Red Ochre Barrel and Grill, North Adelaide (SA)
38 photos

Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

War Memorial Drive, 5006 North Adelaide (SA)
Average price $80

Get up to 30% off

Conditions may apply


Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

Find a table

Book for free

Make a booking on TheFork to earn Yums and enjoy exclusive loyalty discounts

Restaurant menu

Eucalyptus smoked pumpkin
Salsa verde, salt bush and wattleseed chèvre
Salmon tataki bao bun
Edamame, pickled ginger, kombu, mayo, and sesame dressing
Sticky pork belly
With confit fennel and pepper berry caramel

User photos

Red Ochre Barrel and Grill, North Adelaide (SA)
Red Ochre Barrel and Grill, North Adelaide (SA)
Red Ochre Barrel and Grill, North Adelaide (SA)
Red Ochre Barrel and Grill, North Adelaide (SA)
Red Ochre Barrel and Grill, North Adelaide (SA)
Red Ochre Barrel and Grill, North Adelaide (SA)



Fabulous721 reviews











Real experiences from real dinersOnly people who have booked with TheFork or paid with TheFork PAY can leave a rating and review.
How do we calculate ratings?

What diners said about this restaurant:

Good value for money
Short waiting time
  • Paul L.1 review

    11 November 2023


    The food was very good and the customer service was also very friendly and attentive however the ambience is spoilt by dirty windows, a faded threadbare carpet, old chairs, dog eared paper menus and a leather bound wine/drinks list with a loose thread sticking out of the edge. Small details perhaps but if one is paying "fine dining prices" you need to ensure that the furniture and other details are up to standard. Whilst it may be difficult to resource a full refurbishment of the restaurant, there is no excuse for re-using paper menus that are dog eared and stained.

  • Helen N.1 review

    21 October 2023


    Service, location and view excellent food needs work

  • Richard C.1 review

    20 October 2023


    Was amazing!’ We used to go to this restaurant for special occassion with my mum and dad when I was young. Had not been here for a long time and wanted to take my family. Did not disappoint, staff and owner were great and food incredible! Do yourself a favour and have a meal! You can’t beat the view either which was the final Bonus. Thank you

  • Merron C.2 reviews

    15 September 2023


    We were a group of 5 who flew down from Queensland and were welcomed and served by wonderful staff, food was delicious I highly recommend The Red Ochre

  • Peter Y.1 review

    19 August 2023


    Great place, great view, service was prompt... Food was very good... the Kingfish special was delicious and beautifully balanced with the refreshing mint and coriander salad... the kangaroo was mostly tender, but we felt like it maybe needed a little more jus... the music was a bit 'pop' and a bit loud... perhaps a bit of light jazz might have better suited what seemed a reasonably 'classy' place.

  • Allan B.1 review

    8 July 2023


    An amazing experience. My partner and I did the feed me option. And it was the perfect portion size. Everything that came out was something I would never order but every dish was amazing. The perfect balance of flavours. The view of the city lights was great. The music playing in the background was perfect. Truly a great experience.

  • Colleen B.51 reviews

    3 June 2023


    Beautiful food and Service.

  • Tina Fu1 review

    19 May 2023


    The food was very disappointing, pork was very dry, octopus tasted like paper, crocodile fish cake didn't taste fresh either....for the mian, beef cheek was plain....staff was not that helpful either....

  • John N.1 review

    21 April 2023


    It was all good. Service etc was great even though I thought they were perhaps understaffed ( I think the fact they were all well trained made up for that). The only downside was the kangaroo fillet was a bit large for us and we had to leave some.

  • John H.9 reviews

    15 April 2023


    Lovely setting, good menu and overall food was very good. A very enjoyable meal

  • Andrew D.1 review

    31 March 2023


    Attentive without being overwhelming. Good food and wine. Good space around each table (unlike some thatpack too many tables in a small space !).

  • Andrew T.1 review

    17 March 2023


    Solid food, lovely and attentive service, but decor outdated and could generally use a good clean. Windows dirty, food scraps visible outside.

    Red Ochre Barrel and GrillOwner

    Thank you for your feedback. We can not find and dirty windows at the time you dined or food scraps to be seen from two stories up that the river birds would have made short work of. Our decor is recent and on point with stunning 120 year old timber flood lit feature walls from a boat. Green Carrara stone and charcoal and rust with bright green accents. Black two pack recycled chairs that are comfortable and recovered in plush fabric. With seventy five percent of the room being glass and the rest dark and moody to bring in the amazing view from outside and to reduce window glare. We have further enhancements planned for this year that we look forward to. Thank you for visiting us on your fork discount offer.

  • Louise B.2 reviews

    3 March 2023


    We were disappointed with the quality of the steak. We asked for medium rare but got medium at best. Very tough. It was also cool. The barramundi was good. Bread ordinary and the butter as well. Service and views very good. The restaurant was a bit dirty.

