1191 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
1191 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Sat, 16 Mar 2019

(8)
Nice feel / atmosphere Good bar Good food
Thank you for your review and for visiting Rare Midtown, we are very happy that you enjoyed our atmosphere and food. We will share your review with our team and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
Bruce Gadsden

dined on Wed, 13 Mar 2019

(10)
Food was absolutely amazing! Will definitely be back for more!
Hi Bruce, Thanks for your feedback and review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that you had a lovely time. We'll be sure to pass your feedback onto our staff and team, and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 14 Mar 2019

dined on Wed, 6 Mar 2019

(7)
Just a steak. It was pretty good but for $65 you'd hope so. No other love on the plate. I was curious what they serve at these steakhouses, now I know. The type of place I'd take a client but not my wife.

dined on Sat, 2 Mar 2019

(8)
Food excellent, service friendly and efficient - a lovely night out
Hi Garth, Thanks for your kind words and feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that you had a lovely experience. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our team and chef's, and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 3 Mar 2019

dined on Wed, 27 Feb 2019

(10)
Excellent venue, great food, good value fixed lunch menu
Thanks for your kind words and feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and that you had a lovely experience. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our team, and we're pleased you found the lunch set menu to be great value. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 28 Feb 2019

dined on Wed, 23 Jan 2019

(10)
Great atmosphere and freshly cooked food. Polite and prompt table service just topped it all off. Will definitely be returning.
Hi Andrew, Thanks for your kind words and feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that the food and service were all mention-worthy. We'll be sure to pass on your comments and feedback to our staff and team, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 24 Jan 2019

dined on Fri, 18 Jan 2019

(9)
Great meats and friendly staff
Thanks for your feedback and review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that you enjoyed the menu, and that our staff and team took great care of you. We appreciate your recommendation, and we hope to welcome you back again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sat, 19 Jan 2019

dined on Wed, 2 Jan 2019

(7)
Came from uk 3 years ago visited then fantastic food and service Last nights meal was not as good steak was well cooked but lacked taste Service not as good we were sat by a wall with a light attached that kept flickering Asked the waiter if he could turn the light off or take bulb out He never even came back and commented So I asked to move table eventually
Hi Glyn Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit here at Rare. We're pleased to hear that you're a return guest and diner. We're sorry to hear that the beef wasn't as it should have been. I've spoken to our management team from the night, who don't recall there being anything mentioned when they checked back on the meal. If we'd of known at the time we'd of only been too happy to provide a replacement or remedy the item for you. We're sorry that the faulty light was misbehaving, I do know that you were moved and we did take that table out of service, to at which our electrician has now fixed this. We're sorry the experience isn't as it should have been. If you elect to return to dine again please let us know on arrival of these issues, and we'll see to it you're looked after. Thanks,
Chrissy Symeonakis - Marketing & Communications Manager responded on Tue, 8 Jan 2019

dined on Mon, 31 Dec 2018

(8)
Great night out with friends. We were promptly seated and food came out at the right times. Waiters were attentive and efficient, refilling our water throughout the night. Steak was cooked perfectly just like we ordered (medium-rare). Delicious.
Thanks for your kind words and feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that meals, steaks and service were all enjoyed. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback and compliments to our chefs and team, and we appreciate your saying so. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Rare.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 6 Jan 2019

dined on Mon, 31 Dec 2018

(9)
This place knows their steak! Delicious food, nice ambiance, and waiters were attentive.
Hi Sandy, Thanks for your feedback and recommendation. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed dining with us and that our team took such great care of you. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 24 Jan 2019
page: 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12

About Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl)

Rare meat experience As one of Melbourne’s premier steakhouses you can bet your bottom dollar that you will get a good piece of meat here. Found at 12 Goldie Place in the CBD, business folk flock here day and night to get a much needed meaty fix that’s succulent and juicy, and anything but dry and chewy. Savour the flavour of great tasting Australian beef while efficient and friendly staff talk to you about the different cuts of beef served and sustainable farming practices used. It’s a journey for your stomach and your mind which will ensure you will be fully stuffed when you leave. Pop by for a $28 set lunch menu, a $38.50 set menu or dine a la carte and create your own meaty journey. This is one rare restaurant that’s not to be missed in Melbourne. Best dish: ​Angus Pure Eye Fillet with Red Wine Jus

Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) Address

Google Map