312 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
312 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.9)
Service
(9.0)
Value for money
(7.6)
Atmosphere
(9.0)

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(9)
Loved the whole experience

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(7)
Food generally too salty. I got a crab shell in my soup and nothing was done

dined on Thu, 15 Nov 2018

(8)
I’m not sure I would return in a hurry as it seems like the menu has been revamped to its detriment and the interior renovation felt subtly different at best . The crumpets were a standout as was the shaved abalone but we left underwhelmed. Aside from the view there’s not much differentiating Quay from smaller smarter places that offer much more value but also interesting fine dining.

dined on Wed, 14 Nov 2018

(6)
Prefer Quay over Sepia for view and ambience but for food, personal opinion is Sepia wins over Quay any day.

dined on Sat, 10 Nov 2018

(10)
Quay is always fantastic - the new menu is different and unique but still spectacular. As always, the service and attention to detail are impeccable

dined on Fri, 9 Nov 2018

(10)
The food was superb. The service staff were wonderful and very knowledgeable

dined on Fri, 9 Nov 2018

(10)
Of course, the views are spectacular but this is an exceptional dining experience, both food and service. The wine selection which accompanies the degustation menu is also exceptional and well considered. My only criticism is like all modern restaurants it is a little noisy

dined on Thu, 8 Nov 2018

(10)
To say this was amazing was an understatement. We celebrated our anniversary there last night and from start to finish it was just perfect. The 10 course degustation, the drinks and especially the service. Each staff member was both extremely professional and so friendly ensuring we had a good time. We had the best seat in the place, staring straight at the Opera House which made us fall in love with our city all over again. If you haven’t experienced Quay then you don’t know what you’re missing. Have the 10 courses as you would do yourself an injustice not trying every dish. I hadn’t been before the renovation but I’m so glad I chose this wonderful place for our special occasion.

dined on Tue, 6 Nov 2018

(9)
The food was incredible, worthy of its ranking! Absolutely would recommend to anyone, the overall experience was fantastic and the staff were very friendly! The new renovation couldve been much better, the carpet floor looks cheap like an airplane carpet - just didnt fit the restaurant. The chairs are an eye sore especially the stools - super cheap for a rsther pricey and classy place. The bathroom is dirty and looks like it belong in a lower-mid tier restaurant in Chinatown....

dined on Mon, 5 Nov 2018

(10)
Fantastic experience, food and service were incredible
page: 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15

Specials

6 Course Menu, Arrival Champagne (2 hour dining)

For some early reservations, Quay offers our six course menu along with a complimentary glass of Champagne to enjoy on arrival. Tables are booked for a period of 2 hours and will be re-booked shortly after this time. Credit card details are required to secure all reservations at the time of booking. Should you need to cancel your reservation or reduce your party size within 24 hours of your booking, a cancellation charge will be incurred. The cancellation charge is equal to the minimum per person menu price available at the time of the reservation. Please contact us on 02 9251 5600 or reservations@quay.com.au
When
17 Sep 2018 - 13 Feb 2019
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM
When
15 Feb 2019 - 31 Dec 2022
Sun, Mon, Tue, Wed, Thu, Fri, Sat 6:00 PM - 6:30 PM
Book special
Special selected! Remove

About QUAY

This Rocks institution won Gourmet Traveller’s Restaurant of the Year for 2019. It has consistently held three Good Food Guide hats for seventeen years. Is it necessary to continue? Ok, easy. At the helm is highly celebrated chef, Peter Gilmore, who is known not simply for his culinary masterpieces but also his dedication to growing his own, fresh produce. After a recent renovation, Quay is redesigning the fine dining experience. They have swapped the white tablecloths for more natural elements, including timber tables made from spotted gum, a timber ceiling and volcanic lava stone detailing. They now offer a six course degustation meal for dinner midweek and lunch Friday to Sunday. As well as a 10-course meal on Friday and Saturday night. If you were hoping to try the famous ‘Snow Egg’, you’ll have to settle for the new dessert “White coral”. It features a light white chocolate ganache aerated under vacuum and then frozen with liquid nitrogen. Quay should be top of your Sydney list for that most special of special occasions.

QUAY Address

Google Map