1165 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.6
1165 reviews
Recommended
(8.7)
Food
(8.7)
Service
(8.5)
Value for money
(8.0)
Atmosphere
(8.4)

dined on Wed, 17 Oct 2018

(8)
I had a really nice steak (eye fillet) - cooked perfectly for Med/Rare - the centre was so juicy and creamy (which is odd to say about steak, but it carved up so cleanly). We had a team dinner (only 4 of us) so we went after work and were there for 5:45pm session, so not many people there and the atmosphere was therefore a little quiet, more people turned up later. I guess the music could have been a little better - I'm old school! we had a great Spanish waitress, who was very helpful and nice, got a good tip from the boss! overall I'd say it was a nice experience and we would certainly go back. Great steaks cooked well - is always a winner! Apparently the Lamb was good too.

dined on Tue, 16 Oct 2018

(3)
Very bad service. No coming back!
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience at Rare. While we can understand your wanting to have your details kept anonymous, we do reply heavily on our diners to provide us with specifics of their visit - and particularly when it is as you stated below. We're sorry to hear that this was the case, and whatever it was that made your experience that bad, as a business we welcome you to provide us clear specifics so we can investigate and follow up. If you're willing, please contact me via email - lauren@rareaustralia.com.au I am one of the Directors, so can assure you that these details will be held in confidence, but also that unless we know the specifics, it's difficult for us to ensure that whatever it was that attributed to your visit, we cannot prevent this from happening again. I do hope we'll hear from you, with the opportunity to discuss and review further. Thanks
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Tue, 23 Oct 2018

dined on Fri, 12 Oct 2018

(8)
Great special deal.
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us and enjoyed the offer too. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our staff and team, and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 18 Oct 2018

dined on Fri, 5 Oct 2018

(10)
The best steak house ever..........
Best review ever.... thanks Lorcan! We will pass on your succinctly perfect summary to our team and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 8 Oct 2018

dined on Sat, 29 Sep 2018

(8)
We have been quite a regular here for sometime. I brought my brother and his family this trip and it never disappoints. Keep up the standards👍
Thanks Sue, we love hearing from our regulars! I'm glad you and your family had a good experience with us. We will pass on your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Wed, 3 Oct 2018

dined on Wed, 26 Sep 2018

(9)
Great steak, I return as it is all ways the same quality.
Thanks for your review Kirk, it's lovely to hear from our happy return customers. We will share your comments with our team and look forward to your next visit to Rare.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 1 Oct 2018
Ippei Kadota

dined on Mon, 17 Sep 2018

(10)
One of the best steakhouses in Melbourne. Service is terrific and the food was fantastic to match. It isn't cheap though, so it's definitely not a place to go every week but definitely recommended for a special occasion.
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such an excellent review Ippei. It's fantastic to hear that you love our food and that our staff look after you. We will pass on your comments to our team and look forward to seeing you again for your next special occasion!
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sat, 22 Sep 2018

dined on Sat, 15 Sep 2018

(7)
Food is great. A bit too noisy because of a few groups.
Hi Andrew, Thanks for taking the time to provide us and others with a review of your visit and experience here at Rare. We're pleased to hear that there were elements of your visit you enjoyed and appreciate your comments and feedback. We're sorry to hear that other diners at the restaurant and the volume they were generating had a negative impact on your visit. We like to see it as an indication of customers enjoying themselves. Feedback is appreciated and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks for your comments
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 16 Sep 2018

dined on Sat, 15 Sep 2018

(7)
Satisfactory in overall
Hi Eric, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at Rare. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed dining with us, and thanks for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 16 Sep 2018

dined on Thu, 13 Sep 2018

(8)
Great meal. Really enjoyed the steak and dessert.
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, we're very happy to hear you loved our food and had a good experience with us. Hopefully, we will see you again at Rare soon.
Restaurant Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl)

Rare meat experience As one of Melbourne’s premier steakhouses you can bet your bottom dollar that you will get a good piece of meat here. Found at 12 Goldie Place in the CBD, business folk flock here day and night to get a much needed meaty fix that’s succulent and juicy, and anything but dry and chewy. Savour the flavour of great tasting Australian beef while efficient and friendly staff talk to you about the different cuts of beef served and sustainable farming practices used. It’s a journey for your stomach and your mind which will ensure you will be fully stuffed when you leave. Pop by for a $28 set lunch menu, a $38.50 set menu or dine a la carte and create your own meaty journey. This is one rare restaurant that’s not to be missed in Melbourne. Best dish: ​Angus Pure Eye Fillet with Red Wine Jus

Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) Address

Google Map