Back

Reviews Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

8.8/10
Fabulous
based on 577 reviews
Only customers who have dined at the restaurant after making a booking on TheFork can leave a review.
  1. Brian P.
    Brian P.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent greeting and seating. Starter choice had good options and all selected had great flavor and value. Mains were perfect for all. We are still praising the night experience and expect to return.

  2. Sacha C.
    Sacha C.
    • 8 reviews
    8/10

    Lovely setting and ambience, great for date night. Service was friendly but a little slow. The food was really good, would definitely come back

  3. Tina P.
    Tina P.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Had a wonderful meal topped of with a great view. The Salmon and Crocodile entrees were shared by 3 of us and was a nice way to start the meal. We all enjoyed our mains - Pork, Kangaroo and Barramundi. Decided to just share the pavlova and it was a nice way to finish off the meal. Would go again.

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Tina, We are so glad you enjoyed all aspects of your evening with us. Thank you very much for joining us and we do hope to see you again!

  4. Anthony L.
    Anthony L.
    • 21 reviews
    9.5/10

    Great food. Service was efficient and friendly. Setting is excellent and great ambiance for a date night. Wine list is ok - cocktails are interesting.

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Hi Anthony, Thank you for your review. We too love the ambiance of the restaurant. It certainly is a great spot for a date night! Looking forward to hosting you again soon.

  5. Mark H.
    Mark H.
    • 4 reviews
    9/10

    Unfortunately my meal was only warm. Fortunately I don't mind that. Also fortunately my wife's meal was hot so she was happy about that. Both were really delicious and well presented. Shoe-string fries cool off very quickly and I would suggest they should be served in a warmed bowl. Welcome and service were excellent and our anniversary was acknowledged with a little extra. This was greatly appreciated.

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Hi Mark! Thank you for your comments and feedback. I apologise that your meal was not served hot enough, and I have followed this up with the chefs for review. I agree that our fries cool off too quickly, and we will do our utmost to ensure the bowls are warmed to assist with keeping the fries warm. I am so glad you enjoyed your anniversary with us, and we look forward to seeing you again!

  6. Mary G.
    Mary G.
    • one review
    9/10

    Food was good but had sold out of entree. Service was excellent professional but friendly. Atmosphere excellent. All together a great evening. Gondala ride prior to meal excellent

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Thank you for your review Mary, we are happy you enjoyed your night. I apologise that the entree you had selected was sold out. We hope to welcome you back soon!

  7. Marianne F.
    Marianne F.
    • 8 reviews
    9.5/10

    Staff were friendly and welcoming, quite knowledgeable with food. The food was very well presented and flavoursome. Our pick for unique dish was Sesame Crusted Salmon Tataki. Would have loved to try the desserts but couldn't fit it in, we'll have to go back.

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Thank you for your review, Marianne! The Salmon Tataki is a favourite of many and we are so happy you enjoyed it! We hope to welcome you again soon for dessert.

  8. Shanice T.
    Shanice T.
    • 2 reviews
    8/10

    Great service great food

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Thanks for your review, Shanice! We hope to see you again.

  9. Helen T.
    Helen T.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    We enjoyed every aspect of this dining experience. Cocktail to start was enjoyable. Efficient friendly staff with subtle attention. Fabulous food, delicious oysters, barramundi and pavlova desert.

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Thank you Helen. We do hope to see you again for perhaps another cocktail to start!

  10. Vus A.
    Vus A.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Wish they would clean the windows given the view is one of the nicer parts of the restaurant, I was served a steak that was obviously frozen when cooked very disappointing the manager gave us a free desert wine as an apology, might give it another try if it’s under new management

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Hi Vus! We have our windows cleaned professionally on a regular basis, however at the moment we are home to a family of birds who have conveniently chosen our restaurant as their place to nest! We have been advised that they will move on soon, and we will be able to take measures to avoid nesting in the future. In regards to your steak, we did replace your rare steak with a bleu, and I can assure you we do not freeze our steaks. It is a gorgeous deep colour as it is certified Black Angus which is grass fed. In future, we will make a better effort to communicate this to our guests to ensure there is no confusion. Thank you very much for your comments, and we hope to host you again in the future!

  11. Chauey K.
    Chauey K.
    • one review
    6/10

    Steak was tough and too thin for a scotch fillet. The Lamb bao was cold and tasteless.

