1191 Verified Diner Reviews

Take it from the experts - we gather information from foodie experts to provide you with valuable inside knowledge and detailed descriptions on restaurants from around the country.

Total Score

8.7
1191 reviews
Recommended
(8.9)
Food
(8.8)
Service
(8.8)
Value for money
(8.2)
Atmosphere
(8.6)

dined on Sat, 1 Dec 2018

(9)
Always good for a well-cooked steak and good service.
Thanks for your review, it's always lovely to hear from fellow steak aficionados! We are pleased you loved your meal and that you were well looked after. We hope to see you again at Rare soon.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Mon, 3 Dec 2018

dined on Sat, 1 Dec 2018

(6)
Ordered Scotch Fillet steak it was more like Sirlion with a thick piece of gristle around the edge. Slightly overcooked due to being so thin. There are better fine dining restaurants with superior steaks for $50.

dined on Fri, 30 Nov 2018

(8)
Good good ok value
Thanks for leaving us a review, we're glad you enjoyed your visit to Rare and that everything was satisfactory. We hope that you will come back and see us again in the future.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Wed, 5 Dec 2018

dined on Wed, 28 Nov 2018

(9)
Beautiful steak and red wine jus
Hi Russell, Thanks for your review and feedback. We're glad to hear that your steak was enjoyed and the red wine jus is very popular. We appreciate your recommendation, and we hope to see you again in the future :)
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Tue, 8 Jan 2019

dined on Fri, 23 Nov 2018

(10)
The food was magnificent - best ribeye ever. Wonderful oysters. Service was exceptional and helpful. Loved that I could actually talk to my partner without having to shout!
Hi David, Thanks for taking the time to provide us and others with a review of your visit and experience here at Rare. We're pleased to hear that there were a number of elements you enjoyed and we'll be sure to pass on your comments and compliments onto our staff and team. We hope to welcome you both back again in the future.
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Tue, 27 Nov 2018

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(9)
Love the atmosphere upstairs
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here is us at Rare. We're pleased to hear you enjoyed dining with us, and enjoyed the environment at the restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future. Thanks
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 18 Nov 2018

dined on Sat, 17 Nov 2018

(6)
Service was great, food was served quickly in and out in less than an hour with 3 courses.
Hi Lyndsey, Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review with us here at Rare. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that our staff had you effortless on your way. We're glad there were elements of your visit you enjoyed, and we appreciate your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 18 Nov 2018

dined on Fri, 16 Nov 2018

(10)
Lovely little restaurant with great food!
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit and experience here at Rare. We're glad to hear that you had a lovely time and experience, and that you enjoyed dining. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Thanks,
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Sun, 18 Nov 2018

dined on Sat, 3 Nov 2018

(10)
Beautiful steaks, highly recommend this restaurant!
Thanks for your feedback and review. We're pleased to hear that you enjoyed dining with us, and that the steaks and visit were a standout. We'll be sure to pass on your feedback to our staff and team and we hope to welcome you back again soon. Thanks
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Tue, 6 Nov 2018

dined on Fri, 2 Nov 2018

(8)
Great food and atmosphere. Service could have been better.
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with a review of your visit here at Rare. We're pleased to hear that there were elements of your visit you enjoyed, and that the food and atmosphere were to your liking. We're sorry to hear that you felt the service wasn't as it should have been. Without knowing the specifics of your visit (as the review was submitted anonymously) it's difficult for us to review or action. We do suggest that in future if something isn't to your liking you speak up at the time to our team, and we've management there to assist and support you. We also rely on the specific feedback of diners, so we can review and remedy if there is an issue - also refine our offering and improve. While we can understand you might want to not have your details shared, we do find it helpful to be able to contact our customers particularly if there's an issue. We are committed to always ensuring our staff are trained and are in tune to our customers needs. We'll certainly review and we hope we'll have the opportunity to welcome you back. Thanks
Lauren Bennett, Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) responded on Wed, 7 Nov 2018
page: 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14

About Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl)

Rare meat experience As one of Melbourne’s premier steakhouses you can bet your bottom dollar that you will get a good piece of meat here. Found at 12 Goldie Place in the CBD, business folk flock here day and night to get a much needed meaty fix that’s succulent and juicy, and anything but dry and chewy. Savour the flavour of great tasting Australian beef while efficient and friendly staff talk to you about the different cuts of beef served and sustainable farming practices used. It’s a journey for your stomach and your mind which will ensure you will be fully stuffed when you leave. Pop by for a $28 set lunch menu, a $38.50 set menu or dine a la carte and create your own meaty journey. This is one rare restaurant that’s not to be missed in Melbourne. Best dish: ​Angus Pure Eye Fillet with Red Wine Jus

Rare Midtown (Goldie Pl) Address

Google Map