Back

Reviews Railway Hotel South Melbourne

8.9/10

Fabulous

based on 142 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Farley L.
    Farley L.
    • 2 reviews
    8.5/10

    We really enjoyed our meal, delicious food and big portion too. Reasonable price and good customer service. Good variety of tap beer avalanches, perfect for friends meeting up for catch up.

  2. paul b.
    paul b.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great steak with helpful and friendly staff. Cheers Richard

  3. Ann C.
    Ann C.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    This was our first visit to the Railway Hotel restaurant, and we were very impressed. Really great service and excellent food. Hopefully we’ll be back soon.

  4. Farley L.
    Farley L.
    • one review
    8/10

    Good place with nice bar. Our team enjoy eating and drinking. Nice environment with convenient parking. Highly recommended for team gathering.

  5. Yolanda L.
    Yolanda L.
    • 3 reviews
    8/10

    Steak with sides are really nice. Attentive service with good atmosphere.

  6. Marie-ann M.
    Marie-ann M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    As always, the Railway Hotel, South Melbourne, did not disappoint. The staff are always so welcoming and friendly and the food is delicious. Great pub vibe and a place to have a few drinks with your meal. Will definitely be back ????

  7. Joni C.
    Joni C.
    • 2 reviews
    7.5/10

    Steak was a bit overdone as I ordered medium rare, the sweet potato fries and the mushroom gravy was too salty ... However, the service was good, staff friend.

  8. Vivienne C.
    Vivienne C.
    • one review
    10/10

    Great food & service. Will definitely be coming back.

  9. Francine J.
    Francine J.
    • one review
    10/10

    Excellent food and fun lively atmosphere - never disappoints. Highly recommend. The most annoying thing is writing 120 words in this review when I can say it in 8 words

  10. Andrew D.
    Andrew D.
    • one review
    8.25/10

    Very good but too long to wait for drinks at bar and no table check in other than at the bar and we had to wait behind 10 people at the bar to know table number

  11. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    7.75/10

    Food was always good. Service was very slow.

  12. Tom H.
    Tom H.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    The food was great. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had one misunderstanding with an entree that was immediately rectified and it was a great night. Will definitely go back.

  13. A A.
    A A.
    • 261 reviews
    6.5/10

    Will go back again

  14. Rob H.
    Rob H.
    • 3 reviews
    8.75/10

    Wonderful steak, so tender

  15. A A.
    A A.
    • 291 reviews
    4.25/10

    Didn't find the service good and food was very average.

  16. A A.
    A A.
    • 266 reviews
    8.75/10

    Lovely roaring fire for winter nights cute dining room, bar can get a little noisy, but that’s expected we dined early with a 4 year old and 10 year old ! In time for happy hour for mum and dad??

  17. Steve G.
    Steve G.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Excellent atmosphere and staff friendliness

  18. Dan R.
    Dan R.
    • 6 reviews
    8.75/10

    Great local pub with fantastic food and friendly staff.

  19. A A.
    A A.
    • 252 reviews
    8/10

    Excellent Sunday Roast and beer garden

  20. A A.
    A A.
    • 280 reviews
    6.75/10

    The food is average but cheap

  21. A A.
    A A.
    • 277 reviews
    8/10

    The vegan burger is great and the chips are delicious!

  22. A A.
    A A.
    • 259 reviews
    8.5/10

    My favourite place for steak on steak night. I was seated at the far end of the dining area (for the 2nd time) and I wish the staff will be more attentive to the people at all corners of the dining area. It’s a constant struggle trying to get their attention on both my visits.

  23. Darren K.
    Darren K.
    • one review
    9.25/10

    Wonderful gem in South Melbourne

  24. A A.
    A A.
    • 255 reviews
    9/10

    We had dined here before but this visit we had friends with us. We were located in a quiet spot as requested as one diner has hearing issues. Our request for prompt placement and delivery of order was quickly dealt with meaning we had plenty of time to get to Theatre. Friends Chicken Salad looked fantastic. Thanks for prompt service

  25. A A.
    A A.
    • 256 reviews
    9.25/10

    Lovely dinner and great value steak night. Love the special prices for dessert (Mon -Wed) and most satisfied with the Apple crumble!

  26. Marina H.
    Marina H.
    • 130 reviews
    7.75/10

    Reliable and good variety of pub options with some nice twists. Gone up a notch since our last visit in 2017. I’m fussy about how chips are cooked and these sides were done perfectly and the salmon was perfect not overdone or too underdone.

  27. A A.
    A A.
    • 274 reviews
    9.75/10

    Great service, nice evening

  28. A A.
    A A.
    • 265 reviews
    8/10

    The food here is great?

  29. A A.
    A A.
    • 267 reviews
    8/10

    I had a great experience of local pub with my boyfriend there !

  30. Jodie H.
    Jodie H.
    • 4 reviews
    10/10

    I love this pub, great place to catch up with friends or have a family dinner

  31. Leogh H.
    Leogh H.
    • one review
    8.75/10

    I can’t speak highly enough about the Railway Hotel in south Melbourne. Brilliant staff, excellent food and tremendous value.

  32. Paige M.
    Paige M.
    • 13 reviews
    9.5/10

    We had a large table of 17. Food was brilliant. Staff were so much fun. Just a great night kicked off with happy hour in the front bar. $10 espresso martinis. Fun family night. Cant wait to do it all again.

  33. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    9.5/10

    Service was fantastic. Really enjoyed our meals which were huge! We had the platter to start with, steak sandwich and the ribs . Delicious! Loved the atmosphere too.

  34. Liza L.
    Liza L.
    • 7 reviews
    9/10

    Service was fantastic! The meals were huge and quite delicious. Really enjoyed everything.

  35. A A.
    A A.
    • 303 reviews
    9/10

    Good old fashioned pub

  36. A A.
    A A.
    • 273 reviews
    7.5/10

    Steak is good. Drink is various . Location is good. I will go back again. Steak night is cheap.

  37. Cathy T.
    Cathy T.
    • 10 reviews
    5.75/10

    Ok pub grub

  38. Rose M.
    Rose M.
    • 28 reviews
    6.25/10

    It would have been a more enjoyable dining experience if there hadn't been 4 children running wild throughout the time we were there.

  39. Jimmy L.
    Jimmy L.
    • 9 reviews
    10/10

    Awesome classic pub. Staff were extremely friendly and food delicious and great value.

  40. A A.
    A A.
    • 272 reviews
    7.5/10

    First time standard has fallen below excellent. Steak overcooked and service very slow. Won't deter from future visits though as still best value in town.