Back

Reviews Quality Hotel Gateway

8.1/10

Very good

based on 32 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Sharon H.
    Sharon H.
    • one review
    7/10

    Excellent service but food was disappointing, dry snitzels, over cooked fish, very average salad, not charged for 3 meals which i appreciated. The wait staff were brilliant though.

  2. Jason H.
    Jason H.
    • one review
    9/10

    Service with a smile. Staff were polite, quick and obliging. Garlic cheese bread was lovely. Mushroom sauce for the steak was a little ordinary but the salad and chips were lovely.

  3. Peter B.
    Peter B.
    • one review
    9/10

    Good service from friendly staff. Nice atmosphere, good meals, good value.

  4. A A.
    A A.
    • 253 reviews
    5/10

    Service was great. Food was way below par

    Quality Hotel Gateway

    Thank you for your review, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider dining with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience

  5. Rhenalyn R.
    Rhenalyn R.
    • one review
    10/10

    Awesome! The staff really took time to attend us even if she is due to finish her shift.

  6. Lynette t.
    Lynette t.
    • one review
    7.25/10

    10/10 score for the staff: polite, lovely smiles and attentive. There was an unusual and recurring loud humming noise throughout the 2 hours we were eating and talking and became annying towards the end of our time in the restaurant. The pea mash on top of the pie could be bigger please.

  7. Glenn G.
    Glenn G.
    • 3 reviews
    6.5/10

    Main course steak was ok. Deserts very average. Apple crumble was just apple pieces with muesli on top. I thought it was poor. Poached pear desert again very average. Service and staff very good. Would I go back - neutral on this.

  8. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8.25/10

    Good place to meet and eat

  9. Ted M.
    Ted M.
    • one review
    9/10

    Staff were excellent, food & atmosphere good. We had a really good night.

  10. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic staff who were very helpful as our party included a 1 year old. Meals come out quickly and were very nice. Restaurant was clean and tidy. Everyone enjoyed their meal and we will be going back.

  11. Deanne H.
    Deanne H.
    • one review
    4.75/10

    We had never visited this restaurant before and decided to give it a try due to its promotion of Buy one main meal and get one free. I was very disappointed with the meals that were served to hubby and I. The chips were not cooked properly, my husbands steak was meant to be medium to well done but still quite pink in the middle, my parmigiana was also not fully cooked resulting in me leaving my meal unfinished and the side salad pitiful. I could not fault the service though.

    Quality Hotel Gateway

    Dear Deanne, Thank you very much for you feedback and on behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider dining with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience

  12. A A.
    A A.
    • 269 reviews
    5/10

    we got our meals hubbys was pork belly hard as couldn't eat it my potato rosti was cold in centre and claggy square of potato, entrée bread cob was hard as rock to slice and cold in the centre, we wont be back.

    Quality Hotel Gateway

    Dear Reviewer, thank you very much for your feedback, On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for failing to exceed your dining experience as your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you provided to make improvements to ensure we offer an exceptional experience for our guests in the future. I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

  13. Paul J.
    Paul J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Staff where awesome food was just wow

  14. SAMUEL K.
    SAMUEL K.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Good service, very FAST

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 290 reviews
    8.5/10

    We enjoyed a lovely evening at the Gateway. Very good service and nice meals. The salt and pepper calamari salad and chicken parmi were particularly good.

    Quality Hotel Gateway

    Thank you for your kind words, I will be sure to pass onto the team and hope to see you again soon.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 251 reviews
    8.5/10

    Pleasantly surprised by the venue and the service. The food was very high quality, though not particularly cheap. Would definitely recommend.

    Quality Hotel Gateway

    Dear Reviewer, thank you your kind words, I will be sure to pass onto the team and hope to see you again.

  17. Bal M.
    Bal M.
    • one review
    10/10

    Wonderful staff ans services

  18. A A.
    A A.
    • 268 reviews
    8.25/10

    clean, service excellent, food and presentation good.

  19. Lynette S.
    Lynette S.
    • one review
    8/10

    Enjoyable venue

  20. Gillian W.
    Gillian W.
    • one review
    10/10

    The staff make the venue! Absolutely fantastic service. The food was simply delightful. I'd highly recommend the Gateway Hotel in Devonport Tasmania to locals and tourists alike.

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    8/10

    Oysters were fantastic.

  22. Mike H.
    Mike H.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    The express lunch menu is terrific value for money, service is efficient and friendly and the standards consistently good

    Quality Hotel Gateway

    Thank you Mike, I will be sure to pass onto the team in the restaurant your wonderful comments. Hope to see you again soon

  23. Mike H.
    Mike H.
    • 5 reviews
    7.75/10

    Booked in for lunch on a working day. Food was excellent for the prices charged (which are even better if you're a Senior apparently - I'm not yet!) and the service was friendly and efficient. Very good value all round.

  24. Geoff L.
    Geoff L.
    • one review
    5.75/10

    Ordered lobster and steak special, lobster was perfect, steak was ordered medium but received a very well don crisp steak, took a lot away from the overall meal

  25. Sonja W.
    Sonja W.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    2 of us had the Frazier’s pie which seemed to have been microwaved Tasty but pastry was soggy Rest of meal was loveky

    Quality Hotel Gateway

    Thank you for your feedback, it is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

  26. Garry K.
    Garry K.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent service provided.

  27. Mike H.
    Mike H.
    • 5 reviews
    8.5/10

    Restaurant has been recently re-furbed and has clean, modern lines. Use of old doors as wall art adds a nice touch. Service was friendly and efficient and dealt comfortably with our request to proceed quickly to get to the theatre. Food was very good and well presented, wine list featured a number of great local wines and staff were great. We will be back.

  28. Kristie F.
    Kristie F.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    Meal was great :) so delicious

  29. Chris J.
    Chris J.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Service and food was excellent. The only negative I found was probably the two TV screens one keno and the other could perhaps be in the bar but apart from that I couldn't fault the evening.

    Quality Hotel Gateway

    Thank you Chris