1194 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
1194 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Wed, 2 Jan 2019

(7)
Came from uk 3 years ago visited then fantastic food and service Last nights meal was not as good steak was well cooked but lacked taste Service not as good we were sat by a wall with a light attached that kept flickering Asked the waiter if he could turn the light off or take bulb out He never even came back and commented So I asked to move table eventually
Hi Glyn Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit here at Rare. We're pleased to hear that you're a return guest and diner. We're sorry to hear that the beef wasn't as it should have been. I've spoken to our management team from the night, who don't recall there being anything mentioned when they checked back on the meal. If we'd of known at the time we'd of only been too happy to provide a replacement or remedy the item for you. We're sorry that the faulty light was misbehaving, I do know that you were moved and we did take that table out of service, to at which our electrician has now fixed this. We're sorry the experience isn't as it should have been. If you elect to return to dine again please let us know on arrival of these issues, and we'll see to it you're looked after. Thanks,
Chrissy Symeonakis - Marketing & Communications Manager responded on Tue, 8 Jan 2019

dined on Mon, 31 Dec 2018

(8)
Great night out with friends. We were promptly seated and food came out at the right times. Waiters were attentive and efficient, refilling our water throughout the night. Steak was cooked perfectly just like we ordered (medium-rare). Delicious.
Thanks for your kind words and feedback. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that meals, steaks and service were all enjoyed. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback and compliments to our chefs and team, and we appreciate your saying so. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to Rare.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 6 Jan 2019

dined on Mon, 31 Dec 2018

(9)
This place knows their steak! Delicious food, nice ambiance, and waiters were attentive.
Hi Sandy, Thanks for your feedback and recommendation. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed dining with us and that our team took such great care of you. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Thu, 24 Jan 2019
Deborah Wood

dined on Sat, 29 Dec 2018

(8)
Delicious Chateaubriand cooked perfectly. Please consider adding bearnaise sauce to your menu.
Hi Deborah, Thanks for your kind words and review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and we'll be sure to pass on your compliments and suggestions to our staff and team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Wishing you a Happy New Years.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 31 Dec 2018

dined on Sat, 22 Dec 2018

(9)
Very enjoyable meal and while the steak was good it wasn’t superb hence the slightly off 10 rating. Service was brilliant attentive informative and prompt.
Thanks for your feedback, review and comments. We're pleased to hear that there were elements of your visit you enjoyed and we appreciate all comments and feedback. Without knowing the specifics of your visit as your review was submitted anonymously, it's difficult for us to follow up or review further. We rely heavily on the feedback from our customers, as sometimes the beef being earthly beings can be cut differently, vary because of seasonality or maybe it was how it was cooked. We do check in at the time where we ask customers for their feedback, which enables us the opportunity to remedy or review anything, then resolve if necessary. In future please leave your details, as we and other venues always welcome feedback and want to follow things up. We're glad our team were attentive and welcoming and we thank you for mentioning this. Should you return to Rare in the future, please mention when you order to our team previous feedback, so we can follow up but also ensure that you are receiving the best cut and experience we can provide. Thanks :)
Chrissy Symeonakis - Marketing & Communications Manager responded on Fri, 28 Dec 2018

dined on Fri, 21 Dec 2018

(9)
Our group had a great night and thoroughly enjoyed our meal. We will return.
We are so pleased that you had an excellent experience with us and it's lovely to hear you will come back and see us again! We will be sure to pass on your wonderful comments to our team. Thanks for the review!
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 23 Dec 2018
craig webb

dined on Thu, 20 Dec 2018

(8)
great steak and and even better pork ribs keep up the good work
Hi Craig, Thanks for your feedback and review. We're glad to hear that the steak and ribs were a hit, and we'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our chefs and team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon, and thanks for visiting.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Fri, 21 Dec 2018

dined on Wed, 19 Dec 2018

(7)
I ordered lamb cutlets which is very nice.
Thanks for your feedback and recommendation. We're glad to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that the lamb chops were a hit. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our staff and team, and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Fri, 21 Dec 2018

dined on Tue, 18 Dec 2018

(7)
First time I have been to midtown as i have been to downtown. I was pretty happy. could eat at either
Thanks for your kind words and feedback. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that you've visited both of our restaurants now. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our team, and you'll have to make it the trifecta and let us know what you think. Thank you for your comments, we appreciate them and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Wed, 19 Dec 2018

dined on Fri, 14 Dec 2018

(10)
Good all-rounder for business lunches and catch up with clients
Thank you for your review and recommendation. We are definitely a popular spot for lunchtime business meetings, so we are pleased to hear your experience was a good one. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 17 Dec 2018
page: 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13

About Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl)

Rare meat experience As one of Melbourne’s premier steakhouses you can bet your bottom dollar that you will get a good piece of meat here. Found at 12 Goldie Place in the CBD, business folk flock here day and night to get a much needed meaty fix that’s succulent and juicy, and anything but dry and chewy. Savour the flavour of great tasting Australian beef while efficient and friendly staff talk to you about the different cuts of beef served and sustainable farming practices used. It’s a journey for your stomach and your mind which will ensure you will be fully stuffed when you leave. Pop by for a $28 set lunch menu, a $38.50 set menu or dine a la carte and create your own meaty journey. This is one rare restaurant that’s not to be missed in Melbourne. Best dish: ​Angus Pure Eye Fillet with Red Wine Jus

Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) Address

Google Map