weekly roster of Tasmanian, King Island & Flinders Island farmers & fishermen.
When
23 May 2019 - 23 May 2021
Sun 12:00 PM - 2:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About Pure South

Exquisite palate explosions Read the menu at Pure South dining in Southbank and it’s obvious that the team have close relationships with their producers and farmers. The menu is full of the names of farmers and fisherman where Pure South source their world class produce. From the cleanest seas, the lushest fields and the most pristine air measured on the planet - that’s where the food at Pure is sourced. The focus on trace-ability to ethical farmers, fisherman and artisan producers in Tasmania, King Island and Flinders Island has been paramount from day one of operation, which was some ten years ago. For a beautiful meal, using only the best ingredients and produce, come to Pure South. It’s nothing but pure goodness.

Pure South Address

Google Map