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Hi Chauey, Thank you for your feedback. I hope you were able to communicate this to the waitstaff on the night so we could amend these issues. Nevertheless, I have passed your feedback onto our chefs for improvement. Please note that our scotch fillet steaks are all weighed to meet the 300g standard, and size and shape may vary in order to meet this standard. We hope to welcome you back in the future!

  12. Tania S.
    Tania S.
    • 8 reviews
    8.5/10

    Disappointed not to be able to have our usual Feed Me experience as this is now apparently only available for the whole table to order & my partner is now vegan. This is despite the menu on their website making no mention of this needing to be ordered by everyone. Good news was they had a vegan menu although pretty basic. Ordered bread, starters & entrees before mains but all this came at the same time so half of it was cold by the time we got to it. Usually love the Red Ochre, it's our go to restaurant but might need to start expanding our horizons.

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Hi Tanya, thank you for your feedback! I apologise that this was not mentioned on the website, and I have now changed that by adding that the Feed Me experience is now whole table only. I will adress the issue in the arrival of your dishes with the staff to ensure they are following the correct service procedure. Thank you again for your feedback, and I do hope that we can redeem ourselves from your most recent visit.

  13. Natalie L.
    Natalie L.
    • 13 reviews
    10/10

    Great experience. Loved the food and its flavours. Can't beat those views!

  14. Tom K.
    Tom K.
    • 11 reviews
    10/10

    Fantastic for romantic dinner, special event dinner, and family gathering. The meals were exquisite as was the service with magnificent views of the Adelaide City background reflecting off the surface of the River Torrens in the foreground.

  15. Stephen K.
    Stephen K.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Red Ochre was excellent as per usual. Partner had strip siriion that cut like butter. My barramundi had a beautiful crispy crust. Service was excellent. The furniture is a bit tired, but it was comfortable and the restaurant was clean.

  16. Judy M.
    Judy M.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    This restaurant always provides wonderful service and food. There is space between the tables and carpet on the floor to give a quiet, serene feel, which is complimented by the large windows and great views of the city. I had the linguine, which was unfortunately very dry as if it had been standing for some time. However the steak and kangaroo were cooked perfectly and the barramundi was moist and delicious. Great menu choices with an Australian flavor. Red Ochre is a must or those who enjoy good food and service.

  17. Regina Dave C.
    Regina Dave C.
    • one review
    10/10

    We really enjoyed our meals and the service was very good, we will definitely be eating here a lot more in the future, would highly recommend having dinner here

  18. Enid M.
    Enid M.
    • one review
    7.5/10

    Lovely food. Service was prompt and very polite. Would return again

  19. Michael B.
    Michael B.
    • 25 reviews
    10/10

    Outstanding food and service as always. A true Adelaide institution for fine dining.

  20. Dianne H.
    Dianne H.
    • 14 reviews
    9.5/10

    Really really good! The starters/entrees we're my favourite. Pork bao and the Kangaroo gyoza were delicious. Friendly and prompt service. Thank you for a lovely dinner.

  21. Desi A.
    Desi A.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Wonderful food even better location Can’t wait to return

  22. Geoff G.
    Geoff G.
    • one review
    10/10

    Our expectations of the food and service were met without exception. All staff were cheerful and attended to us promptly. I would recommend this quiet venue. It offers a pleasant environment to celebrate a special occasion. Plenty of parking spaces makes this venue a very good choice also.

  23. Alyssia T.
    Alyssia T.
    • one review
    10/10

    Perfect spot for dinner; the restaurant is literally on the Torrens River and the view is breathtaking. Not to mention the service was fantastic and the food was phenomenal.

  24. Meredith S.
    Meredith S.
    • 2 reviews
    10/10

    Excellent service and food at Red Ochre. Staff were attentive without being intrusive, and the food was beautiful. Thank you for a great night.

  25. Amanda G.
    Amanda G.
    • one review
    6.5/10

    Went for the 50% off/TheFork festival deal. Staff were great and it was a lovely view. However the mains (3 X steaks, 1 X chicken, 1x duck) were subpar - worst than pub food and felt like they used cheaper pieces of meat for the deal. Appreciate the attentive staff but will definitely not be back again

  26. Andrea K.
    Andrea K.
    • 3 reviews
    10/10

    Amazing service, glorious food, beautiful setting.

  27. Aphrodite A.
    Aphrodite A.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    Friendly, welcoming staff, efficient service, pleasant atmosphere and food very tasty. lovely view of the River Torrens provides a serene outlook.