  • Winnie T.4 reviews

    2 March 2023


    We did not have very good experience last night. Firstly, waiter rushed us to make both drinks and food orders. Secondly, food quality was a bit disappointed, 4x Sirloin steak were cold and the Kangaroo steak was undercooked. Thirdly, staff was short of training without correct fine dining manner. Staff should not take plates without asking, should wait for everyone on the table finished their food then collecting plates ( should not to take any plate while someone still eating). In addition, staff should not disturb the birthday girl again and again while she's giving a speech,etc. Overall, it's a bit disappointed experience.


    See photo

    Red Ochre Barrel and GrillOwner

    Thank you for dining with us, sorry to hear you had bad experience, 6.30pm was arrival but not everyone was at the table until 7 pm, drinks were ordered around 7 i don't think its fair to say you were rushed and food was ordered even late and we do have to cater other guest in the restaurant so we recommended to order in time, upon check back to the table after the mains was served everyone was perfectly fine except one having kangaroo being under cooked( it was cooked to perfection, medium rare) as we recommend kangaroo is muscular and very lean meat should not be cooked above medium rare) , that was fixed and she was happy, birthday girl was given happy birthday plate on house without even asking to make it special and she was happy, birth day girl was not disturbed while she was giving speech non of our team member talked to her except when giving birthday plate and wished happy birthday. thank you for using your entertainment discount voucher hope to see you next time.

  • Russell H.1 review

    11 February 2023


    As we were shown to our table, my partners first comments were... "Oh, this is lovely" The experience of the delicious fine foods cooked to perfection in an ambient cosy setting overlooking the river Torrens and cityscape was enjoyable. I chose this Restaurant in view of enjoying a nice dinner together in a quiet serene venue. It did get a little loud at one stage with a larger group from the mezzanine area enjoying themselves, finding it more difficult to have a one on one conversation, nevertheless, it was an enjoyable experience.

  • Mei F.1 review

    4 February 2023


    Food and atmosphere were good. Food took a long time to come due to shortage of staff. Service from staff was good.

  • Leah W.3 reviews

    27 January 2023


    Steak slightly overcooked. Over supplied and charged for gravy. Overall was happy with the meal though.


    See photo

  • Bradleigh K.

    Bradleigh K.5 reviews

    31 December 2022


    Entree was great but mains was not as good as I’m used to when eating at Red Ochre. Sent the meal back but was bought back the same plate with the server stating the chef said that is how it was meant to be. Steak was over cooked and tough, not enjoyable at all and was left on the plate.

  • G F.10 reviews

    30 December 2022


    Nice place with great views of the river. Food was excellent albeit a bit pricey. Service strange as we were asked 3 times at the start if we wanted drinks, but then waited 15 minutes to get the bill at the end.

  • Fiona B.1 review

    24 December 2022


    We wanted somewhere with a water view, spacious and elegant with great food to celebrate Christmas Eve. We weren't disappointed! The 5 of us had a different dish each and all were very satisfied with the quality, presentation and size of the serve. Highly recommend.

Tripadvisor reviews

425 Tripadvisor Reviews


More information

Closing time

Please note that we are open on New Years Eve. Bookings can only be made via phone. Please call us on 08 8211 8555

How to get to the restaurant

War Memorial Drive, 5006, North Adelaide (SA), Australia

Additional information

Parking permits available from downstairs reception


About the restaurant

Please note that we are open on New Years Eve. Bookings can only be made via phone. Please call us on 08 8211 8555

Red Ochre is a firm favorite amongst South Australian locals and visitors alike, after a successful move several years back to its current, permanent home on the banks of the River Torrens which accentuates the views of the beautiful Festival Centre, major hotels and Adelaide skyline. The cuisine at Red Ochre has always been top-notch, and service is of the highest quality. The décor is light, airy and hushed, allowing that perfect first date or special occasion to flourish. Try the signature dishes such as the salt and pepper crocodile, or perhaps some miso and sesame-crusted yellow fin tuna. Just don't forget to save room for the Red Ochre liquid Toblerone - it's sensational - or if you're trying to impress an overseas guest, suggest they try the wattleseed pavlova.


, , , , , , , , ,


, ,

Frequently Asked Questions

Restaurants around Red Ochre Barrel and Grill


River Cafe


5006 North Adelaide (SA)

$65 average price



5000 Adelaide (SA)

$30 average price


5000 Adelaide (SA)

$40 average price


5000 Adelaide (SA)

$20 average price

Other restaurants in Adelaide (SA) that you may like

  • Insider


Double YumsINSIDER

5000 Adelaide (SA)

$85 average price

Accepts Yums

Rumi Palace


5084 Blair Athol (SA)

$35 average price


5045 Glenelg (SA)

$85 average price


5045 Glenelg (SA)

$30 average price

Are you a restaurant owner?

Already a Client

Log in to TheFork Manager and contact us by Chat.