1165 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.6
1165 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(6)
Service was great, food was served quickly in and out in less than an hour with 3 courses.
Hi Lyndsey, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review with us here at Rare. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that our staff had you effortless on your way. We're glad there were elements of your visit you enjoyed, and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 18 Nov 2018

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(10)
Lovely little restaurant with great food!
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at Rare. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely time and experience, and that you enjoyed dining. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 18 Nov 2018

dined on Sat, 3 Nov 2018

(10)
Beautiful steaks, highly recommend this restaurant!
Thanks for your feedback and review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that the steaks and visit were a standout. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our staff and team and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Tue, 6 Nov 2018

dined on Fri, 2 Nov 2018

(8)
Great food and atmosphere. Service could have been better.
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit here at Rare. We're pleased to hear that there were elements of your visit you enjoyed, and that the food and atmosphere were to your liking. We're sorry to hear that you felt the service wasn't as it should have been. Without knowing the specifics of your visit (as the review was submitted anonymously) it's difficult for us to review or action. We do suggest that in future if something isn't to your liking you speak up at the time to our team, and we've management there to assist and support you. We also rely on the specific feedback of diners, so we can review and remedy if there is an issue - also refine our offering and improve. While we can understand you might want to not have your details shared, we do find it helpful to be able to contact our customers particularly if there's an issue. We are committed to always ensuring our staff are trained and are in tune to our customers needs. We'll certainly review and we hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back. Thanks
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Wed, 7 Nov 2018

dined on Fri, 2 Nov 2018

(8)
Very nice restaurant and we have been to this place several times...
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, it's lovely to hear from our regular customers. We're pleased you had a good experience and we look forward to your next visit with us.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 5 Nov 2018
Wade

dined on Fri, 2 Nov 2018

(9)
Perfectly cooked steak but the highlight was creme brûlée!!
Thanks for your review Wade, we are always happy to hear that people loved their steak of course, but it's nice to have our awesome desserts recognised too! We will pass on your comments to our kitchen team and look forward to your next visit to Rare.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 3 Dec 2018

dined on Mon, 22 Oct 2018

(8)
Lovely lunch deal the steak was cooked to perfection and the best calamari in town
Hi Neko Thanks for your feedback and review. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed dining with us, and that the calamari was a standout and you enjoyed the steak and lunch time offer. I'll be sure to pass on your feedback onto our staff and team, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sat, 27 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 20 Oct 2018

(3)
The great food was overshadowed by the poor service. Inattentive wait staff, slow service and forgotten menu items and slow drinks service made for a disappointing feel to a reasonable expensive steak (average price $55). With improvements to the service this could have been a great night - our guests dining with us have said the downtown restaurant was superior.
Hi Claire, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here with us at Rare, and we appreciate you taking the time to bring this to our attention. We apologise that the visit and experience you had with us, was not the one we pride ourselves on, and that there were elements of the service and experience that had a negative impact on your visit. I've raised your feedback and comments with our team, and we've identified that were some things we could have done better, and have since made the necessary steps to do so.We are committed to always learning and growing, and improving if and when possible, and we are human and do on occasion get it wrong. Again our apologies. We do hope that you'll find it within you to give us another go, and return in the future. Thanks
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Tue, 23 Oct 2018

dined on Fri, 19 Oct 2018

(8)
Excellent food. Wine reasonably priced. Music selection a bit off for my liking.
Thanks for your feedback and for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit. We're pleased that you enjoyed you enjoyed the food and wine, and dining with us. We're sorry to hear that the music isn't as it should have been. We'll be looking into this, as we actually have someone that curates our music specifically for our restaurant, so I'll need to see what the issue/ specifics are, but we're looking into this is seems something is up. Aplogies, and we hope to welcome you back in the future,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 21 Oct 2018

dined on Thu, 18 Oct 2018

(7)
Not Applicable
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

About Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl)

Rare meat experience As one of Melbourne’s premier steakhouses you can bet your bottom dollar that you will get a good piece of meat here. Found at 12 Goldie Place in the CBD, business folk flock here day and night to get a much needed meaty fix that’s succulent and juicy, and anything but dry and chewy. Savour the flavour of great tasting Australian beef while efficient and friendly staff talk to you about the different cuts of beef served and sustainable farming practices used. It’s a journey for your stomach and your mind which will ensure you will be fully stuffed when you leave. Pop by for a $28 set lunch menu, a $38.50 set menu or dine a la carte and create your own meaty journey. This is one rare restaurant that’s not to be missed in Melbourne. Best dish: ​Angus Pure Eye Fillet with Red Wine Jus

Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) Address

Google Map