  28. Vikash H.
    Vikash H.
    • 19 reviews
    8/10

    Food was good

  29. Meral C.
    Meral C.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    The Red Ochre was a great dining location for our visitors to Adelaide. The service and food were very good but some tasty bread should be offered between the hors d'oeuvres and starters if the Chef's Selection is chosen - there is a gap before the main course when hungry diners would appreciate a not too inelegant way to convey the delicious sauces to the tummy. As a main course, the crocodile tempura, kangaroo, strip loin, beef cheek,and barramundi were much appreciated by the six diners. Our visitors from overseas were thrilled to enjoy Australian bush "tucker" in the heart of the city.

  30. Stuart S.
    Stuart S.
    • one review
    7/10

    We came back here for our wedding anniversary. Last year had a meal to die for, 5 course Chefs selection which was also available with The Fork 50 % off food deal. Not permissable this year, however the steaks and sweets we had were very good. The restaurant seems a bit tired and flies congregating in the corner windows caused us to ask to be moved.Windows are filthy with bird droppings a plenty. Still probably the best view in Adelaide but needs to address these cosmetic problems.

    Red Ochre Barrel and Grill

    Dear Stuart, Thank you for dining at Red Ochre Barrel and Grill. The windows are cleaned on a regular basis day a contractor. A family of birds have been nesting above the far right hand corner of the dining room. Advice has been received from the Adelaide City Council Wildlife Officer and once the chicks are old enough they will move on. Once they do move attempts will be made to ensure nesting does not occur above the windows. Thank you for your understanding and although unsightly at the moment we consider it part of nature and our wonderful position over water.

  31. Rita P.
    Rita P.
    • 11 reviews
    6.5/10

    The food and service was good but the restaurant is shabby and tired. The menu had spillage stains all over it and the air con was not working efficiently. Such a wonderful location. It made me sad to see it in this state.

  32. Andrew V.
    Andrew V.
    • 56 reviews
    8/10

    The food was good with a wonderful view watching the day turn to night was amazing.

  33. Connie Y.
    Connie Y.
    • 6 reviews
    10/10

    Attentive service. Loved the restaurant vibe. Excellent river & city view. Food was exquisite. Must order the mini sourdough as the butter is no ordinary one. It's house made smoked eucalyptus butter. Fragrant & addictive. Yum!

  34. Anita F.
    Anita F.
    • 14 reviews
    10/10

    Have been here many times over the past few years, and this time was served by Pearl who gave us lovely friendly service. Food was great as it has been in the past, only thing we didn’t like was the bread was a bit doughy for us as we like light crusty style bread, other than that, I would give it 10 out of 10. Quality food cooked to perfection and relaxing views over the Torrens, Location, Location! ????????????????

  35. Wayne O.
    Wayne O.
    • one review
    9.5/10

    The food was of an amazing quality, well presented and well spaced between serves. The service staff were extremely welcoming and efficient with all aspects of the dining experience. The occasion was important and the restuarant delivered for me extremeley well Thank you. Wayne

  36. Sue C.
    Sue C.
    • 15 reviews
    9.5/10

    We've been enjoying the Red Ochre for a while and still enjoy the great food, service and location.

  37. Stephanie H.
    Stephanie H.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Delicious food. My first impression of our waitress was not the best, but eventually warmed up. They were very under the pump today!

  38. Heather G.
    Heather G.
    • one review
    10/10

    The Red Ochre Grill is always a favourite for hosting our international visitors. The staff are welcoming and their attention to detail fantastic! Food was amazing and well-presented, would highly recommend this restaurant.

  39. Paul R.
    Paul R.
    • one review
    8.5/10

    Meal was excellent, including the service, but the windows and building exterior need a wash. We enjoyed the 5 course meal and the wine. the desert was too sweet though

  40. Peter M.
    Peter M.
    • one review
    5/10

    Venue looked tired and uncared for. Previous visits (many of them often with international guests) were a pleasure with the place "sparkling". Maybe this latest visit was an "off night" for the kitchen. Food lacked the pizzaz love and exceptional flavour and presentation which we have been used to previously. Dishes lacked the unique flavour of the promised ingredients and the flair of presentation so often the signature of this kitchen seemed to be lacking. 2 of the dishes were extremely salty. Staff seemed to be there to do the job unlike previous experiences where they showed passion for their work and the good they were bringing to the table. Have always looked forward to the next visit. Not so confident now.