1186 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
1186 reviews
Recommended
(8.8)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.7)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.5)

dined on Sat, 10 Aug 2019

(10)
Simple meals cooked to perfection
Thanks for your kind words and review Marie. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us. We'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our team, and we hope to see you again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 11 Aug 2019

dined on Thu, 25 Jul 2019

(8)
Nice venue. Good food. Quite expensive for what you received however well cooked.
Thanks for your feedback and comments Caroline. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. We are on the premium side, but we do pride our ourselves on quality and quantity in food and service. Hope to see you again.
Restaurant Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 1 Aug 2019

dined on Wed, 29 May 2019

(9)
Great service and food was excellent Great value as well
Thanks for your review and feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that the service was to your liking. I will share your compliments and feedback with the team. We hope to see you again soon.
Restaurant Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Wed, 5 Jun 2019

dined on Fri, 26 Apr 2019

(10)
My steak was a little burnt but obviously I didn’t want to make a big deal about it as it was still edible. Some part of it did taste bitter sadly. The service was amazing and staff were super friendly and nice always checked on us. I’ve been rare steakhouse many times never had much issues with the food and will still go back .
Hi Thi, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience with us at Rare. We're pleased to hear that you're a return guest and dinner, and we appreciate your continued support. We're sorry to hear the steak wasn't cooked as it should have been and to your liking. We wish you had let our staff know when they checked back in on the meal, as while our chef's are usually very good at getting it right, we are only human and things like this can happen. We can however remedy this for you and our diners, and we rely on feedback so we can provide the visit and experience we pride ourselves on. While we can understand you not wanting to make a fuss etc, we also want to provide everyone with the steak they want, and should receive. Our staff and team are only too happy to re cook or replace, but we could have solved this at the time had we known. Please never feel as though you can't provide us with feedback as we truly rely on it, and it's how we can ensure we get better and we want you to leave happy. When you return to dine with us in future, let our team know of your previous experience and we'll do our best to make sure your meal is perfect for you. Thanks for bringing this to our attention, and please accept our apologies. We hope to see you again soon at Rare.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
Ian Fidler

dined on Sat, 30 Mar 2019

(10)
Awesome place great food and wine
Hi Ian, it's excellent to hear you had such a good experience with us. Thanks for sharing it with us and others. We will pass on your review to our team and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 1 Apr 2019

dined on Wed, 18 Sep 2019

(8)
Good service! Forgot our side and we had eaten our steak by the time it came but not the end of the world.

dined on Tue, 10 Sep 2019

(9)
Excellent steak and wine. Does the job!
Thanks for your feedback and review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that our staff and team took great care of you. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Fri, 13 Sep 2019

dined on Tue, 10 Sep 2019

(9)
I was able to eat delicious Aussie beef at a reasonable price. There is a great set.
Thanks for your kind words and feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed visiting with us, and that you enjoyed sampling our great Australian Beef. We're a big fan of it also, so are pleased you found it both delicious and affordable. We'll be sure to pass your compliments onto our chefs and team, and we look forward to welcoming you back again if you're ever in Melbourne. Thanks,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 16 Sep 2019

dined on Fri, 6 Sep 2019

(4)
Service was great but was let down by the food. Considering it specializes in steaks we were very disappointed. My steak was over cooked (I ordered Med rare) and my fellow diners was tough and also overlooked. When you are paying $50-65 per steak you expect more than what you could get at your local pub. Found it overpriced for the quality.
Thanks for your feedback and review. We're sorry to hear that the experience you had with us, isn't the one we pride ourselves on. I'm unsure if you mentioned anything to our team at the time, but if you're willing to contact me to discuss further - specifically the cuts of beef you ordered, and when you dined. We'd like to also welcome you back to dine and enjoy as you should of, so please if possible email me chrissy@creativelittlesoul.com.au and I'll make the necessary arrangements. I hope to hear from you, so we can follow up with our team, but also remedy this for you and welcome you back. Thanks Chrissy Symeonakis Marketing & Communication Manager
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 19 Sep 2019

dined on Mon, 2 Sep 2019

(9)
Great steak, must have!
Thanks for your lovely review and comments. We're glad to hear that the steak was a standout and that you enjoyed visiting with us. We'll be sure to pass your kind words onto our team, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Rare.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 5 Sep 2019
page: 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10

About Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl)

Rare meat experience As one of Melbourne’s premier steakhouses you can bet your bottom dollar that you will get a good piece of meat here. Found at 12 Goldie Place in the CBD, business folk flock here day and night to get a much needed meaty fix that’s succulent and juicy, and anything but dry and chewy. Savour the flavour of great tasting Australian beef while efficient and friendly staff talk to you about the different cuts of beef served and sustainable farming practices used. It’s a journey for your stomach and your mind which will ensure you will be fully stuffed when you leave. Pop by for a $28 set lunch menu, a $38.50 set menu or dine a la carte and create your own meaty journey. This is one rare restaurant that’s not to be missed in Melbourne. Best dish: ​Angus Pure Eye Fillet with Red Wine Jus

Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) Address

Google Map