Register my restaurant
Help

TheFork, a Trip advisor company

What
Where

This restaurant is not bookable on TheFork.

Here are some alternatives you might enjoy:

Loading interface...
Loading interface...
Loading interface...
Loading interface...

Chinese

Reviews - Red Emperor

9.9/10
302
M10/3 Southgate Ave, 3006 Southbank (VIC)See map

Average price $65

Reservation

Find a table

Free service • Booking confirmed immediately

Book for free Get instant confirmation

Cannot be reserved on TheFork

Make a booking on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Reviews

9.9/10
Excellent302 reviews
10/10

Food

10/10

Service

9.8/10

Ambience

9-10

7-8

5-6

3-4

1-2

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Very short waiting time
Quiet

Only users who have booked on the platforms or a booking module of TheFork group and who have dined in this restaurant can leave a rating, with or without a review.

  • Marilyn P.
    Marilyn P.

    30 July 202113 reviews

    10/10

    Wonderful dining experience. A return date is in the offing. Staff and food are excellent. A terrific restaurant to visit anytime. Menu extensive and wine list comprehensive.

  • Peter L.

    4 July 20211 review

    10/10

    Prompt and friendly, efficient service

  • Steve F.

    3 July 202129 reviews

    9.5/10

    Always a great experience. The food and the staff are great. Also, they cater for and understand Coeliac (GF) requirements. They even stock GF Beer - O-Briens.

  • Sandra K.

    23 May 20211 review

    10/10
  • Maree M.

    1 May 20211 review

    9.5/10

    This restaurant was fantastic and great atmosphere. Awesome range of gluten free options service was quick. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Peter S.

    18 April 20211 review

    8.5/10
  • Jayce M.

    11 April 20211 review

    8/10
  • Thanh N.

    8 March 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Great yum cha! Dumplings are so freah! Everything are well seasoned and just right! Staffs are polite and very attentive. Ambience is also great! Will definitely return

  • Alexandra P.

    3 March 20211 review

    10/10

    Fantastic place to go for Yum Cha lunch, amazing view, good food and great customer service. Central to the city centre. Easy to book. Clean and traditional decor.

  • Harriet L.

    12 February 20211 review

    10/10

    Red Emperor is a great restaurant for Cantonese cuisine, especially yum cha. Wait staff were friendly and professional. Pricing is on the high side, though expected from the locale.

  • John W.

    10 February 202110 reviews

    10/10
  • Paul G.

    10 February 20211 review

    9.5/10

    Best chinese dinner we have had in Melbourne. Very authentic. Menu to suit a range of palates. Mud crab cooked perfectly. Fantastic anniversary evening overlooking the Yarra.

  • Diane H.

    31 January 20216 reviews

    8/10
  • Danielle C.

    24 January 20214 reviews

    10/10

    We had a lovely meal and enjoyable birthday celebration. The food was tasty and fresh and the service was excellent. There was an extensive menu of Chinese favourites as well as many other dishes.

  • Helen S.

    21 January 20212 reviews

    9.5/10

    The meal was outstanding ,.every course was presented to a high level the staff was happy professional. we had a lovely outdoor table ,we will definitely go back and recommend to family ,friends

  • Stephanie D.

    17 January 20211 review

    9/10

    Great yum cha as always, although there seemed to be slightly less variety than usual. Their gluten free options are many and made so well you couldn't tell they are GF.

  • Wendy P.

    13 January 20219 reviews

    10/10

    Went to red emperor for my husband's Birthday , sat on balcony with lovely views over the water , food was excellent , wait staff were attentive but not overly , & can't wait to go back again...

  • Fiona C.

    3 January 20211 review

    10/10

    The yum cha was delicious, so good we virtually rolled out the door when we were done!!! And the service was excellent too. Love the location, at Southbank.

  • Melissa L.

    3 January 20214 reviews

    10/10
  • Judy J.

    1 January 20211 review

    4.5/10
  • Glenn L.

    30 December 20201 review

    10/10

    Delicious, great service and great location. Kids are usually picky eaters but loved all we tried. We will definitely be returning for a special occasion!

  • Donna H.

    27 December 20201 review

    10/10
  • Vishal M.

    23 December 20201 review

    8/10

    Good food true flavours. Nice ambience and location. Would definitely visit again. Staff was very friendly and welcoming. Definitely in my short list did Chinese cuisine

  • Jessica C.

    19 December 20203 reviews

    3/10
  • Teri C.

    18 December 20201 review

    9/10
  • Matt W.

    12 December 20201 review

    10/10

    Outstanding service. The wait staff were really friendly and made our day. The food is some of the best Yum Cha I have had. I wanted to try more than i could eat. Definately go here.

  • Roland S.

    1 December 20203 reviews

    10/10

    Amazing as always, so nice to be back!! Long wait to finally be back at this superb Chinese restaurant, service and food are excellent. Wine list is really value for money.

  • Sue M.

    26 November 20201 review

    10/10

    The food was absolutely beautiful in taste and presentation. We were welcomed and served in a friendly yet professional manner. Would recommend to anyone that likes Chinese food

  • Belinda C.

    23 November 20201 review

    3/10
  • Frank M.

    22 November 20202 reviews

    10/10

    This was our first, post-covid, restaurant, family meal. Food was excellent and what impressed us most was being able to add yum cha entrees to a la carte main courses.

  • John B.
    John B.

    22 November 20207 reviews

    9/10

    As always, great food and excellent service. Happy to see them thriving after lockdown. Booking with The Fork is good, it ensures contact tracing accuracy.

  • Binh N.

    22 November 20201 review

    7.5/10
  • Antonella B.

    15 November 20207 reviews

    10/10

    Very good

  • Gemma T.

    13 November 20201 review

    10/10
  • Danielle C.

    5 November 20204 reviews

    10/10

    We had a lovely table overlooking the Yarra. The service was attentive and friendly and the food was fabulous. We look forward to coming back soon.

  • Tanya L.
    Tanya L.

    2 July 20202 reviews

    8.5/10

    Had a wonderful banquet meal with family (including a young child). The staff were friendly showing fantastic service, thank you for the lovely evening.

  • Rosemary R.
    Rosemary R.

    19 June 20201 review

    10/10

    We had a lovely evening with the family. The staff were very attentive and accommodating and the food delicious. We would definitely come again.

  • Caitlin C.
    Caitlin C.

    14 June 202056 reviews

    10/10

    Good to be back guys! Best gluten free yum cha in VIC! They are so careful to inform you of what is gf and what to avoid

  • Tameka K.
    Tameka K.

    13 June 20201 review

    10/10

    Great food and service

  • John B.
    John B.

    7 June 20207 reviews

    10/10

    Any review I do is biassed, I guess. I really like this restaurant, good food, great service, nice staff. The atmosphere is good and sitting on the balcony in sunny weather is exquisi9te.

Tripadvisor reviews

493 Tripadvisor Reviews

Frequently Asked Questions

Are you a restaurant owner?

Register your Restaurant

Tell us more about you and we will contact you as soon as possible

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.

Download our App

  • Download from the App Store
  • Get it on Google Play
  • About
  • Loyalty programme
  • Contact
  • Terms of Use
  • Are you a restaurant?
  • Privacy and Cookies Statement
  • Frequently asked questions
  • We are hiring
  • Blog
  • MICHELIN Guide Partnership

© 2022 La FourchetteSAS - All rights reserved

Promotional offers are subject to conditions displayed on the restaurant’s page. Offers on alcoholic beverages are strictly reserved for adults. Alcohol abuse is dangerous for your health. Drink with moderation.